5 Historical Settings & 5 Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read About

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! There are a few different options for this week’s prompt: “top ten historical settings I love/would love to read about,” or “top ten futuristic societies I love/would love to read about.”

Well, I’m going to combine a little bit of each of them all into one post! Science fiction is one of my all-time favorite genres, and I read a ton of historical fiction in elementary and middle school, so this week’s prompt allows me to combine those two passions!

This time, my top ten list is really just two top five lists smushed together. I decided to talk about the historical settings and futuristic societies I would love to read about (or write about!), and then at the end of this post I listed books like this that have actually been published.

Enjoy!

Five Historical Settings I Would Love To Read About

1. The European Theater of World War II with LGBTQ+ characters

So… I just really really want Marvel to confirm Captain America & Bucky Barnes & Peggy Carter & Howard Stark as bisexual. I WANT THIS SO BADLY. I NEEEEEED IT. And if it doesn’t happen, someone should write a prose novel with a similar concept, because WWII is a period of history that has always fascinated me, and I love learning what life was like for queer people in the past.

2. Wild West with outlaw girlfriends

Kind of like Billy the Kid or Jesse James, but two women! OH MY GODDD I JUST HAD THE BEST THOUGHT: WHAT IF IT WAS WRITTEN IN THE SAME HILARIOUS STYLE AS THE SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT WILD WEST SHORT STORY?! I need lots and lots of flirting and wisecracking and gunfights. I don’t even know why… I’m the most rule-abiding person ever. My idea of being lawless and wild is, like, sneaking cookies and fruit out of the dining hall even though we’re not supposed to, and even then I feel bad.

3. Nineteenth-century Austria & BEETHOVEN

He’s one of my favorite composers! I would love to read a story about someone who meets Beethoven – maybe they work for him in some way? And they’re also a musician, but just starting out? I think this would work well as either a YA or adult novel.

4. Chicago during the Great Depression

My hometown is about an hour away from Chicago, so I’ve been there a bunch of times… but I haven’t read very many books about it! And the Depression is an interesting period of time to study, so I’d like the book to be set then. Aaaand getting even more specific now… I want to read something about the breadwinner of the family! Mother or father, I don’t care – I realized like just now that although I’ve read a LOT of stories about the Great Depression, most of them were about how children were affected by it.

5. Sixteenth-century Latin America & the conquistadors

I want to read a loooooong novel (or series of novels) about this! The conquistadors were horrible, bloodthirsty explorers who were almost obsessive in their search for gold and other riches… so I think they would be REALLY compelling antiheroes.

Five Futuristic Societies I Would Love To Read About

1. PIRATES! In SPACE!

ALL OF THE SPACE PIRATES. Like Han Solo and Carswell Thorne? YEAHHHH BRING IT ON. Space pirates and smuggling and sarcasm and groups of pirates fighting both each other and the government that’s trying to capture them. AHHHH SOMEONE WRITE THIS ASAP PLEASE.

2. Flooded NYC

With global warming, the polar ice caps are melting and the sea level is rising… and while this is all extremely distressing to think about, wouldn’t it be cool to read or write about?! Imagine people paddling about the city in boats, as they do in Venice, or maybe snorkelers who explore abandoned buildings even though they’re officially off-limits due to being full of potential hazards.

3. Deep sea colony

I just think stories about the ocean are really cool, OK?! It would be amazing if someday we have the technology and equipment to allow us to not only explore the the deepest reaches of the ocean, but to also build colonies down there so that scientists can continue their exploration and research. Aaaand since there are so many super creepy fish in the deep deep sea, this novel could be a cross between sci fi and horror!

4. The United States after a massive decrease in population

Like, what if there was a story about a futuristic US where only a tiny amount of the population remains?! (For whatever reason – war, disease, alien abduction, et cetera. I’m not really picky about this part of the plot.) We’d have to find food and fend off wild animals and adjust to not having electricity and indoor plumbing anymore.

5. Martians visiting Earth for the first time

And by “Martians,” I DON’T mean little green men. I mean, like… kids who were born in colonies on Mars who have to visit the US as teenagers for some reason! It would be soooo much fun to read about life on Mars, as well as the culture shock that I’m sure those teens would experience!

-~-

Here are some historical and futuristic books that I’ve either read and enjoyed or plan to read sometime soon!

  • Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters. All of her books, honestly – this author has written a ton of books about queer women living at the turn of the nineteenth century. Basically, this sounds like perfection and I need to read alllllll of the books.
  • All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen. This is a steampunk retelling of Twelfth Night and The Importance of Being Earnest set in London during the 1880s!
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. Achilles & Patroclus! Yay! I actually wrote an essay about them for Superheroes Unleashed last semester, so I really need to read this.
  • 1984 by George Orwell. My Wonder Woman professor said that it is impossible to understand the modern-day superhero without reading 1984, and I’ve been meaning to read it since forever anyway, so I should get my hands on a copy of it this spring!
  • A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin. Based on the War of the Roses! Which I honestly need to learn more about so I can predict who will live and who will die in the story…
  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. I love how the plot of this story, set in 1895, moves around from country to country. The protagonist is from India, but moves to England. She’s white, but the story combines elements of both cultures, which is really good – we definitely need more diversity in historical fiction.
  • The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Eizabeth George Speare. This was one of my favorite books EVER when I was a little kid, but I haven’t read it in a long time – maybe I should!
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I’ve never finished a video game in my entire life, but this science fiction novel sounds really unique!
  • Uprising by Margaret Peterson Haddix. This is about three girls who find themselves caught in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire… I loved it sooo much and it made me cry!
  • Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley. A YA novel about the civil rights movement in the US… with bisexual female protagonists! YESSSS.

-~-

What about you?! Tell me all about your ideas for historical fiction and/or books about futuristic societies! AND THEN WE MUST CONVINCE AUTHOR PEOPLES TO WRITE THEM FOR US.

P.S. I’m so glad I finally found some time to write this post! Now that it’s the third week of school, I’m getting slammed with homework… lots of books to read and essays to write. In a recent post, I wrote that I love the first week of school because it’s all of the routine with none of the work. And… yeah, I so wish I could rewind time and go a few weeks back to when my head wasn’t spinning with all the studying I have to do.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 5 Historical Settings & 5 Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read About

  1. Fiona says:

    Have you read Station Eleven? Part of it is set in the US after a virus wipes out the majority of the world’s population, and isn’t a ‘typical’ dystopian. Highly recommend 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      I haven’t yet, but I want to! 🙂 I almost included it on the list of books I want to read, actually, but since this post was already getting too long, I didn’t…

  2. cynthiataco says:

    THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND
    i’VE HEARD OF THAT AND WANTED TO READ IT BUT I’VE NEVER READ IT BECAUSE NORMALLY I DON’T LIKE HISTORICAL FICTION
    I’LL GO PUT IT ON MY TO-READ LIST NOW

  3. I’ve always thought Captain America was bisexual and people think I’m weird. Now I know I’m not the only one who thinks this! lol

  4. YES TO ALL OF THE HISTORICAL ONES! (especially the wild west girlfriends, omg, that would be amazing.) I have had a sudden increasing love for historical fiction and, like, historical magical stuff and high fantasy? So now I’m having non-existent books/writing craves for all these genres. IDK if that makes any sense….but I totally agree with all of these.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I got the idea from a trailer that keeps playing before the stuff I want to listen to on YouTube, actually – some movie called Jane Got A Gun? It looks kind of interesting, but it’s just soooo hetero and I’m just like why. Whyyyyy.

      Ooh, yes! Did you see Cait @ Paper Fury’s version of this post? She talked about a lot of story ideas that sound exactly like what you want to see. 🙂 And I think I’ve heard of a few books like that, although I haven’t read them and can’t remember the titles off the top of my head. I’ll have to see if I can find them for you!

    • nevillegirl says:

      No, I haven’t! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the rec! 🙂

  5. YES to a deep sea colony! Or flooded places! Really they could occur at the same time. And anything with historical people would be amazing – I want to hear all about Leonardo Da Vinci, for example 🙂

  6. Yes, I want these things too! 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I would be motivated to actually check out your TTT post if you’d left something more than a form comment, because absolutely nothing in your comment gives any indication that you read my post and know what it’s about. Don’t leave spam comments in order to increase views on your own blog.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

