Free Comic Book Day 2016

Today was Free Comic Book Day! I’m fortunate to live less than a minute’s walk away from Iowa City’s comic book shop, Daydreams Comics, so I headed over there this afternoon and picked out the allotted number of four comics. I haven’t had the chance to read any of them yet, but I thought I’d tell you what I picked up today.

P.S. Here is a list of all the comics offered during FCBD.

1. Captain America #1 FCBD 2016 Edition

OBVIOUSLY. I saw Civil War yesterday (and hope to post a review soon…) so I currently feel even more excited about Cap than I usually do. I haven’t actually read very many Captain America comics lately – I’ve been reading Hawkeye and also a lot of DC stuff such as Wonder Woman and Batwoman – so I’m looking forward to getting back into his stories.

Also, I bonded with another girl in Daydreams because we both freaked out when we saw the ad for Ta-Nehisi Coates’ upcoming Black Panther series. I don’t wait to wait until September… after Civil War I’m INCREDIBLY excited for the new comics as well as his 2018 movie. I wish there had been a Black Panther FCBD volume!

2. Star Wars Free Previews

This one doesn’t appear to be on the official list of FCBD issues, but it says “Free Comic Book Day” on it and was in the section of the store with all the other FCBD comics, so I don’t even know what’s up with that.

ANYWAY. I read a Star War comic book late last year, after seeing The Force Awakens. And I loved it! The art style is really nice. Also, I’m excited to read more stories about Leia because she is THE BEST.

3. Suicide Squad #1 FCBD 2016 Edition

This will be a little different from what I’m used to, since I’ve never read about the Suicide Squad before! I’ve never even read about Harley Quinn or Poison Ivy, either. I want to pick up a few comics about them, though, before August – that’s when the movie comes out!

4.Doctor Who: Four Doctors Special FCBD Edition

I’m SO happy this includes Nine, because last year’s FCBD issue was about only the three most recent Doctors. I have no idea which companions are in which stories, so this should be interesting. I’m curious to see what each story is about, since there are four mini-stories crammed into so few pages.

-~-

Did you attend a Free Comic Book Day event today? What comics did you pick up?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Comic Book Day 2016

  1. Woah, that’s so cool! I didn’t know that this day happened, but next year I shall be ready. 😀
    I hope you enjoy the comics, especially the doctor who volume. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

