Why I Blog About College

I write about college fairly often on this blog. There are two reasons why, and the first is probably pretty self-evident: I just like talking about what I’ve been up to. Lately I’ve also been thinking a lot about the other reason why I write posts about college, which is that I hope my posts will help someone. That they will reassure someone. I think it helps my readers who are younger than me to see what life in college is really like.

The month or so before I headed off to college was super stressful for me. I actually didn’t even want to go at times because I was so anxious about the transition from high school to college.

And then I started college. And most of that anxiety disappeared. Just like that.

That’s not to say that I never ever worry about things now that I’ve been at college for almost two semesters (wow, has it already been that long?), but rather that arriving here helped things begin to make sense.

I often find that my worries about a THING disappear once the THING has begun. In the case of college, I stopped worrying that I couldn’t handle it pretty much as soon as I set foot on campus on the day I moved in.

And if my conversations with both IRL and online friends are anything to go by, that’s a pretty common experience. We worry about something long before it happens – before we can even do anything about it – and blow it out of proportion. I know what it’s like to be sitting there worrying, a few years or months or weeks before college, and not being able to do anything other than sit there and wait. But sometimes it helps to have someone reassure you that everything will be OK once you do get there.

For example, Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes has created numerous blog posts and vlogs about her experience in college thus far, and I read/watched each and every one of the ones that were published prior to my move to college. They felt… comforting.

She not only attends a different school, but is not even from the same country! And yet that didn’t matter. I think that while the specific details may be different from school to school, in the end the feelings are the same. Everyone worries about getting lost on campus on the first day of class. Everyone wonders how they’re going to find the motivation to do homework for that one boring class. Et cetera.

So, yeah. That’s why I write all these posts about college. That’s the whole point of both my monthly class updates and my posts about college life. That’s why I tell you what kind of assignments I’ve been working on lately, what my friends and I did last weekend, what I read for school the other day. That’s why I occasionally write posts with advice for college students, such as How To Blog In College. (The sequel – about how to find time to read, especially for fun, in college – will be published sometime next fall. I hope.)

College is a big change from high school. There’s no denying that. It shouldn’t be as nerve-wracking as it is, though, and while I can’t change the soul-crushing tuition debt or the extremely small acceptance rate of whatever school you have your heart set on, there is one thing I can change. I can help to offset some of the anxiety concerning your day-to-day life in college.

It reminds me of something I said in an earlier post, a post from last June’s series of Pride posts: At some point, I’m not just writing this blog for myself. I mean, yeah, it’s a great way to sort out my thoughts, and writing helps me to relax, but… I want to help people. I like helping people. I have a lot of online friends and I especially want to help them in some way. I hope that someone, somewhere, finds one or two (or more!) of my college posts and reads what someone who is only a few years older than them has to say about college and feels their worries lessen.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Blog About College

  1. I always LOVE reading your posts about college (and I’m in a different country than you, too! :P). But even colleges in different countries do have some similarities, so I agree that such posts are still really helpful.

    Well, I also just love, for some weird reason or another, learning about other people’s uni courses.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Aaaaa thanks it’s so lovely to hear that! 😀

      And SAME. I love hearing what school is like for other people, it’s fascinating how something totally normal to one person is utterly bizarre, even unheard of, for another.

  2. Heather says:

    Mm, I know what you mean. I totally didn’t want to go to college for a really long time because I thought it would suck… I don’t think anything anyone could tell me would have helped, but I get you when you talk about doing the thing making the thing okay. And I think that’s a great reason to share your experiences—hopefully it will help some others. 🙂

  3. I think for sure that the anticipation is always the worst – I LOVED high school and I had no idea how I was going to cope without all my friends/teachers/etc. But I guess when you have to do something it just happens and it’s easier than you expect. But yep, so comforting reading about other people’s experiences, even, as you say, when they’re on the opposite side of the world.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

