An Update On My Classes | Workshop, Edith Wharton, & Cupcakes

Soooooooooooo, it’s time for another college-y update! Spring break started today, and I’m excited for the chance to READ A LOT and WRITE A LOT and SLEEP A LOT… but first I want to tell you all about what I’ve been working on lately!

The Art and Craft of Travel Writing

My classmates and I are currently workshopping each other’s essays, and… wow. My professor this semester is so much more laid back about the format of workshop than my prof from last semester! My old prof had a whole list of feedback we needed to give to our classmates, and everyone had to say something, and my current professor doesn’t do that. At all. Kind of makes me wonder whose version is closer to the sort of workshop that I’ll find someday in grad school, if I end up going there for an MFA in fiction.

Introduction to the Short Story:
From Henry James to Flash Fiction

We don’t have tests in this class, only quizzes, so our equivalent of a midterm involved writing a five-to-seven page paper that analyzed one of the short stories we’ve read so far and utilized “close reading.”

I can’t remember whether I’ve mentioned this before or not, but I originally wanted to write about Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s “The Yellow Wallpaper.” Aaaand then we read “The Other Two,”  a great short story by Edith Wharton, so I ended up writing about that instead. I read some of her work in high school and really enjoyed it, so it was fun to return to her writing again.

In my essay, I talked about feminism, women climbing the social ladder, how divorce granted women more power that then made men uncomfortable, et cetera. It’s a VERY short short story, so you should totally check it out if you have a few minutes to spare!

Media Uses and Effects

We just had our second MU&E test, and before that we turned our first paper of the semester, which was basically just a bunch of forms that we had to fill out concerning our daily media use over four consecutive days. Other than that, not much has happened in this class.

Language Rights

SO my professor has split us up into groups for presentations that will be given starting a little after spring break! Each group has been divided into two halves, and together each group has to argue both sides of a particular language rights conflict. We had some say in this, and I actually got my first choice – Tibetan vs. Mandarin in Tibet, and I will be arguing for Tibetan! We’ve already started our research and I’m super excited, although a bit intimidated because each presentation is supposed to be twenty minutes long. HOW DO I DO THE THING.

Wonder Woman Unleashed: A Hero for Our Times

Remember that essay about Luke & Leia and Apollo & Artemis that I was telling you about? Well, my prof handed everyone’s papers back and I got an A. SHE DREW LITTLE STARS AND EXCLAMATION POINTS ALL OVER IT. SHE IS VERY EXCITABLE. I LOVE HER SO MUCH. She brought cupcakes for us to eat as we took our midterm.

ALSO I feel super conflicted now because my prof isn’t a huge fan of Mad Max: Fury Road and actually didn’t think it was feminist, but some of the things we’ve been learning about recently kinda make me want to write about it for my second essay anyway? I mean, MATRILINEAL SOCIETIES HELL YES. Both Wonder Woman and Fury Road are about women getting stuff done while the men ruin literally everything, because they prioritize women and mothers and female leadership and other awesome stuff like that.

-~-

How have your days been lately? Are you working on anything fun? TELL ME ALL ABOUT IT, MINIONS.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Update On My Classes | Workshop, Edith Wharton, & Cupcakes

  1. MINIONS. I want teachers like your Wonder Woman prof, she sounds amazing!

  2. Shanti says:

    I’m glad your classes are awesome! These updates are great 🙂 Funnily enough, I was talking about the University of Iowa today– one of my teachers used to teach there and we watched this documentary called King Corn and everyone thought that Iowa was super boring, but this teacher described your town as ‘ the place where all the smart kids from Iowa go, so it’s much better than the rest of the state”. (I think it was a compliment). Hmm, in my classes I just finished a short story for Indian History about tea plantations, and I also turned in an English paper that I thought was pretty good. I was also away for the last few days for an Environmental Science field trip– we saw lots of deer and tiger footprints, and everyone except for me saw a leopard *sigh* but it was still pretty fun. I’m also working on some satire pieces, a newspaper editorial and a short story about mermaids with identity crises for fun and/or extra curriculars. Also, calculus is killing me, because we’ve reached the BC part of the curriculum and I’m only taking the AB exam and it’s so terrible. 7 more weeks of Calculus are left in my life though. so I’ll deal.
    (this comment is really long. sorry) 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

