Top Ten Books I Read In 2015

I’ve been looking forward to writing this post all week, you guys! A lot of bloggers I follow did a post like this back in December because it was a linkup at The Broke and the Bookish, but I prefer to save wrap-up posts like this for January, when I can make a top ten list that takes into consideration allllll the books I read in 2015, not just the ones I’d read at the time of that linkup.

So, yeah. That’s what I’ll be doing today!

But before we get started, here’s a screenshot from Goodreads of all the books I read last year, so you can get an idea of how often I give certain star ratings.

books read in 2015…as you can see, four- and five-star ratings from me are pretty rare. When making this list, I included all eight five-star books, obviously, and then I picked my two favorite four-star books! (I’ve listed the remaining four-star reads at the bottom of this post, because that rating is rare enough that I think they deserve a mention, too!)

Since I read exactly 100 books last year, this means that 8% of my books received five stars, and 10% received four stars. This is up from last year when I read 203 books but gave only 4 five-star ratings, so my percentage of five-star reads was something like… 2%.

ANYWAY. I’M DONE RAMBLING ABOUT BOOKISH STATISTICS NOW.

Enjoy!

P.S. Check out my wrap-up posts about all the books I read in 2015 and diverse books I read in 2015!

george10. George by Alex Gino

This middle grade book was soooo cuuuuute and also SO SO IMPORTANT. There just aren’t many LGBTQ+ novels for younger readers – and there aren’t enough transgender stories, period. This book was a joy to read!

9. Nimona by Noelle Stevensonnimona

I spent absolutely FOREVER trying to figure out what this high fantasy graphic novel reminded me of, and I finally figured it out: The Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy and Terry Pratchett’s Tiffany Aching books! Awesome female protagonist, great worldbuilding, slightly creepy/off-kilter mood.

honor girl8. Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash

UGH I RELATED TO THIS BOOK SOOOOOO MUCH. My first crush was a girl from summer camp, and those few days made me start wondering if I was gay. So, yeah – this book gave me ALL OF THE FEELS. I can’t wait to read whatever Maggie Thrash writes next!

7. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gaybad feminist

This brilliant collection of essays explores intersectional feminism… and I only wish I’d read it earlier! I love that Gay wrote about such a wide range of topics, and I love how she’s not afraid to criticize anyone or anything.

the price of salt6. The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith 

Soooo… I don’t typically read romances. I mean, sometimes I’ll read a story that has romance thrown in, but I don’t normally pick up books that contain solely romance? I’M SO GLAD I READ THIS ONE THOUGH. IT HAS VINTAGE LESBIANS. And the romantic tension is so well written! DKJGHSDFSJHGDKFJH I LOVED THIS BOOK.

5. Demon Road by Derek Landydemon road

Derek Landy writes some of the best urban fantasy I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading, TBH. Demon Road is the first book in his first series after Skulduggery Pleasant (which is my favorite series ever!), and I am happy to say that I enjoyed it just as much as his earlier books. I LOVE the vaguely unsettling mood of this story, what with the demons and blackroads and all.

the dying of the light4. The Dying of the Light by Derek Landy

THIS BOOK RIPPED MY HEART OUT AND STOMPED ON IT. This was such a good conclusion, and I was particularly impressed by some of Landy’s narrative techniques. Also, I cried my eyes out. Ugh.

3. Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Ruckabatwoman elegy

I read a lot of comic books – I read more comic books and graphic novels than works of prose this year, as a matter of fact – but I tend not to be all that emotionally invested in any of the characters. This one, though? I loved Kate Kane’s relationship with her father, and there was a plot twist near the end that left me stunned. STUNNED, I TELL YOU. I know DC gets a bad rap, but you should try this book, even if it’s the only one you try.

black widow the finely woven thread2. Black Widow, Vol. 1: The Finely Woven Thread by Nathan Edmondson

After reading this, you won’t look at Black Widow the same way. Or… maybe I should say you won’t look at MCU!Black Widow the same way? I know I certainly don’t. Her character in the comics is just so much more than the creators of the MCU would have you believe. Trust me. Also, the illustrations are AMAZING – I don’t usually rave about the artwork in comic books, but THEY USED WATERCOLORS. OH MY GOD. IT’S SO GORGEOUS I CAN’T EVEN.

1. Fun Home by Alison Bechdelfun home

Fun Home should be required reading for the human race. This graphic novel memoir tells the story of Alison, who gradually realizes she is a lesbian, and her father, a closeted gay man. When he commits suicide just weeks after she comes out, she struggles with their relationship… and then, years later, she begins to sort it all out by writing about it.

-~-

Aaaaand here are my other four-star books from 2015!

  • Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson
  • Twelve Doctors, Twelve Stories by Eoin Colfer et al
  • Carrie by Stephen King
  • Diverse Energies by Tobias Bucknell et al
  • The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
  • Men Explain Things To Me by Rebecca Solnit
  • Armageddon Outta Here by Derek Landy
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer

-~-

What are the ten best books that YOU read in 2015? And have you read any of my top ten?!

P.S. I just noticed that ALL of my top ten books have female protagonists, and six of the ten are about queer women. (And most of the books from my list of four-star books have female protagonists, too!) I just… wow. That’s so me. THAT’S SO ME.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Ten Books I Read In 2015

  1. moosha23 says:

    IT SO IS YOU.
    All these books sound SUPER interesting! Can’t wait to get my hands on Fun Home…it sounds like it needs a hug but also “sorting out” how complex lives/relationships are is a Big One and that makes it even the more excellent.

  2. Pingback: Online "Best of 2015" Book Lists Update - January 9th - Festival Gear

  3. I have only read Nimona, but Nimona was aaaaaaamazinggggggg. So yes. I need to read all of these.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

