Bookworm Delights | 10 Things I Love About Being A Reader

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten bookworm delights.” Here is an ode to my favorite parts of being a reader!

Enjoy!

1. The smell of books

The first thing I do when I pick up a book – any book – is to smell the pages. I don’t know when I started doing this because I can’t remember a time when I didn’t do this. I especially love the smell of old books. I LOVE WALKING INTO BOOKSTORES AND BEING OVERWHELMED WITH THAT GLORIOUS BOOKISH SMELL.

Mr. Whiskers at my house!2. Reading with a cat curled up on your lap

Cats and books are two of the greatest things in the whole entire universe. THEY JUST ARE. So what’s better than reading while a cat dozes next to you? Um, absolutely nothing, that’s what.

3. Becoming so absorbed in a book that you don’t notice anything else 

I live for the moments when reality seems to disappear and the only thing on my mind is the book I’m reading. Sometimes I get so drawn into the story that when people interrupt me from my reading, it takes me a minute or two to remember what’s going on in the real world.

4. Reading a book in one sitting

I haven’t been able to do this very much lately since I’ve been so busy that I’ve barely had time to read any books, let alone an entire book in one sitting, but participating in #AuthorAThon last weekend gave me an excuse to procrastinate on my homework long enough to finish some stories. I LOVE curling up in a chair and then just not moving from it for several hours as I turn page after page after page.

5. Following a series for years, from its very beginning to its end

So I borrowed Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven King from the library yesterday… and I still haven’t so much as peeked at the first page. I’M KIND OF SCARED TO START IT. And I’m not even that worried about the characters?! I mean, this IS Maggie Stiefvater we’re talking about, so I’m sure sad things will happen to some of them, but most of my anxiety about reading this book stems from not wanting this series to be over. I’ve followed this series for the past five years and patiently waited for each new book to be published, and now… I’m not ready for the end.

the sword of summer iowa6. Discovering unexpected LGBTQ+ characters

I love getting recommendations for LGBTQ+ books – it would be awesome if you left some recs in the comments! – and I really love stumbling across books that have LGBTQ+ characters I didn’t even know about. IT’S THE BEST FEELING OK.

And if those unexpected LGBTQ+ characters survive until the end of the book… well, that’s even better. It’s hard enough to find authors who don’t kill off their queer characters, but I can usually manage to avoid books like that if I ask around and find out whether or not they have happy endings so that I don’t waste my time. It’s much more of a crapshoot with books none of my friends have read yet, though.

7. Making a friend a fan of one of your favorite books

I always feel so warm and fuzzy and PROUD when this happens! Like, I didn’t even write the book, but I still feel like a proud bookish parent or something for convincing one of my friends to read a book I love and then later hearing that they love it too. SPREAD THE BOOKISH AWESOMENESS, PEOPLES.

8. Drinking tea or hot chocolate while reading

The only problem with this is that sometimes I become so engrossed in my book that I forget to finish my drink and then it goes cold! THE STRUGGLE IS REAL.

9. Reading in bed

Reading ON my bed is great, but reading IN bed is even better. I love burrowing under the blankets and sometimes I wipe my eyes on the sheets if the book is sad and made me cry.

carol department store10. Being surprised by an adaptation that is absolutely perfect in every way

I think we can all agree that most book-to-movie adaptations suck. (And so are most TV adaptations.) But every so often you stumble across an incredible adaptation.

My all-time favorite adaptation is Carol. You should all go watch it right now. RIGHT. NOW. It is closely followed by The Fellowship of the Ring and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I. I’m also partial to Jurassic Park and Captain America: The Winter Soldier, both of which are very different from the books they are based on, but still manage to capture the essence of the original stories.

-~-

What are YOUR bookworm delights? Writing this post made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside – like, even warmer and fuzzier than I feel when a friend loves one of my recommendations – so I’m excited to read about what you love most about being a bookworm because I’m sure it’ll make my mood even better than it already is!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookworm Delights | 10 Things I Love About Being A Reader

  1. Shanti says:

    I have been to bookstores with resident cats– just the BEST THING EVER. I hardly ever read books in one sitting, I do like it when but I have to do school *AP’s start on Monday hyperventilating* I’m currently reading Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare, which has quite a few LGBTQ+ background characters… but no main ones. I tend to read LGBTQ+ YA popular books, not less known ones. If you’re interested in a more Christian perspective (like an open-minded one) you should read The God Box. I love it when a book just seems to understand you, or have a character that you get perfectly… like Tip in The True Meaning of Smekday and Lirael in Lirael. I also love turning my friends into co-fangirls. Fun post ❤

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I don’t really tend to sniff books. Not deliberately, anyway. Partly because I primarily read scuzzy old library books or secondhand purchases which, uh, don’t smell great. There’s still a waft of new book smell when you open one, so I don’t have to make a deliberate effort. But I think largely it’s because I don’t have much sense of smell and rarely use it, haha.

    Something I like, to add to your list (I’ve never read with a cat though and it’s truly tragic) is reading an entire series in, like, a week. Just one book after the other, seeing how the characters develop. I did that with Skulduggery Pleasant and with Rick Riordan’s books (both had a few gaps but otherwise I read them in a short space of time) and it was great fun.

  3. Mahima says:

    Ah, the smell of books. I also like reading books when the sun is shining. Summer’s nearly on its way, and just reading outside seems like such a great idea.

  4. Ohh, there’s nothing better then having a cat to keep you company as you read. 🙂
    Unfortunately, I can’t read a book in one sitting, but I love when I read it fast enough.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

