“Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice” | Wonder Woman Is Definitely The Best Part!

I saw Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice last night! I went with one of my friends and our Wonder Woman professor. I don’t feel up to writing a formal review of it, but I wanted to post something about it nevertheless, so here are my thoughts on this movie!

FYI: There are some spoilers, but they do not appear until the section marked “spoilers.”

I guess I want to start by saying that I don’t quite understand the reasoning behind the extremely negative reviews this movie has been receiving? Like, no, Batman v Superman is by no means my favorite superhero movie. It’s not even my favorite DC movie. But… I keep seeing articles about how this deserves the title of Worst Superhero Movie Ever, and I think that’s a little much.

It definitely had some issues – it was too long, for example. Two and a half hours! I don’t mind long movies… it’s just that every single scene in some long movies feels absolutely necessary, but that was not the case for Batman v Superman. The fight scene at the end, in particular, dragged on for far too long.

And don’t even get me started on BATFLECK. My friends and I have had a running joke about this for months. I don’t think he did a bad job, but he didn’t bring anything special or above average to the role, either. He was just sort of… there.

Also, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor was awful. There is no other word for it. This review really sums up my thoughts on the portrayal of this character:

“And it’s not just a bad performance. It’s a bad performance clearly egged on by misguided direction, combined with thoroughly inane lines. Eisenberg’s Luthor is one of those rare characters in the history of cinema you just don’t want to see on screen.

Whenever he comes on you’re gritting your teeth and hoping the frenetic editing will cut to another scene. Somehow this doesn’t happen! Maybe five scenes in this whole movie are longer than ninety seconds and it feels like all of them feature Luthor.”

So what DID I like?

Well, the music, for a start. IT WAS SO GOOD. It was composed by Hans Zimmer (!!!!) and Junkie XL, which amused me to no end because Zimmer worked on Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy as well as Man of Steel, while Junkie XL also worked on the trilogy.

Together they avoided any of the motifs used in the Dark Knight movies, while keeping many of the cues from Man of Steel. I assume this is because one of the lead actors was recast, but who knows? Maybe they did it for a different reason. Either way, I was happy, because Man of Steel is easily in my top five favorite film scores from superhero movies.

We didn’t get to hear a lot of Wonder Woman’s theme because she wasn’t in the movie very much, but what we did hear was fantastic and I’m super excited to hear more of it in 2017!

And this leads me to the other thing I really adored about this movie: WONDER WOMAN. Despite having been created in 1941, this is her character’s first appearance on the silver screen! My friends and I definitely weren’t the only ones in the theater to freak out as soon as Gal Godot appeared onscreen in her secret identity as Diana Prince, and when she finally appeared in her Wonder Woman armor for the final fight scene everyone cheered.

So although we didn’t see much of her, Gal Godot as Wonder Woman was my favorite part of this movie: I described Batman v Superman as a two-and-a-half-hour-long teaser trailer for next year’s Wonder Woman film! I was super excited to see her as Wonder Woman anyway, but I wasn’t expecting her to steal the show as much as she did, nor for the male superheroes to be as lackluster as they were.

But yes. I’M SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW BECAUSE LIKE 99% OF STRAIGHT MALE COMIC BOOKS FANS COMPLAINED WHEN SHE WAS CAST BECAUSE THEY CLAIMED HER BOOBS WEREN’T BIG ENOUGH. Like, is that gross and creepy, or is that gross and creepy? She is just so done with those comments – earlier she pointed out that Amazons cut off one breast in order to more easily draw a bow and arrow.

I’M SO EXCITED FOR WONDER WOMAN NOW. I mean, even more than I was before. We are sadly bereft of any female-lead superhero movies from either Marvel or DC, and we don’t have many female-lead shows, either. Marvel has more female-lead shows than DC – that is, it has one more – but they seem unwilling to put their money where their mouth is when it comes to making a female-lead film.

ALSO I JUST REALLY LOVE WONDER WOMAN’S COSTUME.

AND I HAVE A GINORMOUS CRUSH ON HER.

I am excited.

And now it is time for me to discuss some spoiler-y things, so I’ve changed the font color to white and if you’ve already seen the movie and want to know more about what I thought of it, then just highlight the following section!

here be spoilers. 

So, Superman died. SUPERMAN DIED. One of the things we discussed in my Wonder Woman class is that fight scenes with two (or more) immortal beings usually aren’t very interesting. The ancient Greeks tried it, and we still try it today, and it just doesn’t really work because the stakes aren’t high enough: No one can die, after all.

Now, Batman isn’t immortal, but he is super-powered, and we pondered this at length during that class discussion. Who would win? Would it end in a tie? Would Batman lose because, after all, Superman is immortal? 

I couldn’t decide which outcome made more sense to me, so… I chose both? BOTH IS GOOD. And then Superman, of all people, ended up dying, which I don’t think anyone was expecting.

The thing is, though, that I don’t think he’s really dead. There seems to be a lot of confusion about this matter if the articles I’ve seen about it are any indication, but the soil on Clark Kent’s coffin began to rise upwards immediately before the final cut to black. 

Which makes sense, if you think about it, because after Suicide Squad and Wonder Woman comes the first Justice League movie, and you just can’t have the Justice League without Superman. 

Speaking of the Justice League: AHHHH THOSE GLIMPSES OF THEM WERE BEAUTIFUL. I didn’t really care about Wonder Woman until I saw Gal Godot’s portrayal of her, and I didn’t care Aquaman until I heard that Jason Momoa had been cast. HE LOOKS AMAZING.

But going back to Superman, my professor pointed out something interesting. He’s portrayed in very Christ-like ways. I guess that was a thing that happened in Man of Steel, too? I wouldn’t know; I heard it was bad so I never saw it and just stuck to listening to its music. 

Anyway, there was a scene at the end that was reminiscent of taking Jesus’s body down from the cross, and that whole resurrection thingy at the end, and more. I mean, yeah, they did that in Man of Steel too, but this movie was released on Good Friday, which had to be a VERY deliberate choice on behalf of Zack Snyder.  

-~-

So there you have it. Not the best superhero movie I’ve ever seen, but not the worst either. It kind of reminded me of Age of Ultron in terms of crappiness, honestly, but a lot of people are automatically biased against anything new DC makes, so I’ve seen a lot of reviews bashing Batman v Superman as The Literal WorstTM, and I’m just like… OK, but are we not also going to acknowledge the OTHER superhero movie that came out within a year ago and was also disappointing with some mildly good moments?

Like I said earlier: It was a teaser trailer for Wonder Woman in 2017. And that’s really all I needed.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice” | Wonder Woman Is Definitely The Best Part!

  1. Very interesting! I enjoyed reading this. I won’t go see the movie, I was sure it was going to be stupid from the start. I didn’t know about the Wonder Woman movie, I might go see that now though. 😀
    Also you didn’t like Age of Ultron? Honestly I didn’t like it either, but loved the bad guy. What did you think about Ultron?

  2. Heather says:

    Liiiiiike… I wasn’t really planning to watch this movie anyway (no particular reason, I guess, just that the concept of Superman kind of bores me and I haven’t seen anything that would just COMPEL me to go see it the way that other movies might), but I think what you’ve said here is in line with the other whispers that have come crawling my way. BUT I did not actually realize that Wonder Woman has never had her own movie! (I just tune out DC movies in general I guess… heh) That one I will want to see… Good or bad, of course, but here is to it being really, really good. Because Wonder Woman should have her own movie… No, wait, scratch that—female superheroes in general should get to have their own movies comparable to all the energy devoted to the Batman, Superman, Avengers, and whatever else movies. (Billion dollar ideas here, people. Come make money off of me and make us happy.)

    (I also realize I did not add a lot of brilliant insight into the discussion of your thoughts. *flips hair wildly* That is how I roll.)

  3. Saw the movie yesterday and remembered you’d written a post about it. I have to agree – WW was my favourite part too. The length was unnecessary (like, it was so slow in the set-up) and the balance between action and discussion was inbalanced/too choppy.
    I actually liked the way Jesse Eisenberg portrayed Lex Luther. He had that element of narcissistic insanity that made him such a good villain, even if his motives weren’t that clear.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

