5 Reasons Why I Love The Trailer For “The BFG”

Last month, I talked about book-to-movie adaptations I want to see – both upcoming movies and ones that have already been released. One of the movies on the former list was The BFG. I was pretty low-key in terms of my excitement in that post, mostly because I would be super grumpy if this movie isn’t just like the book.

Well, earlier this week I saw the trailer, which I hadn’t even known had been released yet, and WOW WOW WOW I FREAKED OUT. I HAD AN EMOTION. ACTUALLY, I HAD ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. ALLLLL OF THEM. My excitement for The BFG went up approximately 2983256283523% because of this trailer… so now I’m here to tell you all about why I love it so much!

1.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE THE LITTLE GIRL THEY CAST TO PLAY SOPHIE. All right, so she isn’t blonde like in the illustrations, but I’m OK with that! Hair color isn’t that important. I’m just excited because for once, we get an actor who’s actually about the same age as their character. (The little girl who plays Sophie is ten years old and I’m just like… I don’t even know how to feel about people who are more successful than I am at half my age! Pfffft.)

DFKJGSHDFGJHGKDFG I’M SO HAPPY SHE’S NOT BEING PLAYED BY A TEENAGER. Sophie looks like a little girl here, as she should – not like a teenager or a model or whatever. Actually, she basically looks like me at the same age? I had that same haircut and similarly dorky glasses.

2.

That visual of the BFG’s hand reaching through the window at 1:20 in the trailer is exactly like Quentin Blake’s illustration of that scene in the book. TBH, this whole entire trailer made me freak out, but… this part made me feel particularly happy. It looks like they’re sticking really close to the look and feel of the original story!

3.

THAT TRAILER MUSIC THOUGH. OH MY GOD. ALL OTHER TRAILER MUSIC CAN JUST GO HOME.

4.

I can’t stand trailers that show all or most of the major scenes – like, why would I even bother to watch the movie, if I already know what the conclusion looks like?

…thankfully, this trailer DOESN’T do that. Granted, this is just a teaser trailer, so we may see more snippets of the movie as time goes on, but I think I’ll try my best to avoid those. I looooove that the trailer cuts off right as the main plot begins. Just as Sophie says, in fact: “And that is where our story begins…” I LOVE TRAILERS THAT DO THIS. I LOVE TRAILERS THAT CREATE SUSPENSE.

5.

NOSTALGIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. I have a lot of feelings about this book. It was one of the books I brought to college to read whenever I feel stressed or down! It’s been one of my very favoritest stories ever since I was a little girl… I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread it.

I have a lot of feelings about Dahl’s books in general, but The BFG and Matilda are especially important to me because I relate to the main characters so much. SO. MUCH. And to finally see one of my favorite stories brought to life on screen is just… dfsdfkgjhdjkfgdg I can’t even describe how amazing that feels.

-~-

The BFG will be released on July first, 2016: Are you going to watch it?! PLEASE FANGIRL WITH ME. AND GIVE ME A HUG. I need it… I’m having an emotion right now.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Reasons Why I Love The Trailer For “The BFG”

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I’M SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS I AM LITERALLY SUFFOCATING. 😄 I adored this book as a small(er?) human. And I’m so so glad it’s actually a kids movie too, instead of a teen movie. SQUEEEE.I hope it keeps all the magic. Although I do find it snortingly hilarious how much Roald Dahl hated TV and like how nearly ALL his books are movies now. 😄

  2. Holly says:

    OMG THIS IS SO EXCITING!!! I had no idea they were making this book into a movie! It was my absolute favorite book in elementary school. OH, ALL THE FEELS! 😀

  3. Mom says:

    I’ll go with you!!

    (And that IS so you at that age!!!)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

