February Commenting Challenge

Jessica @ Bookish Serendipity is hosting a blog challenge next month, and I thought I’d join in! The challenge will run for the entirety of February, and it’s all about commenting on other blogs!

This is something I really struggle with… I love blogging, and I’m REALLY REALLY GOOD at frequently updating my blog with new posts every other day or so, but I suck at leaving comments on other people’s blog and responding to comments on my own!

Also, I feel like January and February are just such blahhhhh months? I never feel very motivated at that time of year, and as a result I’m really behind on commenting.

So, yeah. I hope that participating in this challenge will motivate me to be a better blogger in terms of commenting. I’ve set some specific commenting goals for myself, and I’m posting the list here in the hope that it will help to keep me accountable:

1. Comment on at least one blog each and every day

As I just said, I don’t comment as often as I would like to… but I should have no trouble remembering to comment on just one blog post per day, right? I can do that in five minutes or less, while I’m waiting for the bus or taking a quick break from homework or whatever.

I currently have a bad habit of commenting in fits and starts – I leave a gazillion comments all in one day, and then don’t comment at all for weeks and weeks. I’d like to be more consistent! It would probably increase views on my own blog, too.

2. Find at least five new blogs and comment on them at least once

I love finding new blogs and making new friends! Recommend some of your favorite blogs i the comments and I’ll check them out! I’m especially fond of book blogs and blogs that discuss college, photography, LGBTQ+ topics, and diversity in media.

3. Comment on my favorite blogs more often

I’m not going to name any names here, because you know who you are! (Not to mention that it could get awkward really fast if I made a list of my favorites but forgot one or two of them and made people upset…) I read your blogs religiously and love all your posts, and I mean to comment, but then I forget.

AND I NEED TO STOP DOING THAT. I want to show my appreciation for what you write!

4. Respond to comments on my own blog in a timely manner

I used to be REALLY good at this… like really, really good. And then college happened? Now it takes much longer for me to get around to replying to comments here on Musings From Neville’s Navel, but there’s really no reason it should be that way. I can use a minute here or a minute there to have a conversation with my readers!

-~-

Jessica even made a linkup for the challenge, so why don’t you join us?! Let’s make February a productive month of blogging and commenting!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to February Commenting Challenge

  1. Sounds like a great challenge! I was getting really good at commenting last year, and then the new year and holidays happened and I stopped reading as many blogs…Anyway, this post is great reminder for me. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      Exactly! I stopped commenting/replying as much as I used to somewhere around Thanksgiving break. I finally caught up on all the comments on my blog a couple of weeks ago, but now I’m starting to fall behind again…

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omg, I comment so so much EVERYWHERE that I don’t even need to join a challenge. 😂 *dies laughing at self* Commenting is like MA THING. Although I would like to keep more up-to-date with answering my own comments on my blog? I mean, I do within a week, but it’d be nice to be faster!! 😀
    Omg have you tried wordrevel.com? GORGEOUS photography and plenty of diversity discussions. Also readatmidnight.wordpress.com is utterly fantastic for grand diverse discussions aaaand chasingfaerytales. *nods* And I ADORE readthebloodybook.com but she is busy at the moment and not updating so much…BUT HER PHOTOS ARE TO DIE FOR SERIOUSLY. Okay I just realised these are all bookphotography…hehe.e

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, you’re basically like my commenting role model? 😛 You’re so good at commenting on ALL OF THE BLOGS and I’m just over here like “I’m trying… I’m trying…”

      Ooh, thanks for the recs! I’ll check them out soon. ^_^

  3. matttblack42 says:

    *puts on sunglasses* I’m in.

  4. matttblack42 says:

    When I click on the link, it takes me to an article titled “Lord of the Rings Gets the Suicide Squad Trailer Treatment,” which I’m going to go ahead and assume was unintentional. Or perhaps my computer’s bugging up again. Either way, I looked up the blog myself and am joining the challenge. #pumped #fingersready #SuicideSquadlookskindacoolperhapsishouldseeitwhenitcomesout

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ohhhhh my god, I’m so embarrassed. NOW YOU KNOW I’M A SUPERHERO-LOVING NERD. Because you totally didn’t know that before. *nods*

      Anyway, I fixed the link and it has the right one now. Thanks for letting me know! 🙂 And yeah… I’m super excited for Suicide Squad, although I’m even more excited to see Civil War and Dawn of Justice! 😀

  5. parisianpages says:

    I struggle with commenting too , and that’s something I’m trying to work on lately because that’s how you build a community and it’s so nice giving and getting feedback 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

