Books I Read In 2015

Last year I wrote a post recapping all the books I read in 2014, so I thought that this year I’d recap all the books I read in 2015!

I read one hundred books last year, thus fulfilling my Goodreads challenge goal of reading, well, one hundred books. I still feel weird/bad about not reading as many as I did the previous year, but I keep reminding myself to look on the bright side.

Like, I started college in 2015. That cut into my reading time. IT HAPPENS. It’s foolish to expect one year to be exactly the same as another year either before or after it. It just doesn’t work. I hope I have a better reading year in 2016, but I also know that I need to not beat myself up about this issue.

Also? Reading one hundred books is perfectly fine. Reading one hundred books is great, actually. I read 203 in 2014, and I shouldn’t be mad at myself for reading fewer than that in 2015, or for not overachieving in 2015.

ANYWAYYY HERE IS MY LIST. It was fun to take a look at what I spent the past year reading… and one perk of reading few books in 2015 than in 2014 was that writing this post took much less time!

P.S. To keep the length of this post from getting out of control, I’ve limited myself to listing just the title, author, and a one- or two-sentence remark about my opinion of the book. Enjoy!

1. Captain America: First Vengeance by Fred Van Lente. OH LOOK IT’S THE STAR-SPANGLED MAN WITH A PLAN.

2. Humans of New York by Brandon Stanton. I’ll have to check out his latest books!

3. Carrie by Stephen King. Impressive, especially considering that this was King’s first book.

lonely planet's guide to pride4. Armageddon Outta Here by Derek Landy. This collection of short stories was just as good as the full-length books!

5. Batman Begins: The Movie and Other Tales of the Dark Knight by Scott Beatty. I’M BATMAN.

6. Captain America: The Trial of Captain America by Ed Brubaker. I really need to finish reading this storyline.

7. Batman, Vol. 2: The City of Owls by Scott Snyder. …I didn’t read volume one first, though. Oops.

8. Lonely Planet’s Guide to Pride: 20 Cities and Their Celebrations by Lonely Planet. This was really, really disappointing.

9. Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson. You should definitely believe all the hype: Ms. Marvel is one of the best new comic book heroines.

10. The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy. THIS BOOK RIPPED MY HEART OUT AND STOMPED ON IT TBH.

11. This Day in June by Gayle E. Pitman. WE NEED MORE LGBTQ+ PICTURE BOOKS ASAP.the dying of the light

12. The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton. This was so cute and silly!

13. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. The most overrated book I read this year.

14. Daredevil vs. Bullseye by Marv Wolfman. THIS WAS SO CHEESY.

15. Joker’s Asylum by Arvid Nelson. I’d never read about characters like the Scarecrow or the Penguin before, so this was a great first glimpse!

16. Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelly Sue DeConnick. This was the perfect thing to read soon after Ms. Marvel – Captain Marvel is Ms. Marvel’s hero!

17. Black Widow, Vol. 1: The Finely Woven Thread by Nathan Edmondson. The best comic book I have ever read. STUNNING artwork and storytelling.

18. Black Widow, Vol. 2: The Tightly Tangled Web by Nathan Edmondson. DITTO.

black widow the tightly tangled web19. Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka. SHE IS MY FAVE DC COMICS CHARACTER EVER.

20. SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki. Fun, cute premise, but it had no plot. UGH.

21. Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley. Meh.

22. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World by Bryan Lee O’Malley. Mehhhhh.

23. Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness by Bryan Lee O’Malley. Mehhhhhhhhh.

24. Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley. MEH.

25. Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe by Bryan Lee O’Malley. MEHHHH.

26. Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour by Bryan Lee O’Malley. MEHHHHHHHH. batwoman elegy

27. Thor, Vol. 1: Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron. I was so excited to read this and I’m happy to say that it was great! I can’t wait for the next volume.

28. Hatter M: Love of Wonder (Free Comic Book Day) by Frank Beddor. THIS WAS ATROCIOUS.

29. The All-New All-Different Avengers / The Uncanny Inhumans FCBD 2015 by Mark Waid. I can’t wait to read the full-length version!

30. Doctor Who: Free Comic Book Day by Nick Abadzis. Fun, though there wasn’t much to this.

31. Once Upon A Time: Shadow of the Queen by Daniel T. Thompson. I started watching the show just a few months later! Yep, that’s me – I do things out of order. Because I’m cool like that.

32. Thor, God of Thunder, Vol. 1: The God Butcher by Jason Aaron. Such a cool premise! Even gods can die.

33. Thor, God of Thunder, Vol. 2: Godbomb by Jason Aaron. Ditto.

34. Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan. This is like a cross between Star Wars and Game of Thrones. I LOVE IT.

saga volume three35. Saga, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan. Does anyone know how many volumes there will be total?

36. Saga, Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan. Because I need to know.

37. Saga, Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughan. For REASONS.

38. 300 by Frank Miller. Disappointing! I doubt I’ll go on to watch the movie adaptation.

39. Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson. This was such a cute, fun graphic novel! YAY FOR CUTE, FUN GRAPHIC NOVELS ABOUT QUEER GIRLS KICKING ASS AT SUMMER CAMP.

40. Daredevil: Father by Joe Quesada. OOOOH THE PLOT TWIST WAS SO SO GOOD.

41. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. The main character kinda reminded me of Valkyrie Cain from the Skulduggery Pleasant books?

42. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros. Read for school, but I’d been meaning to read this for ages anyway!

43. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay. ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. I can’t believe I waited so long to read it!diverse energies

44. Diverse Energies by Tobias S. Buckell et al. I still need to write a review for this! It was great.

45. Beowulf, Monster Slayer: A British Legend by Paul D. Storrie. This was incredibly cheesy. I read this for my Superheroes Unleashed class last semester.

46. Pacific Rim: Tales from Year Zero by Travis Beacham. A fun prequel to one of my favorite sci fi movies!

47. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel. The best book I read this year!

48. Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash. The most underrated book I read this year.

49. George by Alex Gino. SOOOOOO. CUUUUUUTE.

50. None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio. Great premise, average writing.

51. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks by Sam Maggs. This was a disappointment.

52. Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson. Fascinating premise, if a bit muddled with legal jargon.

53. Age of Bronze, Vol. 1: A Thousand Ships by Eric Shanower. I wish this graphic novel wasn’t black and white – I wanted COLOR!

the sword of summer54. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. As usual, Riordan’s writing was wonderful. Can’t wait for the next book!

55. State of Grace by Joy Williams. Read for school. Had I not had to read this for City of Lit, I wouldn’t have bothered to finish it. Ugh.

56. The Her Campus Guide to College Life by Stephanie Kaplan Lewis. I have mixed feelings about this.

57. Ash & Bramble by Sarah Prineas. I met and interviewed the author of this book!

58. Mentor by Tom Grimes. Read for school.

59. The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith. AHHHH THIS WAS AMAZING AND YOU SHOULD ALL READ IT.

60. Demon Road by Derek Landy. DEREK LANDY IS A GOD.

61. Marvel’s Thor: The Dark World Prelude by Craig Kyle. UGHHHH THIS WAS TERRIBLE.

62. Birds of Prey, Vol. 10: Club Kids by Tony Bedard. I didn’t realize this was volume ten until I was, like, halfway through the book! Which might explain why I was so confused the whole time I was reading it. demon road

63. This is Warhol by Catherine Ingram. I want to read more books in this nonfiction series about famous artists!

64. Thor, God of Thunder, Vol. 3: The Accursed by Jason Aaron. The only bad part of this book was when it ended! I can’t believe the series is over now, too. NOOOO.

65. Alex + Ada, Vol. 1 by Jonathan Luna. I’ve been meaning to review this series as well!

66. Alex + Ada, Vol. 2 by Jonathan Luna. YAY FOR SCI FI GRAPHIC NOVELS.

67. Fairest by Marissa Meyer. SO EXCITED TO READ WINTER NOW.

68. Twelve Doctors, Twelve Stories by Eoin Colfer et al. I loved this entire collection, particularly the Classic Who stories!

69. Saga, Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan. When will volume six be published?!

70. Alias, Vol. 1 by Brian Michael Bendis. I started this series in preparation for watching Jessica Jones! I love it so much.

alias volume 271. Alias, Vol. 2: Come Home by Brian Michael Bendis. Ditto.

72. Alex + Ada, Vol. 3 by Jonathan Luna. I wish this series were longer – it did wrap up a bit quickly.

73. The Book with No Pictures by B.J. Novak. This was OK. A bit creative, a bit tedious.

74. The Little World of Liz Climo by Liz Climo. This was adorable!

75. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. A short, lovely book.

76. The Lifespan of a Fact by John D’Agata and Jim Fingal. Read for school. It was OK. Interesting premise, boring writing.

77. Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson. My FAVORITE book in this series!

78. Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit. A short yet BRILLIANT book.

79. All is Forgotten, Nothing is Lost by Lan Samantha Chang. hated this.

80. Revolutions in Communication by Bill Kovarik. This was my textbook for Media History & Culture… since I had to read all 300-odd pages, of course I counted it! It was actually kind of interesting.

81. Alias, Vol. 3: The Underneath by Brian Michael Bendis. HAVE I MENTIONED HOW MUCH I LOVE JESSICA JONES.

82. Operation S.I.N. by Kathryn Immonen. I LOVE READING ABOUT PEGGY CARTER AKA MY WIFE.

83. Poop-Di-Doop! by Stephanie Blake. I hate disappointing picture books. Like, thank you for crushing the dreams of my inner child.

84. Princeless, Vol. 1: Save Yourself by Jeremy Whitley. Girls kicking ass!men explain things to me

85. Princeless, Vol. 2: Get Over Yourself by Jeremy Whitley. And loads of diversity!

86. Princeless, Vol. 3: The Pirate Princess by Jeremy Whitley. I can’t wait to read volume four!

87. Captain Marvel, Vol. 2: Stay Fly by Kelly Sue DeConnick. I RELATE TO CAPTAIN MARVEL VERY VERY STRONGLY BECAUSE I TOO LOVE CATS AND OUTER SPACE.

88. Star Wars: Shattered Empire by Greg Rucka. I need to read more Star Wars comics ASAP! I’ve requested a bunch from the library. YAYYYY.

89. Black Widow, Vol. 3: Last Days by Nathan Edmondson. I neeeeed more volumes! But unfortunately, this series is over. I think.

90. Mad Max: Fury Road by George Miller. I have mixed feelings about this graphic novel, but I did appreciate that it recapped the other three films in this franchise,

91. Lumberjanes, Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson. Not as good as the first one, but I’m still excited for volume three.

92. Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson. I NEED VOLUME FOUR IN MY LIFE ASAP.

hawkeye volume one my life as a weapon93. Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon by Matt Fraction. So glad I decided to try this series!

94. Hawkeye, Vol. 2: Little Hits by Matt Fraction. Hawkeye is soooo much better in the comics than in the MCU. Like, seriously.

95. Superior Iron Man, Vol. 1: Infamous by Tom Taylor. Not hugely impressive, but I’m interested to see where the story goes from here.

96. Amazing Spider-Man: Edge of Spider-Verse by David Hine. SPIDER-GWEN!

97. Polo: The Runaway Book by Regis Faller. The tiny book-stealing character is literally me.

98. Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe. This is a really weird, slightly gory series about a group of four girls who kick butt in a magical world.

99. Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe. And I can’t wait for volume three!

100. The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1: Squirrel Power by Ryan North. This was ridiculous and cute. RIDICULOUSLY CUTE.

-~-

Well, there you have it… all the books I read in 2015. BASICALLY IT WAS THE YEAR OF THE COMICS AND GRAPHIC NOVELS. I looooove those genres.

Also, stay tuned for two more bookish recaps – in days to come, I’ll be talking about diverse books I read in 2015 and my top ten favorite books from 2015!

How many books did YOU read this year? (You can list them all if you want to, but you certainly don’t have to!) Did you manage to read more than me?!

P.S. What are you reading now?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Books I Read In 2015

  1. moosha23 says:

    You’ve read sooooooooooo many books this year but I get the feeling of underachieving. Don’t worry, there’s always next year AND LOOK AT HOW MUCH YOU’VE ACCOMPLISHED. I think you slayed last year 😀
    I’m currently reading eight books according to Goodreads (hah) but mostly What If? by Randall Munroe and Howards End by E.M. Forster. They’re both brilliant books in their own right and I’m so glad I’m reading them. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awww, thanks. ^_^ *is Buffy the Book Slayer or something*

      Ahhh, I read What If? in 2014 and really enjoyed it! I found his new book, Thing Explainer, at the library the other day, and it looks really fun too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Read In 2015 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

