Call For Suggestions For 2016 Pride Posts!

Hey, everyone! This is just a quick post to A) let you know that I’m doing a month’s worth of Pride posts again this June and B) ask for some feedback. Basically, I’m going to list some of the things I want to write about and then ask which of those ideas you would be most interested in. I already have some posts written and scheduled but I can always change the schedule or edit the posts as needed, so… without further ado, let’s get started.

I guess I’ll begin by saying that I really, really want to catch up on my Reading The Rainbow posts. I haven’t reviewed any books in so long and it’s really been bothering me because I feel like I’ve fallen behind so far that I’ll never catch up and I don’t like that. I think most of the reviews would be YA, but some may be about adult books?

I’d never seen any LGBTQ+ movies until last June, and even then I forgot to write about it, so I would like to write some posts about that as well. I want to talk about LGBTQ+ stories in other mediums, basically, because I talk about books all the time here (even if I don’t always do formal reviews) but it’s not every day that I talk about movies, TV, et cetera.

I would like to do a tag or two, and my only problem is that I don’t know of any LGBTQ+ themed tags. I mean, I did the only LGBTQ+ tag that I know of last June, so… blehhh. My tag posts tend to be some of the most popular, and I want to write posts that I know people will like – that’s the whole point of writing this post and asking what people are most interested in seeing next month – so if you know of any, PLEASE let me know in the comments!

I’m also thinking about writing some posts about music, if anyone is interested in that. LGBTQ+ musicians, for instance?

LISTS! Lists are a thing. I love them. There will probably be a lot of overlap with some of the other types of posts mentioned here, such as “10 reasons you should read this book” and whatnot.

In terms of more serious posts, I have ideas for some personal posts, as well as stuff about current events. (Although some of that will be on an “as needed” basis, of course.)

I also want to write some advice-type posts, because I’ve been asked to do so in the past and the few times when I have written posts like that before, people seemed to enjoy them. SO if you need advice, feel free to leave your questions in the comments below and I’ll see if I can answer them next month!

(If you don’t feel comfortable leaving your answers there and want a little more anonymity, you can send me a message through my contact page. I’ll still see your name, of course, but no one else will, and I’ll make sure not to include it in my advice to you.)

The reason this comes after “personal posts” in my list is that I think some of the advice may end up being tied to stuff that I know from personal experience, et cetera. But we’ll just have to play that by ear, because if you’re tired of hearing about MEEEE, I’ll see if I can figure something else out.

Anyway, that’s all I have for you today. It would be greatly appreciated if you listed the top three types of posts you would most like to see, as well as any suggestions or recommendations that you have! (Such as a book you’d like me to read and review, or something that’s been in the news lately, or a list about a particular subject.)

Thank you so much, and enjoy the rest of your May! I’ll see you in just a few days with a ton of Pride posts… I plan to use the rest of this long weekend to work ahead on my schoolwork and, hopefully, write a bunch of blog posts.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Call For Suggestions For 2016 Pride Posts!

  1. Elm says:

    Books, personal posts and advice posts 🙂
    Why don’t you make an LGBTQ+ tag of your own?

  2. Heather says:

    I was not around last year so I don’t really know what you have or haven’t talked about, but I would enjoy to see list posts, advice posts, and definitely book tags! I agree with Elm—making your own tag would be a fun idea!

  3. This is an awesome idea, and I’m really looking forward to reading what you post. Sadly I don’t have any ideas/suggestions atm but if I do I’ll be sure to let you know! 🙂

  4. Mahima says:

    I’m excited! I learnt so much last year. One thing I’m really interested in (but I don’t expect you to do a post on this Engie if you don’t want to because I think it’s equally as not in your area of expertise as it isn’t in mine – LAWD DID THAT MAKE ANY SENSE) is the Muslim LGBT community. I know there is one (because Tumblr, and the news) but I know so little about it, and the little that I do know is shaped in such a blatantly crass manner that I couldn’t bring myself to investigate it (e.g. there was a short documentary on Muslim Drag Queens which might have been enlightening had it not been for the obvious “see look, here’s a terrorist who wears makeup and slays at the local club” vibe it had going for it – I wanted actual education not propaganda pretending to be education). Or I know of the tons of angry ex-Muslim LGBT people who hate on Islam’s homophobicness – when I KNOW for sure that there do exist actual Muslim LGBT communities who embrace both their faith and their sexuality.
    I mean I’ll have you know the mainstream interpretation of Islam is kind of very homophobic (and super sexist, I read something on a pretty popular site and it said that the reason Muslim men apparently aren’t allowed to wear gold is because, unlike women, Muslim men are created perfect and don’t need gold…really? I want to smash my head on a table repeatedly).
    Looking forward to this series of Pride posts! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahhh, I’ll have to see what I can do! Maybe I could read and review a book or two about LGBTQ+ Muslims, or find someone to interview since it’s not something I have a lot of expertise in? Thank you SO MUCH for bringing this up, btw – it’s really important to me to keep learning and growing and figure out how to better support marginalized groups, and tbh I don’t often think about LGBTQ+ Muslims because… I’m not Muslim. So I appreciate people being like, “Hey, this is a Thing you should think about” or “Could you write a post about _____?” Because it keeps me accountable, you know? 😀

      Also, the sentence “see look, here’s a terrorist who wears makeup and slays at the local club” IS rather unfortunate, but… wow, that also made me laugh. What even. It raises a very good point, though, which is that there’s a lot of sensationalism surrounding intersectional communities such as this one, as though being Muslim and LGBTQ+ is so outlandish.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

