Check Out My First Article For Her Campus At The University Of Iowa!

Hey, everyone! Remember when I told you I had BIG WRITING NEWS a few weeks ago?! I’ve started writing for Her Campus at the University of Iowa, and my first article there – a profile of my Wonder Woman professor – was published today! I’d really appreciate it if you gave me some feedback about that piece!

I’m super excited to be writing for Her Campus, a nationwide online magazine by and for collegiate women, and I look forward to writing for a website larger than just my own blog. I hope it will be something impressive to add to my resume as I search for jobs both during and after college, although that’s not why I joined the organization. Not really. I joined because I thought it would be fun.

That’s a habit of mine – I tend to join only the clubs and groups that really, really interest me, and work my butt off in order to gain something meaningful from that experience. I have some friends who are in ALL OF THE CAMPUS ORGS and… well, that’s fine, because it works for them, but I prefer not to spread myself too thin, especially for activities that I may not be all that interested in and am only participating in so that I can add it to my resume.

So, yeah. I’m doing this because I thought it would be fun and because I love the “feel” of Her Campus – it’s very positive, lots of girls supporting each other in their writing, et cetera. Since I’m starting as a freshman, I’d love to work my way up and eventually write for the main Her Campus site, or maybe become one of the officers of the U of Iowa chapter. Or both.

Also, I plan to diversify this chapter’s articles in my own little way by submitting pitches for articles about LGBTQ+ stuff: My ideas include reasons to take a class in the Gender, Women’s, & Sexuality Studies department, a profile of Spectrum UI’s president, a piece about the alternative prom that Spectrum will host this spring (and that I’m helping to plan!), and so on and so forth. I have loads of ideas concerning other subjects as well, and my next article is due in just a few days, so you can look forward to that! I think I’ll probably end up writing an article per week?

One more thing before I end this post: Yes, that’s my real name attached to that article. It’ll take me a while to get used to this. I’ve been blogging for almost five and a half years, long enough to have gone through a cycle of both using and not using my real name here – I didn’t use it for the first few years, then I did for a few years, and I quit using it a couple of years ago.

So, yeah. I quite liked the anonymity this blog afforded me, that you couldn’t really track me down online, but I suppose I’ll have to get used to this if I ever want to be more successful as a writer. I mean, I might use this as an author blog someday, so… I suppose I had to start somewhere. It turns out that I’m not really named nevillegirl after all!

Well, that’s all I have to tell you today. I can’t wait to write more for this site, and I hope you enjoyed my first Her Campus article!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Check Out My First Article For Her Campus At The University Of Iowa!

  1. Mom says:

    Way to go!!!!!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I would say you didn’t write enough exclamation points, but my prof asked me to text the link to her after the article was published and she sent SOOOOO many exclamation points. And sparkly emojis. 😀

  2. That’s awesome! Congrats!!!! 😀

  3. AHHH this is odd seeing your name as anything other than nevillegirl/Engie! Congrats with the article, it was really good!

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Gosh darn it, I was betting on your name being Margaret. *scowls*

    Oh well. Loved the article, btw. Your Wonder Woman professor sounds awesome, mostly due to her opinion on Watchmen. Still not sure if I prefer it to V for Vendetta or not. Shall have to reread both.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ohhhh my god. Really? 😛

      Thanks! And she IS awesome – today she asked some of my friends and I if we want to go to the Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice midnight premiere with her and I just… she is such a nerd and also the best and I wish more professors were as enthusiastic as she is. I’ve been lucky enough to have mostly great professors so far in college, but even with some of my other favorite professors, it’s pretty obvious that this is just a job to them, and they don’t get nearly as excited about the material they teach as she does. 😀

  5. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2016 – Writing, Art Journaling, & Music | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

