Apartments, Ice Skating, & Getting Out Of A Reading Slump

HELLO! I haven’t done a life-y post in a while, so I thought I’d write one today! I need a break from thinking about stressful things… like PAPERS and MIDTERMS and stuff like that. I’ve turned in two of my four papers already, but have yet to write the other two, and I have three midterms on the same day. Ughhhhhhhhhhh.

So! Here is an update on my life! These are some of the exciting things that have happened lately:

1. Continued to look for apartments to live in next school year

A couple of weeks ago, I posted about how there were no rooms available in the dorms anymore and how I’ve had to start looking for apartments and new roommates for next year. My search is actually going fairly well so far, which is a relief!

The very first apartment which we (AKA my new roommates and I) had an appointment to look at ended up being disgustingly dirty… sooooo we crossed it off our list. We visited two more apartments this past weekend, though, and they were MUCH better. Now we’re just trying to decide whether to rent a three- or four-bedroom place! ADULTING IS HARD BUT IT DOES GET EASIER. I THINK.

2. Went ice skating for the very first time

I’ve always wanted to do this, and on Saturday I finally did! It was definitely tricky – I fell down a lot – but not as difficult as I thought it would be. The RAs in my dorm organized this event and all the honors students were invited, so this weekend we drove to the next town over where there is a skating rink.

I’m still sore from falling down so much on Saturday, but I think I finally started to get the hang of it by the end of the afternoon! Some of my friends who play for the U of Iowa women’s hockey team taught me a little.

One of the most helpful things they said was not to look down! Apparently a lot of beginners do this because they want to check the position of their feet but doing this actually shifts your center of gravity forward, which then causes you to lose your balance and fall. Once I figured that out, I was able to make it like… maybe thirty or forty feet at a time without falling. I’M STILL LEARNING. BUT IT WAS FUN AND YOU SHOULD TRY IT IF YOU HAVE EVER HAVE THE CHANCE TO.

3. Started reading again

Prior to last week, I hadn’t read anything in months. I read two books at the beginning of January, and that was it. There are multiple reasons for my reading slump: I was busy, and when I wasn’t busy I was exhausted, and when I wasn’t exhausted I was unmotivated. BUT NOW I’M READING AGAIN YAYYYY.

The first book I read to get out of this slump was Humans of New York: Stories by Brandon Stanton, which ended up being a great choice to ease me back into reading because it mostly consists of photographs! Since I read the original HONY book early last year, it was neat to see the changes that happened between that book and this newer one. I would give it three out of five stars.

Just yesterday I finished reading Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates, which was definitely a five-star book. I plan to review it here eventually although, knowing me, that could be months from now because that’s just how I roll. Anyway, it was an amazing and honest look at what it is like to be a black man in America today. Since he’s writing to his son, he isn’t trying to water down his message to white people – in fact, at one point he says that his son should not worry about making white allies “understand,” but should instead focus on his own understanding.

I’m currently reading The Martian by Andy Weir, which is proving to be a lot of fun so far. I felt sick and groggy and headache-y all day today, so I took a break from the homework I was struggling to focus on in order to read something lighthearted.

-~-

What’s new in your life?! Tell me all about what you’ve been up to lately!

P.S. Check out my latest article for Her Campus at the University of Iowa! It’s all about ANIMALS and there are pictures of incredibly fluffy cats and dogs. SO MUCH FLUFFINESS. YOU SHOULD CHECK IT OUT.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apartments, Ice Skating, & Getting Out Of A Reading Slump

  1. Cynthia says:

    Yay for ice skating! I used to do it but I got too cold… I hate the cold.
    I’m actually not really sure what I’m doing with my life right now. Except I WILL GO TO IOWA CITY JUST TO GO TO THE BOOKSHOP. I WILL BE THERE ONE DAY. THIS IS GOING ON MY LIFE GOALS LIST.

    So now I have something to do with my life. 😀

  2. Good luck with apartment hunting! I know how tough that can be.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

