Alternative Prom

Hey, everyone! So Spectrum, my school’s LGBTQ+ group, held their annual alternative prom – or alt prom for short – this past Friday night, and I wanted to tell you all about it!

I was super excited because I never went to prom. (The local high schools won’t let homeschoolers attend, and I couldn’t go to any homeschool proms because they’re run by super conservative groups who wouldn’t have let me bring a girl to prom with me.) I mean, I know prom isn’t the be-all and end-all of high school awesomeness, but I still would have liked to have had that experience.

I ended up going to alt prom with Jill, my best friend from college – just as friends, not as dates. (I suppose I could’ve gone to a homeschool prom with a guy as “just friends” to get around the straight-couples-only rule but A) I have hardly any guy friends and B) I was really uncomfortable at the thought of being read as a heterosexual couple.)

So, yeah. We went as friends and she even let me borrow one of her dresses! I was just going to wear one of mine but she offered to let me wear her female!Captain America dress that she made for cosplaying, which I’d been eyeing for a while since… well, it’s a freaking CAPTAIN AMERICA DRESS.

alt prom 2016Since it was a handmade dress, she had to adjust it to fit me, which surprisingly didn’t take as long as I thought it would. You can’t see it very well in the selfie above, but Jill wore another dress that she made herself that is meant to be a visual representation of Dante’s Inferno. THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING ABOUT THE PEOPLE I AM FRIENDS WITH. THEY’RE ALL NERDS. Anyway, everyone was like “!!!!!” about my dress and I was just like, “Hello, it is I, the smallest gay nerd.”

To tell the truth, not as many people showed up to prom as we expected. Apparently there were a whole bunch last year, but not this year? I don’t know. I was actually on the alt prom planning committee for a while but eventually dropped out because it seemed a bit disorganized and I didn’t want to have to be the person who made it more organized, since I have other things to do with my time… like homework.

Anyway, I’m thinking about rejoining the committee next year because I noticed that they did very little advertising for the event, so it seems as if many people just didn’t know about it. (Some of my friends said they totally would’ve gone but they didn’t know about it in time and so they made other plans.)

So, yeah. A few people danced. Mostly we either stood around or sat around and talked and consumed prodigious amounts of popcorn and soda and fruit. Lots of stories were told. Hilarity ensued.

I’m really glad I went. In the end it wasn’t that different from a normal Spectrum meeting, except for the fact that we were all dressed up and there was more food than usual, but I’m still really happy that I attended because SPECTRUM IS LIFE. Everyone is so nice, and it’s a safe space where anyone and everyone can share their thoughts about LGBTQ+ stuff that we may not feel comfortable talking about elsewhere.

Also, THAT CAPTAIN AMERICA DRESS. Also, neither Jill nor I wanted to go to bed right away since we were both too wound up from prom, so we ended up watching Atlantis: The Lost Empire, which I had never seen before. It was awesome and we started talking about various Disney princesses we had crushes on while growing up, including some crushes that we didn’t even realize we had because we didn’t know what being gay was back then. It was a good way to end the night. I just… I just really, really love having LGBTQ+ friends in real life to share these experiences with. I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

P.S. Check out my latest post for Her Campus at the University of Iowa! Ask Herk-ampus is a brand-new feature for our HC chapter – an advice column – and basically the way it works is that everyone contributes a bit of advice and one person writes it all down and then we switch off being writers each month. I signed up for the first installment and I have to say that I did not really know what I was getting myself into! I just wanted to have something to write and publish this month. Pffft.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alternative Prom

  1. orphu44 says:

    a) Ooh, alt prom sounds like a neat idea! Also watching Atlantis and talking about Disney princess crushes sounds like the /best/ kind of way to spend your time.
    b) Oh my goodness what the heck you’re so pretty and cute and you look so good in your (well …
    Jill’s, I guess) Captain America dress!

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    My school had a prom in year eleven and year thirteen (ummm… sophomore year and senior year?), which isn’t exactly the same as an American prom in that it’s not really about dates, and you can’t bring anyone from outside of school, so even people who had boyfriends from other schools or whatever ended up going as friends. All my friends who went I think went as a big group. But… I didn’t go. The year thirteen one was the same day as a dress rehearsal, and the next day I had an all day rehearsal and then opening night of a show, so I couldn’t face the exhaustion, plus it cost a lot of money and I didn’t think it sounded like fun and I don’t drink so the ticket price was annoyingly high because it included wine. Also it’s not my thing. The year eleven one I just couldn’t be bothered. So yeah, I’ve never been to prom. In Cambridge we have May Balls (which happen in June… go figure) and I went to the LGBTQ one last year which wasn’t a Ball at all, it was more like a club night but in the evening. It was actually okay, the closest I’ll ever get to clubbing. I’d like to go to one of the proper May Balls in future but tickets can cost literally hundreds of pounds and I’m poor, so I don’t know whether that’ll happen. The price of admission isn’t really worth it for me — I wouldn’t stay the whole time and I don’t drink, so I’m basically subsidising everyone else’s alcohol — otherwise I’d try saving up. Ah well.

    I love your dress. I already said that on Facebook, but yeah.

  3. Your dress is so pretty!! I never went to prom either but I’m not sad about it, I’m way to introverted for that. 😀 But it sounds like you had a pretty good time! That’s great. 😀

  4. That is the greatest dress ever, ohmygoodness. That sounds like you had a great time!

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    Ahhhh, you look so cute in the Captain America dress!! I love it! 🙂 Sounds like you had tons of fun.

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2016 – Alison Bechdel, Troye Sivan, & The Value Of Creative Work | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

