The I Love Spring Book Tag

Today I’m doing a tag that’s all about SPRING! I got this tag from Kayleigh @ A Book Lover’s Playlist and immediately wanted to do it since I haven’t posted very many tags lately. (What’s up with that?!)

Enjoy!

How is spring where you live?

Spring where I live is full of dark green grass and light blue sky and bright magenta blooms. There are white flowers on trees and strewn all over the ground beneath them. It has rained a lot lately and I’ve noticed the difference between Iowa City and my hometown in Indiana: I grew up in an unincorporated area between two towns, so we didn’t have sidewalks.

Now that I live within the town limits, I see more asphalt and cement, and less grass, so I notice more puddles and less, say, dew on grass in the mornings. It’s fairly warm even on rainy days and the buses make swooshing noises as they travel through the rain.

the raven kingMost anticipated book release this spring?

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater has technically already been released – it was published yesterday – but there no copies had been shipped to Prairie Lights when I checked that day, so I was unable to read it on its date of publication as I had been hoping to. They said that they should have copies available by Thursday, though, so I’m excited! I can’t wait to find out what happens, but I’m also super apprehensive because I’m worried about what might happen, and I’m sad because I don’t want this wonderful series to come to an end.

Also, I’m doing my very best to avoid spoilers, so… if you’ve already read The Raven King and want to tell me your opinion then GO FOR IT but be vague. I don’t want to see spoilers of any sort in the comments. (That means I don’t want you to message me about spoilers either. Jesus Christ, people, you can wait one more day for me to read a book.)

blue lily lily blueWhat book cover makes you think of spring?

Blue Lily, Lily Blue makes me think of spring because of its color scheme, as well as the flowers and grass and vines! All four books in this series have covers that are works of art, TBH.

Where are you going to read this spring?

There are a lot of parks around here – some city property, some owned by the university. I already spent a sunny, warm Saturday afternoon reading with my best friend and her roommate a few weeks ago and it was AWESOME. We laid out a blanket on the Pentacrest, which is at the center of Iowa City (and of the university too, I think?), but I’m planning to try other places as well. There are lots of benches along the Iowa river and it looks like the perfect quiet spot to sit and read a book or two!

i'll give you the sunFind a cover with the sun on it!

I am a cheating cheater! I would like to read I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson this spring or summer, though.

What are your favorite spring reads?

Um. I haven’t ever thought about this before? Like, I’ve thought about my favorite reads for summer and fall and winter, but somehow I’ve never thought about what I like to read during spring.

I think The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett would be a great book to reread in the spring, but I can’t recall ever having actually reread it during this season.

I guess I’m going to avoid actually answering the question and instead list some books I associate with spring: The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, because the events of the series begins in the spring and for the past few years I always take note of April 24th. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth, because I read it in March a few years ago and that book changed my life. Malice and Havoc by Chris Wooding, because I read that series in the spring too. (Actually, I read those books on the drive to and from a U of Iowa campus tour, so I also associate them with Iowa despite the fact that they’re not set anywhere remotely close to this state…)

zac & miaFind a book with many different colors on it.

Zac & Mia by A.J. Betts has a colorful cover that reminds me of spring!

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

How are you enjoying spring so far? Have you read any good books lately? What spring releases are you looking forward to? And MOST IMPORTANTLY what are your favorite outdoor reading spots?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The I Love Spring Book Tag

  1. I have to admit that I’m currently not feeling very spring-like, since yesterday it snowed here for the first time in about 3 years! We’re having very weird weather. But I’m hoping it’ll be warming up soon, and meanwhile I have books to keep me company. *nods* My copy of TRK arrived a little early so I’ve basically been terrified of accidentally spoiling it for someone. I did like it a lot, though! (Despite my sadness at the series finishing.) I hope you enjoy it, and thanks so much for tagging me! I’ve been terrible at doing tags recently, whoops. *makes mental note to self*

  2. YAY SPRING. Georgia spring is the greatest, except for pollen, it’s so green and colorful and flowery and lovely! Also it’s the one time of the year with nice weather. 😀 Thank you for the tag! I did need an excuse to post another spring-related post. ❤

  3. Pingback: The Spring Book Tag | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

