10 Books I Recently Added To My TBR List

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten books I recently added to my TBR list.”

Making this list was a ton of fun! I add books to my TBR list on Goodreads almost daily – I know, I have a problem – so I didn’t even remember what some of my most recently added books were! Buuuuut… wow. This list is SO ME. I mean, duh – it’s my Goodreads account, so why shouldn’t this list reflect my interests?

But, like… sometimes I search by genre and add, I don’t know, thirty graphic novels in a row, so it was kind of funny to see how the ten most recently added books reflect MANY of my bookish interests. Graphic novels, LGBTQ+, YA, feminism/kickass heroines, retellings… you name it.

Enjoy!

10. Princeless: Raven the Pirate Princess, Book One – Captain Raven and the All-Girl Pirate Crew by Jeremy Whitley

I read the first three volumes of Princeless towards the end of last year, and really enjoyed them! KICKASS HEROINES AND FEMINISM AND F/F AND DIVERSITY YAY. This is a spinoff featuring one of the minor characters from Princeless, and I can’t wait to read it! Queer pirate girls? YES. YES YES YESSSS. SIGN ME UP FOR THIS IMMEDIATELY.

9. Princeless, Short Stories: Vol. 1 by Jeremy Whitley

Aaaand this is a collection of short tales set in the same world as the rest of the Princeless books! I’m quite enamored with this series, as you can tell. WE NEED MORE STORIES LIKE THIS.

8. Adulthood Is A Myth: A Sarah’s Scribbles Collection by Sarah Andersen

I follow this artist on Facebook, and all her drawings are so cute! AND SO ME. Her first book will be published on March eighth, and I’m so excited to see MORE CUTENESS.

rose witch7. Rose Witch by Sarah Diemer

THIS IS A LESBIAN RETELLING OF “BEAUTY AND THE BEAST” TOLD IN VERSE AHHH OMG. “Cinderella” may be my favorite fairy tale, but Beauty and the Beast has long since been my favorite Disney movie, so I can’t wait to get my hands on this book! The same author also wrote The Dark Wife, an F/F retelling of Hades and Persephone, which I’ve heard amazing things about. So, yeah. I AM EXCITED.

6. Sacred Heart by Liz Suburbia

The illustrations in this graphic novel look gorgeous! It started out as a webcomic, apparently, so that’s cool. I WANT TO READ ALL OF THE GRAPHIC NOVELS BASICALLY.

5. This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate by Naomi Klein 

This looks really interesting! It’s about how climate change deniers and those who are greedy for profit are slowly destroying our planet, and we don’t have much time to stop them before it is permanently damaged. This is an issue I have strong feelings about – it makes me SO MAD that the generations prior to mine are so reluctant to do anything about this. Everyone deserves clean air to breathe and clean water to drink, but so many people just don’t care. I’m guessing it’s because they’ll be long gone by the time the effects of their (in)actions are fully felt, so it just doesn’t matter to them? symptoms of being human

4. Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

I haven’t heard of very many (any?) YA novels with genderfluid characters, so I can’t wait to read this! Also, the protagonist has a blog! YAY.

3. No Place To Fall by Jaye Robin Brown

I’ll admit it… I added this book mostly because I ADORE its cover! It’s M/F romance, which isn’t really my cup of tea, but on the other hand, it’s set at a school! And it’s about music! YAYYYYY. TWO THINGS I LOVE READING ABOUT.

2. Liesl & Po by Lauren Oliver

Magic! Ghosts! Middle grade novels! ALL THINGS I LOVE. This looks really fun, and I always enjoy taking a break from YA and adult novels – as well as all my required reading for school – to read MG fiction.

1. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

This is a retelling of Jane Eyre! I love retellings, and although fairy tale retellings will always be near and dear to my heart, I’m also quite fond of retellings of other stories! Also, I’m excited because this is adult and not YA! I haven’t found very many retellings aimed at adults, although it’s entirely possible that I’m just not looking in the right place.

-~-

What are the last ten books YOU added to your TBR list? Do you think I’d like any of them? I mean, it’s not like my TBR list is out of control or anything… I’M KIDDING. IT TOTALLY IS. OH MY GOD PLEASE HELP ME IT’S 2303 BOOKS LONG AND IS THREATENING TO TOPPLE OVER AND SQUISH ME. INSTEAD OF FLAT STANLEY, I’LL BE FLAT ENGIE.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 10 Books I Recently Added To My TBR List

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omg I didn’t realise Jane Steele was adult. XD I still kinda want to read it though?!?! And omg yayyy for Symptoms of Being A Human with a BLOGGER CHARACTER. Clearly that means they’re awesome. 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I didn’t know that either, until I was writing this post and double-checked details about the book on Goodreads… I guess I just assumed it was YA because so many other retellings are?!

      And yessss. I love reading books about bloggers! I haven’t read very many, though. I NEED RECS. WAIT NO I DON’T. I MEAN… I LOVE FINDING MORE BOOKS TO READ BUT MY TBR IS ALREADY OUT OF CONTROL OH NO.

  2. Alexandrina Brant says:

    I don’t have Goodreads, but maybe I should do this with my Amazon Wishlist and see what comes up. 🙂

  3. I love the cover for Rose Witch!

  4. Appletaile says:

    *takes out Goodreads and adds all the things* THESE ALL LOOK SO GOOD. The Rose Witch in particular sounds great (also, I need to read a lesbian Hades & Persephone retelling, because that is all I want out of life). Hmm, yes, I don’t see many adult retellings either! That could just be because I don’t read as much adult fiction, though.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I know, right?! ALL OF THE F/F MYTHOLOGICAL RETELLINGS. ❤

      I've read a few… one was a mashup of The Importance of Being Earnest and Twelfth Night, but I honestly haven't found many. Maybe I should look for more, and write a post listing some of them! 😀

      • Appletaile says:

        There are some modern Shakespeare retellings by adult authors going round right now, I think? (Or at least, I’ve seen reviews in magazines.) If you ever do write that post I’d love to read it! 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

