Bookish LGBTQ+ Resources

It’s time for another post about, you guessed it, books. What can I say? I’m gay. I’m a bookworm. Hence, there will always be an abundance of posts about LGBTQ+ books on this blog.

Today’s post is a list of recommendations for all you gay (and lesbian, and bi, and trans, and queer, and so on and so forth) bookworms. I hoard bookish/fandom-y LGBTQ+ resources like dragons hoard gold, and it’s only fair that I should share some of the treasure that I’ve found with you.

1. LGBTQ Reads

LGBTQ Reads is a relatively new site, but I’ve already fallen head over heels in love with it. It’s run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler, who is AMAZING and basically one of my writerly role models. Like, I haven’t even read any of her books yet – I really need to – but she’s just so passionate and knowledgeable about reading and writing and, more specifically, reading and writing LGBTQ+ stories, and I love her for it. You should follow her on Twitter and on Goodreads and on her blog.

Anyway, LGBTQ Reads has so much to offer: Recommendations, alerts about upcoming books, lists of little-known LGBTQ+ books (“Under the Gaydar”), guest posts by other authors, and more. I LOVE IT. SO MUCH. PLEASE GO CHECK IT OUT AND LEAVE DAHLIA ADLER A LOVELY COMMENT OR TWO BECAUSE SHE IS THE BEST AND WORKS SO HARD.

2. GayYA

Don’t let the title deceive you: This blog posts content concerning all the identities in the LGBTQ+ acronym. Lots of reviews, guest posts, author interviews, cover reveals, et cetera. The first time I stumbled across it – last summer, I think – I spent like four hours browsing it. My TBR list grew exponentially. So many books, so little time.

3. The Lesbrary

New life #goal: BECOME A LESBRARIAN. This blog is devoted pretty much exclusively to reviews of, yep, books by and about and for lesbians. The blogroll in the sidebar is extensive. I can’t say enough good things about this blog – it’s a GREAT source for books that would otherwise fly under the radar due to being written by first-time authors, self-published authors, et cetera.

The blogger behind The Lesbrary also runs a tumblr called Fuck Yeah Lesbian Literature, which I also highly recommend. The endless vintage lesbian novel covers alone make your visit worth it.

4. Bisexual Books

This is a tumblr that both posts original content and reblogs others’ posts concerning bisexual characters. There are reviews, recommendations, and thoughtful essays about the plight and future of bisexual books, as well as more general posts about depictions of bisexuality in the media as a whole.

-~-

I hope those links are enough to get you started exploring the world of LGBTQ+ literature! I am not currently aware of any resources aimed specifically at trans people, pansexual people, et cetera but that’s actually another reason I wrote this post: I want to hear all about the websites you have discovered!

If you do know of any, please leave the links and a description of what the website is about in the comments below! I limited my list to blogs that deal strictly with LGBTQ+ lit – which is why Diversity in YA and We Need Diverse Books didn’t make the cut – so it would be helpful if you kept that in mind when recommending websites. Thanks!

Happy reading!

P.S. I apologize for all the late-night posts as of late. I’ve had a lot of homework and have been careful to make sure it’s all done before I venture into the depths of the Internet. Maybe I could start taking midday blogging breaks, though? I’ve been napping or taking walks or petting cats during my study breaks lately, but I could try blogging instead.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bookish LGBTQ+ Resources

  1. Awesome! I’ll be checking out all of these resources. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

