First Reactions To The “Captain America: Civil War” Film Trailer

KAJDSHGKSHGKDSHGLDSG. OH MY GOD. I AM SUCH AN EXCITED ENGIE RIGHT NOW. OHHHHH MY GOD. I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MOMENT SINCE WATCHING AGE OF ULTRON AND IT’S FINALLY FINALLY FINALLY HERE.

The trailer for Captain America: Civil War is out now and I, for one, FREAKED OUT when I saw it. I showed it to my Superheroes Unleashed prof after class this past week and she freaked out too – it was rather adorable. EEEEEEEE THIS MOVIE. I CAN’T EVEN.

Enjoy!

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:11 – AHHHHHHHHH. I HEART YOU.

0:19 – BUCKY IS SAPPY AND GAY OH MY GOD I APPROVE OF THIS A HUNDRED, NO, A THOUSAND TIMES OVER.

0:27 – Sooooo many Bucky feelings. I should read more comics about him before this movie comes out…

0:33 – HE’S SO ADORABLE IN AN “I-KICK-YOUR-ASS” KIND OF WAY.

0:35 – NO NO NO HE CAN’T DO THAT. BUCKY, WHAT.

0:37 – [Wipes away a tear of nerd joy] I love this part of the Marvel movies (and their trailers) so so much. Always have.

0:38 – THE BACKGROUND MUSIC FOR THIS TRAILER IS SO ON POINT? WOW.

0:45 – I neeeeeed to learn how to fight like that.

0:51 – I SHRIEKED AT THIS PART OHHHH MY GOD. Because this is exactly what we’ve been discussing in Superheroes Unleashed lately – heroes who think/act as if they’re above the law, and whether or not that’s OK. Where do you draw the line when it comes to that kind of thing? Can you draw that line? The exact term “vigilante superhero” has come up a looooot in our recent discussions.

1:02 – AHHHH DID HE STEAL CAP’S BIKE?!

1:03 – “I know how much Bucky means to you.” Translation: Black Widow ships Steve/Bucky too. Nice! I always had a feeling that she and I would get along like a house on fire.

1:08 – I haven’t read any of the comics about the Civil War, so… if you have, please enlighten me: Whose side is Black Widow on? Because here it almost seems as though she’s not on anyone’s side, and is looking out for Steve’s safety but not actually fighting for him.

1:10 – I’M CRYING WITH LAUGHTER RIGHT NOW ISN’T THAT THE EXACT SAME “DIGUISE” STEVE WORE IN THE WINTER SOLDIER? Very nice, Cap. Soooo inconspicuous.

1:16 – NO.

1:27 – Bro… bro… that’s really gay, bro… I LOVE THESE BROS.

1:30 – RAAAAAAGE. [Protects Steve’s perfect teeth]

1:35 – WHEEEEEEEEEEEEE OH MY GOD I LOVE SAM.

1:39 – ”Cause people that shoot at you usually wind up shooting at me.” SAM IS ADORABLE. Also, Steve. WHAT THE HELL. I love you, but SUNGLASSES ARE NOT AN EFFECTIVE DISGUISE. JESUS CHRIST WHAT DID THEY TEACH YOU DURING YOUR TIME IN THE MILITARY.

1:40 – Whoaaaaa. I also need Sam to teach me how to fight.

1:46 – War Machine!

1:47 – AND SCARLET WITCH!

1:51 – I FORGOT THAT BLACK PANTHER WAS GONNA BE IN THIS MOVIE. SDKFHGSDFJHGDFJKDFG.

1:52 – OH MY GOD OH MY GOD I’M SO PROUD OF THEM ALL AND AND AND LOOK SCARLET WITCH HAS LEARNED HOW TO USE MORE OF HER POWERS!

1:53 – I also want fighting lessons from Black Widow…

1:58 – YES YES YES BUCKYYYYY.

2:03 – I KNOW I ALREADY SAID THIS, BUT THE MUSIC HERE IS ON POINT.

2:05 – Is War Machine OK?!

2:06 – OH LOOK IT’S A SAD BUCKY. HE IS MADE OUT OF SADNESS.

2:09 – [Rolls eyes so far into the back of my head that it is quite possible they will never come back out again] OK, first of all: No. And second of all: No. IRON MAN AND CAPTAIN AMERICA ARE NOT FRIENDS IN THE MCU. They barely know each other! They’re, like, coworkers. Although they’re friends in the comics – I’ve read soooo many Captain America stories where Iron Man helps him out with stuff – the writers at Marvel Studios simply haven’t built up that relationship for those two. Maybe I’ll write a post about this later. Maybe not. In the meantime, here’s a really good post about it from The Mary Sue. I hope the emotional conflict in this movie feels believable, but I also have a sinking feeling that it… won’t.

2:10 – AHHHHHHHHHH.

2:11 – AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

2:12 – AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

2:13 – AJDGHSDKAFJHDSKFJHSAFD.

2:14 – !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2:15 – OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. MY. GOD. I love this scene. It’s so beautifully choreographed! Steve and Bucky fight so well as a team, and dshgdjhgdfkghsdgk they’re throwing the shield back and forth! And… I mean, I don’t even like MCU!Tony, but I have to admire his fighting skills too – he’s doing his best to fend off two other superheroes at once, which must be hard. Although I have to admit that I did enjoy watching them punch the crap out of Iron Man.

2:16 – THE MUSIC HERE OH MY GOD.

2:21 – SO. FREAKING. EXCITED. FOR. MAY. NOW.

-~-

…sooooo, yeah. It is probably JUST A LITTLE BIT OBVIOUS whose side I am on in the Civil War. I know some fans who are staying neutral, but… I really love Captain America, all right?! And I can’t stand MCU!Tony – I like him in the comics, but he’s portrayed differently onscreen. (I actually plan to read my way through most of the Civil War comics this winter/spring, and one of the things I’m looking forward to is actually feeling emotions about the death of their friendship.)

I’m mostly excited for this movie, but… ughhh, I just don’t know about the whole Avengers thing. I realize that this is the POINT of Civil War, but in my opinion the films that focus on one superhero (such as Thor, Iron Man, and Captain America) tend to be better written than those with an ensemble cast (such as The Avengers and Age of Ultron). They spend more time on plot and character development!

Alsooooo… I’m not keen on Captain America sharing screen time with Iron Man, OK?! I loved that he wasn’t in either of the first two Captain America movies, and… now I won’t get a movie about my favorite superhero that isn’t only about him! I MEAN. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS ALSO THE POINT OF CIVIL WAR, BUT STILL.

I thought The Winter Soldier was an excellent character study of Captain America, and… with the Russo brothers at the helm of this film, too, I think it has the potential to be just as good. BUT. I’m still a bit worried about the whole ensemble cast/Iron Man thing. What do you think?

-~-

What’s your opinion of this trailer for Captain America: Civil War?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Reactions To The “Captain America: Civil War” Film Trailer

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Wait…you don’t like Tony?!??!!
    YOU DON’T LIKE TONY!?!???!?!??!?!??!?!? I CANNOT EVEN RIGHT NOW.
    (I guess this evens out me not being about to stand Steve…)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

