#AuthorAThon | TBR

I’ve decided to participate in my very first readathon: #AuthorAThon, which is cohosted by Joana Sousa and Thoughts on Tomes! #AuthorAThon runs from April 18 to April 24, so we have one week to either read a bunch of books by a single author OR do six author-themed challenges. (Or both, I guess. If you’re an overachiever. Which I am not… at least not lately.)

Because this is my first readathon, and because I’m so busy with college and friends and LIFE, I’ve decided to set very practical, easily attainable goals. One of the main reasons I chose to join #AuthorAThon was because this semester is drawing to a close, so I have a much smaller workload than usual… but I’m still busy, so I want to make sure that I’m not in over my head here!

So with all that in mind, I’ve chosen a mix of graphic novels, a book I have to read for school, a book I’ve already started reading (shhh), books I have been absolutely DYING to get my hands on, et cetera to make sure that I A) have enough time to read all six books and B) don’t lose interest in the readathon midway through!

Here is the list of books I’ll be reading this week, and I encourage you to jump right in and join #AuthorAThon if you’re thinking that it might be for you! I’m excited to see what becomes of this week, because I haven’t read much lately and am hoping that at the end of this week I will have found the motivation to continue reading a lot – as much as I used to!

huntress1. Read a book by one of your favorite authors

I have been procrastinating reading Huntress by Malinda Lo for, like, almost two years now, sooo… I really ought to read it. I’m literally always in the mood for super gay books but lately I’ve been feeling even more excited about them than usual and this makes me want to read ALL THE GAY BOOKS AT ONCE, which is why four out of the six books listed here include LGBTQ+ characters and/or have LGBTQ+ themes.

2. Read a new-to-you author

For this part of Author-A-Thon, I will be reading Bone, Vol. 1: Out from Boneville by Jeff Smith! It’s been on my radar for a while, although for some reason I hadn’t added all the volumes to my Goodreads TBR list yet? I don’t know how that happened. Anyway, this looks like a super cute graphic novel and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the series is like too!

3. Give an author a second chance

The final paper for my Wonder Woman course is due next week, and I’ve decided to write about lesbian and bisexual superheroines. Some of the couples I’m talking about include Kate Kane & Renee Montoya, Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy, and Peggy Carter & Angie Martinelli. (I know that last one isn’t canon, but that’s sort of my point: It could definitely be interpreted as such because Peggy and Angie have exactly the same relationship dynamics that, say, Clark Kent and Lois Lane have, so… yeah.)

As part of my research, I need to finish reading the Batwoman comics by J.H. Williams III. I really enjoyed Batwoman: Elegy – “volume 0,” as it were – last year, so I’m excited to read Batwoman, Vol. 1: Hydrology! I will probably end up reading this towards the end of the week since I’m also planning to read at least three or four of the other volumes in the series and would prefer to read them all at once so that their respective plots are still fresh in my mind when I write my paper. the letter q

4. Read a debut author (2015 or 2016)

I’m going to read The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, which was inspired by A Thousand and One Nights! I’m all about diverse books and have been meaning to read this one since it came out last year, so I’ve already requested it from the library and I’ll pick it up tomorrow along with Huntress and Bone.

5. Read a book written by more than one author

I’ve already started reading The Letter Q: Queer Writers’ Notes to their Younger Selves edited by Sarah Moon and James Lecesne, buuuuut… I don’t think that counts as cheating because I’m only on page 46 out of 281! I still have a bunch of pages left, and I’m REALLY enjoying this so far. IT’S MAKING ME FEEL AN EMOTION OR TWO.desolation

6. Read a book from an author who is from a different continent than you are

My copy of Desolation by Derek Landy FINALLY arrived tonight – I had to order it from Waterstones in the UK since as far as I know, it isn’t sold here – and I am planning to devour it within the next few days. I might need to reread Demon Road first, though, to remind myself what happened in the first book… and also because I STILL haven’t posted my review of Demon Road and rereading it is probably a thing that should happen before I attempt to write that review.

I’M SO EXCITED, YOU GUYS. DEREK LANDY IS A WRITING GOD AND I TRUST THAT THIS BOOK WILL BE JUST AS GREAT AND HILARIOUS AS ALL HIS OTHERS.

-~-

Are you participating in #AuthorAThon? HOW EXCITED ARE YOU?! I can’t wait to see what everyone is reading this week!

 

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #AuthorAThon | TBR

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m not participating in this challenge (though I probably could) but right now I’m reading Half Bad by Sally Green which Cait (indirectly) recommended to me. I thought we had the whole trilogy in the library but we don’t have the third book, so if I like it I can foresee despair later this week as I frantically try and find a copy…

  2. Pingback: Waking Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Pingback: #AuthorAThon Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

