10 Bookish People & Things You Should Follow On Social Media

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “ten bookish people you should follow on [insert social media platform of your choice here].” Buuuuut… I’m cheating. As I occasionally do with these TTT posts. Some of the following social media accounts are operated by organizations, campaigns, et cetera.

Also, in most cases I felt that the person/thing had multiple social media accounts worth checking out, so I’ve included links to all of them!

Enjoy!

1. Malinda Lo

Of course she has to come first! OF COURSE. I have to include her here not only because she’s one of my favorite authors, but because her blog is so lovely and well-written! She has a lot of great, informative posts about diversity and some are so good that I’ve read them over and over during times when I’ve been thinking quite deeply about what it means to include diversity in one’s writing.

2. Dahlia Adler

Whenever I start feeling sad about the state of F/F romance in YA (or… well, any genre, really), I like to go to Dahlia Adler’s blog and reread some of my favorite posts there. It always helps. She talks a lot about diversity and – you guessed it – F/F stories. She’s the kind of author I look at and go, “I want to be like you.”

3. We Need Diverse Books

I love WNDB so much! They’ve helped raise so much awareness about the need for diverse literature, and I’ve found soooo many excellent books thanks to their recommendations!

4. Maggie Stiefvater

I NEVER KNOW WHAT I’LL FIND NEXT ON MAGGIE STIEFVATER’S SOCIAL MEDIA. I really don’t. This woman does everything and she is honestly #goals? SHE KEEPS GOATS. SHE RACES CARS. SHE COMPOSES AND PLAYS MUSIC. SHE DOES ART. (REALLY, REALLY GORGEOUS ART.) AND OF COURSE SHE WRITES BOOKS.

5. Gay YA 

As with We Need Diverse Books above, I’ve found a ton of great books through this website, which posts reviews of LGBTQ+ YA novels, interviews with the authors of those books, essays about why we need diversity, and more. It’s become my haven from the at times overbearing heteronormativity of mainstream YA lit.

6. Diversity in YA

If you love We Need Diverse Books but don’t yet follow Diversity in YA… then what are you even doing with your life?! FOLLOW IT. ASAP. This is a blog devoted exclusively to, as its name suggests, diverse YA literature. I love the all-encompassing diversity advocacy sites, but I also love sites that focus specifically on one genre or even a subgenre.

7. Corinne Duyvis

I haven’t actually read any of her books yet, but I can’t wait to! I mean… SO. MUCH. DIVERSITY. (You may have gathered that diversity is one of the main themes of this post.) She writes YA science fiction with disabled and/or LGBTQ+ characters! She’s also a co-founder of Disability in Kidlit, which advocates for more and better representation of disabled characters in children’s books.

8. Book Riot

BOOK RIOT IS LIFE. Following their page on Facebook was one of the best bookish decisions I made recently, TBH. I also signed up to receive some of their newsletters via email – my favorite is definitely Panels, since it’s about comic books and graphic novels!

9. Forever Young Adult

Despite its name, Forever Young Adult doesn’t focus solely on YA novels… but I don’t mind. They write a TON of posts about books, movies, TV shows, et cetera. There’s never a dull moment on that site.

10. Rick Riordan

I’ll be honest here: I don’t know of very many MG/YA authors from Rick Riordan’s generation who use social media so well and interact with their fans so frequently and in meaningful ways. Instead, I typically see that with younger authors. But not so with Riordan. He replies to SO MANY PEOPLE and posts silly things and I just… dfjkhgdkjfg I appreciate his existence.

-~-

I would love to find more awesome bookish social media accounts to follow, so you should recommend a few in the comments section! And perhaps we can bond over our shared love of some of the authors and/or organizations I listed here?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 Bookish People & Things You Should Follow On Social Media

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    MAGGIE STIEFVATER IS LIKE QUEEN OF EVERYTHING SHE DOES, OMG, HOW IS IT EVEN FAIR TO HAVE THAT MUCH TALENT, HMMM?!? her books are the best, her tweets are hilarious, she arts, she musics, she cars. Like. Seriously. Omg. #goals
    Lauren Destefano is HYSTERICAL on twitter. 😀

  2. AGREED. I love We Need Diverse Books, but I’ve noticed that they haven’t been so good with Indian-American protagonist recommendations or other really small minority groups in English literature as they have been with LGBTQ+ recommendations or other majority POC recommendations. But I guess that has something to do with the fact that there just aren’t that many out there? Who knows. I really love what they have done, though, and yes, STIEFVATER = queen.

  3. Carrie says:

    love Book Riot! 🙂 My TTT

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’ve wasted sooo much time on there, lol. I mean… it was definitely time well spent because everything there is so good, but at the time I really needed to be studying and doing my homework instead of reading endless articles about books! 😛

  4. matttblack42 says:

    I concur with Cait. Maggie Stiefvater is pretty much the perfect person. It’s not fair to the rest of us.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

