The Spring Book Tag

Today I’m doing another tag that’s all about books and spring! I got this one from Lizzy @ My Little Book Blog.

Enjoy!

if i was your girlWhat’s your spring TBR?

Some of the books I plan to read include:

  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
  • Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
  • Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan
  • Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel
  • The Essential Dykes to Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel
  • Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith
  • Gay & Lesbian History for Kids by Jerome Pohlen

If someone asked you for a spring release recommendation, what book would it be?

I really enjoyed Desolation by Derek Landy, the sequel to Demon Road! My goodness, that man writes like the wind… the third and final book will be published late this summer. WITHIN LESS THAN A YEAR OF THE FIRST ONE. WHAT EVEN.

Anyway. Desolation. You should read it.

Which two books are you eagerly awaiting that release within the next two months?

the hidden oracleAhhh, I’m going to cheat here and say that I’m excited for The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. Both were published a few weeks ago but I haven’t had a chance to read either. I should have some free time after I move into my new dorm room this weekend, though, since summer classes don’t begin until Tuesday. SO MANY BOOKS, SO LITTLE TIME.

Which character would make a great Easter bunny?

SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT. From the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy. Valkyrie would make him be the Easter bunny. She’d say that her little sister would be sad if the Easter bunny didn’t stop by and leave some eggs, or something.

What book makes you think of spring?

I know I mentioned it in the other spring-themed book tag I posted recently, but I really really really love The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I took it outside to read once and accidentally left my copy there for several months.

Reminiscing about it makes me want to reread it now. I need to reread a lot of books from my childhood.

blue lily lily blueName a cover with flowers on it.

Aaaaand I mentioned this in the earlier tag as well, but I’m gonna say it again because I love it so much: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. THAT COVER. IT IS GORGEOUS.

Which two characters would you want to go on an Easter egg hunt with?

I think Blue and Ronan from the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater would be a hilarious combination. Blue is super sweet and would probably get all excited about it, and I think Ronan would too, but pretend that he doesn’t care. Because he’s Ronan.

What is your favorite bookish spring activity to do?

I love reading outside! Also, I’ve really been enjoying my walk to the library (and the local bookstores!) lately. It’s been warm enough to wear short sleeves most days, and the grass and trees and flowers are gorgeous because of all the rain we’ve been getting.

adaptationWhich book did you enjoy that had a spring-ish cover?

Adaptation by Malinda Lo, since its cover is partially green. Also, I read it in May a few years ago and since I have an oddly good memory for that sort of thing, I tend to associate books with the seasons during which I read them.

Which always makes me really confused if I read, like, a fluffy, summery contemporary YA novel during the winter. OH WELL.

Who is your favorite contemporary author?

I don’t see how this is at all related to spring, but it would have to be E. Lockhart. I found her books in either late middle school or early high school – I can’t remember exactly when, you see – and have read almost all of them.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

How are you enjoying spring so far? Have you read any good books lately? What spring releases are you looking forward to? And are you excited for SUMMER and the end of school?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Spring Book Tag

  1. Yay, more spring tags! Thanks for the tag. Spring + books are two of the greatest things, in my opinion. Oooh, I got TRK the other day- it’s so, so good, I hope you love it! The Hidden Oracle looks pretty good, even though Riordan seems to be on overflow mode for writing MG & YA books…

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    Ronan and Blue have such an excellent friendship. They’re my total brotp in TRK tbh. (They literally use the word ‘bro’ when talking to each other, I am weak)

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    I know I keep saying “I need to read something by Derek Landy,” but SERIOUSLY, the more you talk about it the more I realize that I really really need to read something by him. More specifically all the things, because Demon Road and Skullduggery Pleasant both look hilarious and awesome.

    Also, I’m so doing this tag.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

