First Reactions To The “Rogue One” Film Trailer

Hey, everyone! So, today I want to talk about the trailer for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – or simply Rogue One for short – which came out last week.

Enjoy!

P.S. You can find my earlier film trailer reaction posts here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead! Read/watch at your own risk!

0:10 – LOTS OF EMOTIONS BECAUSE OF BEAUTIFUL STAR WARS MUSIC.

0:16 – So apparently people already think Jyn Erso is Rey’s mom and, like… I guess I can see the resemblance? But I’m still clinging to the hope that she’s Leia and Han’s kid because REASONS.

0:16 – Those dorky little helmets are so adorable.

0:24 – YOUNG MON MOTHMA HOLY CRAP I’M SO EXCITED.

0:27 – Aaaaaand the other theory I’ve heard is that the guy right here is Kes Dameron, Poe’s father. I CERTAINLY HOPE SO. I’ve only read one volume of the comics that serve as prequels to The Force Awakens, but I really enjoyed getting a glimpse of his family. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LET THAT BE HIS DAD.

0:28 – This is my favorite outfit! I love wrapping myself head to toe in blankets on cold days.

0:32 – Like, I know several people just died and I probably shouldn’t be laughing at that, but they all just went NYOOOOM and flipped over while in midair and… yeah.

0:44 – IS THIS WHAT I THINK IT IS?

0:48 – OH MY GOD YES IT IS IT IS OHHHH MY GOD.

0:50 – I literally had no idea what this movie was about and now I’m so excited because HELL YEAH IT’S ABOUT THE DEATH STAR.

0:58 – I’M SO CONFUSED WHAT IS THAT NOISE.

1:01 – Oh. I guess it’s a siren?

1:04 – THIS SIREN IS ME AND I AM THIS SIREN. THESE ARE PRECISELY THE NOISES I MAKE WHEN I AM DISTRESSED BECAUSE I NEED TO DO SOME ADULTING.

1:12 – I know I just said this siren is me, but… you can stop any time now, little siren. I can’t hear what else is going on.

1:18 – This dude must be super important, because not only does he have a stylish and super-important-looking cape, he’s striding through some water (a small lake? a giant puddle? I can’t tell) in his bright white cape with no concern about getting it dirty sooooo this must mean that he makes someone else do his laundry? #detectiveskills

1:24 – I’m sure that if this happened in real life and I were there I would, like, get hit by a laser and die, but AHHH THIS IS SO COOL.

1:29 – AHHH SHE LOOKS SO PRETTY AND BADASS HERE I’M SO EXCITED.

-~-

As I said earlier, I had absolutely no idea what this movie was going to be about, and now I’m ridiculously excited to see it. I’m apprehensive about young Han Solo’s cameo in Rogue One, because I… don’t have much faith that whoever they cast will (can?) portray him like Harrison Ford did, but STILL. I’m still so excited.

I mean… THE DEATH STAR! They’re stealing the plans for the Death Star! And the protagonist is a woman, so a woman stole – or rather is going to steal – the plans! I am 100% down for more female protagonists in, well, all genres, but especially fantasy and science fiction because little boys have looked up to a gazillion male protagonists from sci fi ever since its creation, and it’s time that little girls had more role models too.

-~-

What’s your opinion of this trailer for Rogue One?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Reactions To The “Rogue One” Film Trailer

  1. Claire says:

    Ahhh I’m so excited to see Rogue One… I completely agree that there need to be more female main characters in all movies, of course, but especially science fiction. And I’m kind of amazed that both The Force Awakens and Rogue One will both have a female MC! *fangirl* I didn’t know Han Solo was going to have a cameo, now I’m worried about horrible casting, but he’s my favorite so now I’ll go fangirl some more. 😀 Great post!

  2. *screaming* I had no idea this was a thing but yessss! This sounds like the bestest thing ever, even if the trailer doesn’t appear to give much to the plot. That guy does look a lot like Poe- my first thought was “IS THAT POE” and then “WAIT THAT CAN’T BE POE POE’S DAD??” So yeah. That would be awesome. ALSO YES FEMALE MCs IN STAR WARS AND SCIENCE FICTION IN GENERAL. That 1:29 scene (where she does indeed look lovely) reminds me of Katniss from the Mockinjay movies, to be honest.
    I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS NOW

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

