Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2016 – Writing, Art Journaling, & Music

Hello, everyone! Today is the last day of winter! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from December twenty-second through March nineteenth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Winter

journaling - pile of notebooksTaken in mid-March at my house

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Winter

“But all our phrasing – race relations, racial chasm, racial justice, racial profiling, white privilege, even white supremacy – serves to obscure that racism is a visceral experience, that it dislodges brains, blocks airways, rips muscle, extracts organs, cracks bones, breaks teeth. You must never look away from this. You must always remember that the sociology, the history, the economics, the graphs, the charts, the regressions all land, with great violence, upon the body.”

– Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

I haven’t read very much lately because I haven’t had the motivation to do so, but I’m so glad I picked up this book. It’s structured in the format of a long, heartfelt letter from the author to his son as he alternately attempts to educate him, warn him, and offer what comfort he can about what it’s like to grow up as a young black man in the United States.

As soon as I read it I knew I wanted to include a quote from it in my winter 2016 quarterly rewind, but it was REALLY HARD to choose just one quote because the whole thing is so powerful and beautifully written. Five stars, definitely.

This Winter In One Word

Freezing.

Most Popular Review This Winter

I reviewed Speaking OUT: Queer Youth in Focus by Rachelle Lee Smith. It’s a photo essay featuring portraits of numerous LGBTQ+ youth in addition to their thoughts on identity. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who’s looking for something a little different in the LGBTQ+ genre – I don’t see nearly as much love for LGBTQ+ nonfiction as I do for fiction in that same genre!

Top Two Books I Read This Winter

  1. Between the World and Me, of course! I can’t wait to read more of Coates’ work.
  2. I adored The Sleeper and the Spindle, a picture book by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell. I knew it was a retold fairy tale, but I had no idea that it actually combines elements of multiple tales. IT WAS SO SO GOOD.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Spring

  1. I’m excited to make more definite summer plans! I applied to study abroad in Dublin, so I can’t wait to find out if I’ve been accepted to the Irish Writing Program! If not, I plan to take summer classes, which I’ve already registered for just in case… I can drop them if I get into the IWP.
  2. Some of my favorite authors EVER are releasing new books this spring! I’m most excited for Desolation by Derek Landy (April 7), The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (April 26), and The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (May 3).

Three New Obsessions This Winter

  1. Season two of Agent Carter has me completely obsessed with Marvel once again… although I didn’t enjoy this season quite as much as the first, it’s still really good and I love the new characters! I love seeing Peggy and Jarvis interact, too, because they are ADORABLE NERDS. I want to punch Sousa and Thompson in the face though.
  2. I started art journaling recently and I LOVE IT.
  3. I downloaded the Neko Atsume app a few months ago and OMGGGG IT IS SO SO CUTE. It’s a game about CATS. That’s all I can say. I hope to review it eventually!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Winter

  1. I had SO MUCH FUN writing 10 Songs I Wish Were LGBTQ+ YA Novels! I’m all about that positive LGBTQ+ fiction aesthetic.
  2. I was nervous about publishing Dear Gloria Steinem: Stop Saying Young Women Support Bernie Sanders Because We’re Interested In Boys because I called out some very high-profile women (for being dismissive of my generation of feminists and not practicing intersectional feminism), so I’m really really glad that in the end this post was received very positively! Some of you told me to try to get it published in an online magazine and while that didn’t happen, your words made my day. I APPRECIATE ENCOURAGING COMMENTS ABOUT MY WRITING BECAUSE THEY ASSURE ME THAT I SHOULD KEEP DOING IT.
  3. One of my goals for this year is to be more open and talk about my writing more often! So that’s what I did in Beautiful People | January 2016 | Writerly Resolutions & Goals.
  4. 19 Things I Did In 2015 That I’d Never Done Before challenged me to look at last year’s accomplishments and experiences in a new light.
  5. Apparently participating in Beautiful People each month was the right decision, because you guys loved Beautiful People | February 2016 | Valentine’s Day Edition.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Winter

  1. I loved The Step-By-Step Guide to Awesome Bookstagram by Alyssa Carlier @ The Devil Orders Takeout… I don’t even HAVE an Instagram account yet, but I’m always looking for bookish photography tips and I really appreciated the part where she talked about what size images you should use for specific social media sites!
  2. Jennifer Austin’s post I’m Giving Up Hate, Prejudice, and Indifference for Lent is AMAZING. It’s a series of posts, actually – she’s been sharing stuff that other people have written about gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, disability, and so on and so forth. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
  3. Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes recently posted The Hero Of Your Own Story, which is a beautiful post about the complexity of all people and how everyone can serve as the inspiration for an interesting protagonist.
  4. Cait @ Paper Fury posted Why Yes, All Books Need Maps (Plus 10 Mappish Delights To Feast Your Eyes On), which made me smile and go YESSSS YES THEY DO YES.
  5. Emily @ Loony Literate wrote Can You Tell When One Of Your Blog Posts Won’t Be As Popular As Others? and it really made me think.

Five Things That Happened This Winter

  1. I started my second semester of college! I am now what is known as a “first-year sophomore” – in other words, I’ve earned enough semester hours that I’m technically not a freshman anymore. YAYYYY. I had an appointment with my adviser a week or so ago and she actually said that I may be able to graduate a full year early, in 2018 instead of 2019! EEEEEEE.
  2. I attended my second Bernie Sanders rally and voted in the Iowa caucuses! IT WAS AMAZING. There were thousands of people at the rally, including a bunch of bands and activists: Vampire Weekend, Foster The People, Cornel West, et cetera. Caucusing was super hectic but fun. I think Bernie won five delegates in our precinct and Hillary won one?
  3. I attended the Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay Transgender Ally College Conference – or MBLGTACC for short – with Spectrum, my school’s LGBTQ+ group. I learned a lot at the workshops, and made a ton of friends from schools all over the Midwest. If you ever have a chance to attend this, I HIGHLY recommend that you go.
  4. I started writing for the University of Iowa chapter of Her Campus, an online magazine by and for collegiate women! Three of my articles have been published there so far and I’m having SO MUCH FUN writing for that site!
  5. I started looking for an apartment since the dorms are full already for next year. It’s been a bit intimidating since I’ve never done this before, but it’s going OK so far.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Winter

1. “When We Were Young” – Adele

THIS SONG IS SO BEAUTIFUL AHHH I LOVE IT. It reminds me of a couple different pairings that I ship, so… yeah. I’m a big fan.

2. “Opening” (Carol) – Carter Burwell

I was so disappointed when this film score didn’t win an Oscar! This movie has quickly grown to become one of my all-time favorites – the score is just one of many things I adore about it. Carter Burwell wrote music for the Twilight franchise so I was super happy when I heard he was working on this movie, because Twilight actually has really quality film scores. They’re pretty much the only good parts of those movies… but I digress. YOU SHOULD ALL GO SEE CAROL.

3. “One Day More” (Les Misérables) – Claude-Michel Schönberg

One of my friends convinced me to watch Les Mis, and now I’ve fallen in love with the music! This is my favorite song because it combines some motifs from earlier in the musical. Normally I’m a “read the book before watching the movie” person but in this case I’m actually really glad that I’ve already seen the movie because the story is so long and complicated! Whenever I finally get around to reading the novel, I’ll already know the plot and hopefully won’t become confused or bored!

4. “Castle” – Halsey

I’ve been listening to this entire album a lot lately while I write or do homework…

5. “Brave Man” – Will Young

I discovered this song a couple of months ago and I love it so much! It’s so pretty and the music video is really powerful.

6. “Closer” – Tegan and Sara

I started listening to Tegan and Sara months ago and NOW I FEEL LIKE I’VE LEVELED UP IN GAYNESS. This song is so cute and so much fun!

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this winter? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2016 – Writing, Art Journaling, & Music

  1. Eeek I love that Adele song! AND YAY LES MIS YOU’VE BEEN ROPED INTO THE INSANITY! I love the musical so, so much (I’ve only ever seen the movie though, and read the book) and “One Day More” is one of my favorites. SO LOVELY.
    I…just kind of accidentally read “The Sleeper and the Spindle”? It was in a collection of short stories I’m reading- Rags & Bones: New Twists on Timeless Tales- and I read it and was like “omg this is amazing” and then kind of realized that that was THAT BOOK you recommended to me xD. It was very lovely, though! (Rags & Bones is amazing as well- Holly Black wrote a Carmilla retelling and IT WAS BEAUTIFUL. (sad, as expected. BUT BEAUTIFUL.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *sighs* I loved Adele’s other two albums and I was always like, “oh, that’s sad” when I listened to them, but “When We Were Young” just takes it to a whole new level. ❤ ❤

      Yeah, it was! I noticed that it had been included in a collection, but I can't remember where I saw that – in the book itself? Or on Goodreads? IDK.

      Thanks for the rec! I'll have to check it out! 😀

  2. moosha23 says:

    Ah when Tegan and Sara were so popular a few years back! Closer is such a good song (and the video is pretty fun too) .:D
    I’m very much so interested in art journalling. Did it feel weird to start journalling like that? How’d you start with it?
    Also: I will be hunting for Coates’ book now and just quote-binge his book on Goodreads.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I ❤ Tegan and Sara. 😀

      Yeah, it did, because I suck at drawing. 😛 Mostly I just write quotes I like and doodle in it and occasionally glue pretty things in it like shiny paper I found (and later in the spring, I think I may press some flowers/leaves and include them too). I'm just aiming for something creative that helps me de-stress too, so I'm not super concerned with everything looking super nice and artistic.

      YESSS YES YOU SHOULD. IT'S SO GOOD.

  3. YOU MEAN YOU HADN’T SEEN LES MIS UNTIL RECENTLY? WHAT? Also I love that you’re art journaling. I’m bullet journaling (sort of) but it’s just turned into a cluttered mess of washi tape and highlighters. Lots of fun.

    ALSO YES I loved The Sleeper and the Spindle ❤ ❤ Basically any books with pictures.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *hangs head in shame* No. No, I had not. 😛

      YAYYYY FOR JOURNALING AND ARTINESS.

      !!!!!! I plan to review it… eventually… who knows when that’ll be?! (Answer: nOT ME.)

  4. Thanks, Neville Girl for sharing my blog post! I am really touched you like my series so much.

    That Ta-Nehisi Coates quote is everything! I have been meaning to read his books because they sound so amazing, and so important. They definitely need to move up on my TBR!

    I’m impressed with the possibility of you graduating early. Keep up the good work! My daughter was supposed to graduate a year early, but then she transferred to a new school and requirements changed. Oh well . . . I will be looking forward to your blog posts from Ireland if you get into the program. Good luck!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! I think it’s a great idea, and… well, to be frank, I think it has much more of an impact (and a positive one at that) than most people’s Lenten resolutions, so that’s cool.

      THEY ARE AMAZING. ❤

      Aww, thanks!
      I heard back from the study abroad office this morning, and I didn't get in, but there's always next year! 🙂 So I'll be taking summer classes instead.

  5. Miriam Joy says:

    I don’t entirely understand how college works in the US and why you can get enough credit to graduate early or whatever, but that sounds awesome, so go you? And if you do graduate in 2018 we’ll be new graduates together. (Since I was meant to graduate in 2017, but taking time out from uni means I’ll now be graduating a year later.) We can navigate the terrifying world of work or postgrad studies at the same time, and it’ll be awful. Yayyy.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, I took dual-credit classes in high school (which is common, because it prevents honors/gifted students from being bored in regular classes AND allows them to earn college credit), and I plan to study abroad and take summer classes, so that adds more credits. College is ridiculously expensive here, so I’ll take any opportunity I can get to graduate early. Housing alone is super expensive, so graduating earlier would be a great way to save some money, too…

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Fair enough. We don’t have the option to earn ‘credit’ in the same way (though sometimes if you’re coming from the UK school system into Scottish universities you can go straight into second year — they have a four-year system more like the US one). And I agree that it’s absurdly expensive. Take any chances you can get to leave there with only semi-crippling debt!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

