#FemmeslashFebruary | A Celebration Of F/F Pairings

HAPPY FEMMESLASH FEBRUARY!

…yes, yes, I know it’s almost the end of February already. IN MY DEFENSE, I MEANT TO POST THIS EARLIER BUT IT’S KIND OF LONG AND I JUST DIDN’T HAVE THE TIME TO WRITE LONG POSTS. But now I do!

Every February, there is an outpouring of fanfiction, fanart, et cetera dedicated to F/F couples from various fandoms! Some people call this month Femmeslash February; some call it Femslash February. Actually, I think the latter spelling is more common, but for some reason spelling it that way has always looked weird to me, so… yeah. It’s the same thing, just with a slightly different name.

I thought it would be fun to devote a post to my favorite F/F couples from all different kinds of stories, because LET’S BE HONEST, F/F IS MY PASSION. There isn’t enough love for F/F couples compared to what you’ll find for M/F or M/M pairings, whether they’re canon or fanon.

SO. I found a bunch of shippy questions from around the Internet, and assembled them into one post that you are totally welcome to copy! That’s why I meant to post this earlier, BTW – so that people could steal this idea and use it on their own blogs during Femmeslash February! And now there’s not very much time left. I’M SORRY.

Anyway, let’s get started!

P.S. Some of these couples are canon, and some are not – actually, most are not, but on the other hand, I haven’t distinguished between the two in this post. If you want to know more about a certain couple, though, because you’re interested in reading/watching what they’re from and want to know how their relationship is treated, I will definitely tell you whether they’re canon or not!

Cutest or fluffiest F/F couple?

I’m a really big fan of Ash & Kaisa from Ash by Malinda Lo, which is unfortunately not very well known. I don’t know why! WE NEED MORE LGBTQ+ FANTASY. This book is a retelling of “Cinderella” with a bi protagonist and ohhhh my god, it is the fluffiest thing I’ve ever read. Highly recommended.

Funniest F/F couple?

imagine me & you kiss

Rachel & Luce from Imagine Me & You! I once convinced a friend who swore she didn’t like romcoms to watch this, and by the end of it she was fangirling SO HARD. These two could easily fit in the “cutest or fluffiest” category, but I wanted to put them here instead because god, they make me laugh so much. I WANT A RELATIONSHIP LIKE THAT.

Saddest or angstiest F/F couple?

I love Valerie & Ruth from V For Vendetta… even though their relationship ends in tragedy (and is basically a cliche when it comes to straight men writing about lesbians), it’s my favorite part of both the book and the movie.

Most romantic F/F couple?

sansa and margaery season 3 gifOhhh, Sansa & Margaery from A Song of Ice and Fire and Game of Thrones, definitely. THEY’RE SO SWEET UGH I CAN’T EVEN DEAL WITH THIS RIGHT NOW.

Favorite F/F couple from an older fandom?

Carol & Therese! They’re originally from the 1952 novel The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith, which was the first modern LGBTQ+ story with a happy ending. This book is a classic within the lesbian community, and I think it’s really cool that it was recently adapted into the movie Carol – now the story can reach a new generation!

Both the book and the movie are super romantic…. kdfshgdkfjhdfkjh I have a lot of feelings about Carol and Therese. I’VE WATCHED THE MOVIE MULTIPLE TIMES ALREADY AND IT ONLY CAME OUT LIKE A FEW MONTHS AGO.

Favorite F/F couple from an older era?

tumblr_mfm0hqhQqV1rur469o1_500That would have to be Jenny & Vastra from Doctor Who! They haven’t appeared onscreen since the beginning of series eight, and I really miss them. They are SO loving and affectionate towards one another and rewatching their episodes always makes me squee.

Favorite elderly F/F couple?

Nothing, I repeat, nothing you say will discourage me from shipping Professor McGonagall & Madame Hooch. HOOCH IS TOTALLY A BUTCH LESBIAN OK. F/F pairings from Harry Potter are few and far between, unfortunately… I’m also really, really found of Ginny/Luna, Hermione/Ginny, Hermione/Fleur, et cetera.

An F/F guilty pleasure?

I ship Emma & Regina from Once Upon A Time even though their relationship is totally queerbaiting. I’m not all the way caught up on this show, and I actually haven’t watched any episodes in a while because I felt bad about shipping something so problematic. It’s very easy for me to avoid shows that queerbait M/M couples such as Sherlock or Supernatural, but… gah, there just aren’t enough fictional queer women, so part of me feels that I should take what I can get and part of me feels that I should have higher standards than that.

An F/F/F OT3?

Jenny & Vastra & Clara from Doctor Who! CLARA IS TOTALLY BI AND ANYONE WHO DOESN’T AGREE CAN FIGHT ME TBH. “Deep Breath” definitely had the most subtext of any of their episodes together,

A crossover F/F ship?

disney femmeslash - ariel & jasmineI absolutely freaking LOVE whoever first thought of shipping F/F pairings from different Disney movies, because now I ship it too. ALL OF THEM. But especially Belle/Aurora and Ariel/Jasmine and Esmerelda/Jasmine!

An F/F couple I ship despite not even being in the fandom?

Myka & Helena from Warehouse 13! I’ve been meaning to watch it for aaaages now… I mean, it’s right there on Netflix, staring me in the face. They look SUPER cute and I even have a crush on the actress who plays Helena, so I’m honestly not sure why I haven’t started watching yet. Because I want to watch ALL OF THE THINGS, I guess, and have trouble deciding which one to watch first?!

A fandom where I ship so many F/F couples?

Marvel! OK, I’m cheating a little bit here, because this combines both Marvel Comics and the MCU, but here are all the F/F couples I ship from this fandom:

  • Peggy Carter/Angie Martinelli
  • Peggy Carter/Dottie Underwood (shhhh, don’t judge me, I am trash)
  • Natasha Romanov/Maria Hill
  • Natasha Romanov/Pepper Potts
  • Natasha Romanov/Wanda Maximoff
  • Natasha Romanov/Sharon Carter
  • Wanda Maximoff/Carol Danvers
  • Jane Foster/Darcy Lewis
  • Jane Foster/Sif
  • Jessica Jones/Trish Walker
  • America Chavez/Kate Bishop
  • Jean Grey/Ororo Munroe

Aaaaand I actually have a feeling that I’ve left at least one pairing off of this list because I just can’t remember it! I AM DISTRESSED RIGHT NOW.

A new favorite F/F couple?

Cheedo & the Dag from Mad Max: Fury Road! THEY ARE CUTE. I WISH THEY’D HAD MORE COUPLE-Y SCENES IN THE MOVIE BUT OH WELL.

An F/F couple that is #relationshipgoals?

Hmm, maybe Katniss and Johanna from the Hunger Games trilogy? I don’t need all that tragedy and heartache in my life, of course, but I love how deeply they care about each other when they’re in need. AND I LOVE THEIR SENSE OF HUMOR. THEY’RE SO SARCASTIC AND I LOVE IT.

F/F couple you’ve shipped the longest?

…honestly? I ship Gracie & Cheryl from Miss Congeniality. Not as much as I ship some of the other F/F pairings mentioned in this post, but I definitely ship them. I love finding great female friendships in stories, but I also really really love turning those friendships into romantic relationships in my mind BECAUSE REASONS.

Anywayyyy, I first watched that movie when I was ten, so I’ve been shipping those two for quite a while now! PLEASE TELL ME I’M NOT ALONE IN THIS.

Favorite F/F couple these days?

peggy and angie in automatPeggy & Angie from Agent Carter! I’ve been pretty much obsessed with these two since I started watching the show late last winter. Now I’m even more obsessed because A) season two is currently airing and B) Angie has only been in one episode so far, so I really miss her.

Favorite F/F couple of all time?

GUESS WHAT. IT’S PEGGY AND ANGIE. I have so many feelings about this pairing – happiness, sadness, angstiness, ridiculous fluffiness. (Wait, does “fluffiness” count as a feeling? Regardless, I stand with my original description of my shippy feelings.) I love fanart of these two and I have read literally all of the Peggy/Angie fanfiction available on Ao3… yes, there are hundreds of fics there. What’s your point? I LOVE THESE TWO. SO MUCH.

-~-

Now it’s YOUR turn: Tell me ALL ABOUT your favorite F/F couples! Do we ship any of the same pairings?! ALSOOOOOO PLEASE HELP A TINY GAY BY RECOMMENDING F/F STORIES FOR ME TO READ AND/OR WATCH. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #FemmeslashFebruary | A Celebration Of F/F Pairings

  1. YES TO ALL OF THIS. Mine would definitely be Ruth/Idgie from Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe (reeeeeead it) because SOUTHERN 1930s LESBIANS YESSSSSSSS. Honestly, I hope Madame Vastra and Jenny stick around in Doctor Who, I miss them.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Fried Green Tomatoes has been on my TBR list for the past few years, but I’ve somehow never gotten around to reading it! I NEED TO, THO. 😀

      Yesssss. I actually own one of the spinoff books with them in it (it’s called Silhouette and also features 12 and Clara), but haven’t read that one yet either. I should, thought, since I miss them so much. uGH SO MANY BOOKS TO READ.

  2. Appletaile says:

    I SAW THIS GOING ROUND TUMBLR. And then promptly forgot. *mentally congratulates self* But this was an awesome post. I love Ash and Kaisa! I actually can’t think of any other F/F couples in YA fantasy, which kind of sucks. (Altogether more LGBTQ+ characters in fantasy would be great.) Bi Clara is also one of my favourite headcanons! *nods8*
    I ship Eponine/Cosette from Les Mis A LOT, even if not many other people do and I have no canonical evidence to support it…Yes. I will go down with this ship anyway. 😛

  3. This post made me happy. Which I needed today. 😀 *walks away with all the warm and fuzzy feelings*

  4. OHHHH I love this post. Although it makes me sad that I wouldn’t be able to think of enough to answer all these questions!! Definitely need to read more F/F. Although I’m writing (rewriting) one at the moment so I’d totally choose two of my characters. #justsaying

    Now you’ve got me thinking of F/F Harry Potter ships. And Disney crossover ones. Curse you.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

