Really Gay Movie Nights, Dorm Life, Friendship, & Other Things That Happened Lately

I haven’t written a life-y post in a while, so I thought I’d do that today! This is mostly a list of good things that have happened recently, although there are also a few not-so-good things.

1. Made plans for summer housing

Since I’ll be taking summer classes here instead of studying abroad, I need a place to live! The summer 2016 housing application just opened and since A) I applied right away and B) not very many people stay over the summer, I should have no problem getting in. The dorm that’s been designated as summer housing is actually the one I already live in, so that should make things even easier!

2. Finalized my 2016-17 housing plans

I got into the dorms! I GOT INTO THE DORMS. As you know, I’ve been searching for a place to live next school year, and had been looking at apartments but without much luck. I was getting SUPER stressed about the whole thing, and then I got an email saying that there was a room available in one of the dorms! I was still on the wait list to get in, partially because my parents still thought I had a chance even when I’d given up hope, and partially because I’m kind of inept and couldn’t actually figure out how to remove myself from the wait list.

SO. YEAH. I’m so glad that this worked out so well! I feel like everything is slowly but surely falling into place for next year.

3. Won a scholarship

A few months ago I applied for no fewer than THIRTEEN scholarships… because they all had the same essay question so all I needed to do was write one essay, then copy and paste! I thought that sending out so many applications would increase my chances of winning at least one scholarship, and I guess it did: I won one!

The judges actually said my essay was “inspirational” in the email they sent to me, and I have no way of knowing whether it was a form letter meaning that all the winners got that, but hey. I’ll take that money either way. Every little bit helps.

4. Hung out with some friends and watched some LGBTQ+ movies

After I wrote the post No More Dead Lesbians, some of my friends from college and I started discussing how sick and tired we are of the Bury Your Gays trope. Sooo… we’ve decided to get together every now and then and watch LGBTQ+ movies with happy endings! One of my friends is majoring in Video Production, so he has the keys to get into the communications building and is allowed to be in there after hours, so he’s been letting us in and then we all watch stuff on the big screens they have in various classrooms there.

It’s been a lot of fun so far. I’m so happy to finally have IRL LGBTQ+ friends, especially other LGBTQ+ women which is what our little group is mostly comprised of. We watched Carol this past Friday, which I’d seen a bunch of times already, but I’m ALWAYS happy to watch it again. We made a list of stuff we want to watch or rewatch, and one person even suggesting having a picnic on the Pentacrest – a large grassy area in the center of campus – before our next movie night since the weather is getting warmer.

5. Started working on my final Media Usage & Effects assignment

We have to design a research project about a current media issue! However, we don’t have to actually do the research – we just have to outline how it should go and why it’s important.

I love turning something I’m passionate about into a project that fulfills requirements for a school assignment, so I decided to design a research project about how the prevalence of violence and death inflicted upon lesbians and bisexual women on TV shows (AKA the Bury Your Gays trope) affects the self-esteem of real lesbians and bisexual women. The inspiration for this project came from my aforementioned No More Dead Lesbians post and, more specifically, my own feelings after writing it – I felt horrible and sad and angry for DAYS.

My friend the Video Production major and I discussed our ideas for this assignment and he decided to design a research project about how the portrayal of fictional bi people affects our perception of real bi people!

6. Began making The Pie Chart of Death 

Autostraddle recently posted All 150 Dead Lesbian and Bisexual Characters on TV and How They Died, and… well… I love charts and graphs, OK? That was always my favorite part of math – I got super excited whenever I had to make a chart for an assignment. And since Autostraddle’s list details how all those characters died I was like, “But what if I made a pie chart of DEATH?”

I haven’t finished it yet, but a ton of those women died because of head injuries. Or from being shot. I plan to post the results on this blog eventually.

7. Broke my phone

I WAS SOOOOO DISTRESSED ABOUT THIS BECAUSE IT’S NEVER HAPPENED TO ME SO FAR BUT I ADULTED AND FOUND A PLACE THAT CAN FIX IT. I fell and the phone flew out of my hand and landed on the ground face first, separating the screen from the rest of the phone. It’s not cracked or anything, but my phone is currently held together with the aid of my phone case and two rubber bands, one at the top and one at the bottom. One corner of the screen is purple/orange, and I don’t even know how that color combination is even possible, but it’s both colors at the same time. POOR PHONE. I’M SO SORRY.

8. Ran for election as a Spectrum board member

I laid in bed for a really long time last night thinking about how I was the only one who ran for a position and didn’t win anything, but… oh well. There’s always next year. One of my goals as a potential board member was to have more fun get-togethers and to stop limiting ourselves to Wednesday night movies. Kind of like I’m already doing with those Really Gay Movie Nights on the weekends?

9. Used the school’s telescope and had a cool view of Iowa City at night

One thing that I love about college is that I actually have IRL friends now. Friends, people, FRIENDS. I love it. I have multiple friend groups! That’s not something I ever had before in real life, just online. Anyway, this particular friend group has been getting together for dinner and then slowly making our way through the Lord of the Rings movies, which is a ton of fun in and of itself because like half of the people have never seen them before.

No one really wanted to go to bed right after we finished The Two Towers, so one of the guys in our group who is majoring in something science-y was like, “Why don’t we look at stuff through the telescope?” so we all went over to the physics/astronomy building and spent like an HOUR looking at stars and galaxies and stuff. We could see all the buildings lit up below us, which was awesome – I’d never seen that view before, and it was fun to pick out the buildings we’d been in before.

Basically, it was just a really nice night and I look forward to having more of them. I love it when people ask me if I want to hang out with them (!!!!), and I love having geeky friends, and I love people who are up for doing something spontaneous that doesn’t involve drinking… because that’s just not my thing. I’m more about polishing off a whole bag of jelly beans while quoting Lord of the Rings and then huddling around a ginormous telescope in the cold, you know? That’s my #aesthetic.

-~-

What have you been up to lately? What kind of projects are you working on for school? And have you watched/rewatched any good movies lately?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Really Gay Movie Nights, Dorm Life, Friendship, & Other Things That Happened Lately

  1. Hooray on getting into the dorms! 🙂
    And that’s so awesome about the scholarship!! Congrats girl!

  2. Elm says:

    All of those things sound so so amazing! 🙂

  3. Shanti says:

    Yay! It sounds like some great things are happening in your life :). It’s great that you got into the dorms and got a scholarship and everything. Your writing about having IRL friends totally reminded me of what it was like when I started going to regular school (instead of homeschool) six years ago. The internet is great; but IRL friends are so important. I’m working on my media studies project about how electric lighting changed culture in cities (and after reading an academic article, have realised that I want to be a behavourial archeologist cum museum curator) and preparing for my AP mocks which start this week and recovering from Model United Nations which was last weekend.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahhhh, how did I not know you were homeschooled?! Orrrrr maybe you told me once and I just forgot lol…

      Ooh, archaeology! And museum curation! Yesssss good.

      What does participating in Model UN involve? That sounds so cool!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

