Why The First Week Of School Is Always My Favorite

I adore the first week of school. I discovered this when I began taking dual-credit college courses in my sophomore year of high school – up until that point, I’d never had formal classes, but all of a sudden I had a much more structured schedule than ever before.

And over my now almost four (!) years of classes, I’ve realized just how much I enjoy the first week back at school. It’s like… the illusion of school. All of the structure, with few to none of the responsibilities. Professors don’t expect much from you this week – just show up to class. No major assignments are due, and sometimes there aren’t any assignments at all. Many teachers just go over their syllabus with us in class, and that’s it.

And I love that. I do enjoy school, and I can’t wait until it’s in full swing once again, but I love the first week back because it’s fun and low-key.

Case in point:

  • No classes on Monday, because it was MLK Day
  • Intro to the Short Story is a Monday/Wednesday class, so I only had it once this week eyyyyy
  • A fire alarm went off about halfway through Language Rights, so we left forty-five minutes early
  • All of my teachers discussed what is outlined in their respective syllabuses, and those with shorter classes spent the entire first session doing so
  • We did icebreakers in my Travel Writing and Intro to the Short Story classes, as well as my Media Usage discussion section
  • In my first Media Usage lecture, we discussed what media is, and then the prof showed us pictures of cute baby animals and was like “HEY THIS IS MEDIA TOO”
  • In my MU discussion section, we played some games that got us thinking about what media is
  • Travel Writing ended an hour early because we ran out of things to do
  • Intro to the Short Story and Media Usage (lecture/discussion section) ended about ten minutes early each time
  • FREEWRITING TIME IN TRAVEL WRITING WHEEEEEEE
  • My Wonder Woman prof read a picture book aloud to us and then we watched some video clips from the 1970s TV show

But before you think my entire Wonder Woman class will be like that, let me add this: She told us that we’d better have read the entirety of Antigone by this coming Thursday, because it’s time to buckle down and get serious. We’re beginning the first unit of the course, which studies the heroines of Ancient Greek literature.

Aaaand that’s kind of the point I’m trying to make here: I love the first week because it’s so easy. Afterwards, teachers become more demanding. In the meantime, though, I enjoy slowly easing back into my schoolish routines.

I love the first week of school because I have more free time than I know what to do with, so I ended up filling it with reading and writing and blogging, until I got sick of that and needed a break towards the end of the week. My homework this past week consisted of, like, reading syllabuses and the first chapter of my Media Usage textbook, so I’m not exactly swamped with schoolwork.

I was actually kind of a social butterfly this week! (A very small butterfly, that is. THE SMALLEST.) Like I said, I eventually got tired of sitting in my room using my laptop, so I did ACTUAL FRIENDSHIP THINGS such as the following:

  • Ate lunch/dinner with other people, and not by myself, because I hadn’t seen them since before break and I missed them
  • Watched Doctor Who with one of my friends
  • Went out for pizza and ice cream and ended up talking and playing games until almost midnight
  • Talked to the new RA (who is a huge dork)
  • Talked to the librarians (because I am a nerd)
  • Watched Carol and was ridiculously pleased when one of my friends said “That was really gay” after it ended because… that’s why I invited you, you nerd
  • Intended to come back to my room and read after the movie, but got dragged into watching Les Miserables instead

So yeah, I accidentally ended up watching some five hours of movies today? MY BRAIN IS MUSH. My brain is also happy mush because people keep asking ME to hang out with them, and that never used to happen in high school. It makes me so happy to have friends who don’t act as if spending time with me is a burden on them.

And I’m really, really happy that the first week of school is always so easy and non-stressful, because I had plenty of free time and didn’t feel guilty about using this time for something other than homework… because I didn’t have any.

ALAS, THIS WEEK IS OVER. It’s time to get down to business and study hard. I look forward to it! I mean, I also feel like I’ll regret that statement by finals week, but that’s still a long way away…

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why The First Week Of School Is Always My Favorite

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Aw, that’s so awesome the first week back is so great. 😄 And I’m laughing at you nerd talking to librarians. YOU ARE SO GREAt. ;D Aaalso did you see the Wonder Woman promo thingy that came out this week?!?! It makes me want to watch the movie even though I swore I would only break my DC grumpiness for Batman. BUT. MAYBE. hehe.

    • nevillegirl says:

      When I go to the library and sit amongst the books, it makes me feel like I have actual friends. KIDDING. 😛

      Yeah, I did! And you should break your DC grumpiness for Batwoman, too. ❤

  2. I feel the same! Like, it’s school…but you don’t do a ton, so it’s really fun. (ALSO LES MIS <3)

  3. Sounds lovely really. It’s adding to my strong desire to start school in the fall.

  4. Pingback: 5 Historical Settings & 5 Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read About | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

