Thoughts On The 2016 Indiana Primary

So, I hate Indiana. I mean, it’s a pretty state, and most of my family lives there, and most of my memories are of things that happened there. But… gah. We’re just not a great state?

It’s a terrible place to live if you’re a woman or LGBTQ+, and I’m both, so living in Indiana was just one cringe-y moment after another. Also, if I remember correctly we have one of the highest infant mortality rates out of all fifty state, and our school system isn’t that great either. The governor keeps using tax money to build fancy new projects around Indianapolis – the capital – instead of spreading it out more evenly to, I don’t know, fix the pothole-ridden roads upstate?

(I am from upstate. This is kind of a sore spot. I miss driving, but I definitely do not miss driving on Indiana roads.)

Basically, I’m glad that I don’t live there now, and I hope to never have to live there as an adult. At least not until they get their act together.

Anyway, the reason I’m telling you all this is that I am perpetually disappointed by Indiana. Now that I don’t live there, I don’t think about my home state very much, but every so often some horrible piece of news floats my way. Anti-choice laws, anti-LGBTQ+ legislation, et cetera. I almost said that I make sure to set my expectations low, but I just realized that I literally just expect Indiana to be horrible all the time now.

And tonight, well, tonight my home state surprised me. Indianans Hoosiers voted today. I didn’t vote in the primary, obviously, since I changed my voting registration so that I could caucus in Iowa, but I was still super excited. I’ve been looking forward to this day for months because I was curious to see how the election results would turn out.

The percentage of registered voters was probably abysmal as usual – one recent year it was as low as 13%, if I remember correctly – but! WE DID A THING. Bernie won Indiana. I spent the entire day walking around thinking, “Make me proud, Indiana,” all the while not really believing a word I was saying. I mean, Indiana is pretty conservative and Hillary has been doing quite well in conservative states. AHHH I’M SO HAPPY AND PROUD OF MY STATE RIGHT NOW JUST GIVE ME A MINUTE TO PROCESS THIS.

…but what about the Republican primary, you say? Um, yeah. That. We – actually, I’m going to say “they” here, because I don’t even want to associate myself with these people – voted overwhelmingly for the Donald.

Excuse me while I fling myself into the sun.

BUT IT GETS BETTER! They did vote for Trump, but also caused the zodiac killer Ted Cruz to drop out. Cruz terrifies me more than Trump, but on the other hand… there are so many good memes about him. I shall miss those.

I can’t think of a suitably coherent way to end this post, so I will just say this: What even is this election? I can’t believe I just wrote about the zodiac killer and memes in complete seriousness.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts On The 2016 Indiana Primary

  1. Other countries must think the US is such a joke right now, considering who’s running for president. I’m rather ashamed.

  2. He’s either the Zodiac Killer or a potato dressed up in people clothes.And yeah, I’m headed to France this summer and I feel like we’ve got some ‘splainin to do.

  3. I can’t even with this presidential race.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

