Why I’m Excited To Watch “The Force Awakens”

I AM EXCITED TO WATCH THE FORCE AWAKENS. I was also excited when I realized that this was the perfect day on which to publish this post. I’ve been scheduling a lot of posts recently, and even those that I didn’t have time to write and scheduled are all planned out – I made a list and everything!

And when I checked it today, I noticed that this was just the right time to publish this post, since loads of people are watching it this evening even though it doesn’t technically come out until tomorrow. But I didn’t plan it this way… I just threw together a list of posts I wanted to write this December. NICE JOB, ME.

Anywayyyy. I am ridiculously excited for this movie. I would’ve liked to see it at midnight, but my last two finals were tonight, so I’m heading home tomorrow morning and my brother and I are going to watch it sometime this weekend. UGH I’M SO EXCITED. WE’RE GONNA EAT SO MUCH POPCORN. I even have candy, but I’m going to use that to bribe my brother into taking a selfie to mark the nerdy historicaliosityness of the moment. (Sometimes I make up words because I’m just SO EXCITED. You should try it.)

I’m excited because I can’t wait to hear the new music. John Williams is an absolute genius, and I think the Star Wars music is his best work. (And, like… no matter what you think of the prequels, they have amazing music too. I barely remember Attack of the Clones, but I can’t forget the love theme for Anakin and Padme.) I could write an entire post about this subject, TBH – maybe someday I will!

I mean, John Williams’ music was what sparked my fascination with film scores in the first place! So I have a lot to thank him for. And then when you consider all he did for the genre as a whole, well… A New Hope is THE reason we have big, elaborate, orchestral scores today. THANKS, DUDE.

When I heard that he was coming back for Episode VII, I kind of freaked out. He’s getting pretty advanced in years – he’s over eighty now – and I really really hope that he’ll be able to compose the music for Episode VIII and IX as well. Maybe that’s selfish of me. Maybe it’s not. I don’t know. All I know is that he’s ridiculously talented and Star Wars would not be the same without him. (I mean, look at Jurassic Park vs. Jurassic World – I felt that a lot of the emotion and sense of awe was gone. No offense, Michael Giacchino. You did your best. But you’re not John Williams.)

So, yeah. I’m super excited to hear brand-new pieces of music, as well as new variations on old themes! Considering how I cried just from listening to the trailer music, I think it’s safe to say that I’ll be kind of a mess in the theater as well.

I’m excited to see a Star Wars movie on the big screen for the first time! When Episode I came out I was two, so obviously I didn’t see it then. (I wouldn’t have remembered it anyway.) My brother and I watched the entire series a few years after Episode III was released, so I’ve never seen any of the movies in a theater, but I’d really love to… movies are so much better in the theater.

I’m excited to see Lupita Nyong’o and Gwendoline Christie in this movie, because they’re some of my crushes favorite actresses… even though Lupita will be covered in makeup and CGI and Gwendoline’s character wears a mask all the time. (At least, I think she does? I don’t know. I’ve been very good about avoiding spoilers, so I’m just basing this off what I’ve seen in the trailers.)

(FYI, if you want to avoid spoilers… I’ve been using this Chrome extension and it works very well – it’s tried to block me from writing this post approximately 235862359 times. Thanks, but no thanks. It also gives you hilarious warnings when a page is potentially spoiler-y, so that’s a plus. My personal favorite is, “I find these spoilers… disturbing.”)

I’m excited for this movie because it is exactly what I’m talking about when I discuss the need for diversity in fiction. The lead characters are a teenage girl and a black guy! Yay! I mean… sorry, Anakin, but do we really need more movies about white dudes who are the chosen one?

I’m excited to watch The Force Awakens because it was one of my very first fandoms. I mean, I found PLENTY of other stories to love before I fell in love with these movies, but most of the others didn’t really have fandoms surrounding them. I loved Little House on the Prairie and Roald Dahl’s books and so, so, so many other stories, and… well, I guess they do technically have fandoms. I guess I just feel like they’ve been eclipsed by other fandoms? My first big fandom was Harry Potter, and then Star Wars was next.

And one of the things that I loved about Star Wars, but that also intimidated me, was how vast the story universe was. So many characters! There were movies and TV shows and comic books and novels and… wow. THERE WAS EVERYTHING, BASICALLY. Which was amazing, but also a bit intimidating…

…to eleven- and twelve-year-old me, at least. It’s kind of funny to think about now, because now I’m into stuff like Marvel Comics. Which has, you know, movies and TV shows and comic books and, yes, even novels. (…I may or may not have requested that the library buy a Black Widow novel because I NEED THAT BOOK IN MY LIFE.)

More than anything, I’m excited to watch The Force Awakens because all the hype surrounding this movie re-awoke my love for this story. (That pun was unintentional, I swear.) I kind of drifted away from that fandom for a few years – it’s not really something I thought about until I heard that this movie was being made. The main reason for this? Honestly, it was that whole “ginormous story universe” thing again.

Now I’m like, “OK, wow, that’s a lot of stuff to read and watch and keep up to date on, but… I can do it. I’m Super-Engie!” I love quite a few ridiculously expansive stories now, actually – Doctor Who and A Song of Ice and Fire are just a few more examples. But middle school Engie was all like, “But which story do I even read first?” so I just didn’t even start. (I procrastinate on EVERYTHING.)

So I hadn’t even thought about Star Wars for a very long time. There is some evidence of my love of Star Wars in my room –  the first CDs I ever bought contain mostly Star Wars music, and for years the only poster in my room has been a gigantic version of this poster from the re-release of A New Hope. (Actually, come to think of it, that poster probably makes my friends think I’m a bigger fan than I actually am, when in truth it’s something I haven’t thought about that much in years.) You won’t find much, though.

But lately I have been thinking about Star Wars, and it’s been wonderful. I’ve been thinking about the infinite number of characters and all those stories that can be explored, and about all the other science fiction I’ve loved and forgotten about over the years (shout-out to Star Trek!), and about the music. (OH SO MANY THOUGHTS ABOUT THE MUSIC.)

And… yeah, it’s making me feel like a little kid again. I LOVE STORIES THAT DO THAT TO ME. I love rereading a favorite book, or finally watching a new movie in a series that I’ve enjoyed since I was but a wee Engie.

I love that feeling – I could go on and on about why I love it, why I enjoy it as a reader and/or viewer, but ultimately I think it has more to do with writing. The feeling is a mix of nostalgia and awe and – for me, at least – creativity. Spending time with my childhood favorites always makes me want to create stories of my own. And that’s really the best feeling a budding writer can have.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I’m Excited To Watch “The Force Awakens”

  1. I am sooo excited for the new movie- we’re kind of big Star Wars fans, my dad and I (and sort of my sister). When I was little, I would read the scripts in the concept art books that my dad had (for someone reason they had all the speaking lines in them?) and it wasn’t until I was ten, I think, that we actually watched the movies. I’M SO EXCITED FOR THE FORCE AWAKENS THOUGH. I love the cast and the trailer looks so amazing!!! I don’t actually know the plotline, though, but ah well…who cares, Star Wars!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

