An Update On My Classes | Magical Realism, Stereotypes In The Media, & Midterms

It’s time for another update! I can’t believe we only have another month or so of classes and then a week of finals and then my freshman year will be OVER. Where did the time go?!

The Art and Craft of Travel Writing

I can’t believe that it’s almost the end of the semester already, and that we’ve begun to work on our final project! For our last major assignment, we have to write a seven-to-twelve-page essay. I think that for mine, I’m going to interview my uncle, who was born in the UK to a British mother and American father and moved here as a young adult, and include any cultural differences he noticed, funny anecdotes, et cetera in my finished piece.

But I’m not sure yet. I do have a few other ideas, after all… they’re just less developed than this one as of right now.

Introduction to the Short Story:
From Henry James to Flash Fiction

I was so “!!!!!!!!” about this class all last week because we studied magical realism! We read “A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings” by Gabriel Garcia Márquez, which I adore, and then watched Pan’s Labyrinth. I am always up for watching movies in class, and the movie was so good that I’m going to make my friends watch it with me and may even write a post or two about it later.

And we’re reading some of Flannery O’Connor’s short stories this coming week, so I’m excited for that too!

Media Uses and Effects

We’ve been studying subjects such as violence and stereotypes lately, which has given me SO many ideas for blog posts! So you can definitely expect to see a handful of posts wherein I explain a concept or two that we just learned and then relate it back to diverse books, or whatever. At the beginning of the semester I wasn’t really looking forward to this class because it has such a boring name, but it turned out to be about exactly the kind of things that I already think about!

Language Rights

I got an A- on the midterm, so I’m pretty happy about that! Before the test I was really stressed because the study guide was a three-page-long bullet point list of question after question after question and it just looked SUPER intimidating. But the test actually wasn’t that difficult! It was pretty much just stuff you’d know from coming to class and doing the assigned readings. So, BIG sigh of relief there.

Wonder Woman Unleashed: A Hero for Our Times

My friends and I have been working on our group presentation, which is about matrilineal societies. We’re going to talk about the Amazons, Wonder WomanMad Max: Fury Road, et cetera and we’re having so much fun! I’m kind of sad that this class is almost over, though. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. SO. MUCH.

And I got an A- on the midterm for this course as well!

-~-

How has your life been? Have you learned anything fun/weird/exciting in school lately?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Update On My Classes | Magical Realism, Stereotypes In The Media, & Midterms

  1. OMG I have to watch Pan’s Labyrinth. It sounds amazing. Also, my classes all sound super boring (“The Ecology of Public Communication,” “Digital Communities,” “Citizenship and Communication”) but they’re actually amazing. I mean, for digital communities this week we had to research a celebrity’s use of social media so that was just great.

    Can’t believe your freshman year is almost over!! It was only yesterday when you were blogging about getting reading to move out, surely.

  2. That wonder woman class sounds pretty cool. I’ve actually never read any of the Wonder Woman comics, but so many feminists that I know love her so I’m feeling like I probably should read it…

  3. Toby says:

    Pan’s Labyrinth is so wonderful, isn’t it? I watched it was on an airplane, and my neighbors weren’t very happy to see the guy sewing up his cheek…I was like, go, watch your own movie, and let me watch mine XD

    …sorry, I just love that movie, that’s all I have to say. Kudos on your classes and grades!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

