An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup: #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend, “Save Sarah,” LGBTQ+ Movies On Netflix, & More

Last June, I posted a few link roundups consisting of things I’d read lately and thought others might find interesting… I rather liked doing that, so that’s what you’ll be getting in today’s post. I can’t foresee posting any more than two of these posts total this month, if even that, but since I did like this format I thought I’d try it again.

Here is a list of LGBTQ+ fairytale movies and books in response to the lack of diversity from Disney and Pixar.

Laverne Cox wants LGBTQ+ people to be counted in the US census. I still haven’t decided how I feel about this, and I need to read more about the issue because I’m not educated enough to have an opinion yet, but it’s definitely something to think about!

I’ve been following the Save Sarah campaign this past week or so because AHHH IT MADE ME SO ANXIOUS AND SAD. Basically, if you weren’t aware of it, this was an effort to get a seventeen-year-old girl released from a conversion therapy camp. She was finally released yesterday, but it breaks my heart that things like this still happen. Marriage equality wasn’t the end of the fight – we need nationwide laws banning conversion therapy, and so much more.

The Washington Post published a surprisingly helpful list of ways to be a better and more effective straight ally to LGBTQ+ people.

After #GiveElsaAGirlfriend trended on Twitter, #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend began trending as well. I LOVE MY SMALL BISEXUAL AS HELL SUPERHERO SON.

This is a hilariously sarcastic article rebutting #StopGayingAllTheThings, which began trending after… you guessed it, after people tweeted about wanting Elsa and Cap to be queer. I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO SAY IN RESPONSE TO THAT HASHTAG. I consumed only heterosexual media as a child and look at me: Gay as hell.

Jazz Jennings wrote an autobiography as a follow-up to the picture book she published in 2014 and… I am feeling very unproductive right now. SHE’S FIFTEEN AND HAS ALREADY BEEN PUBLISHED WHAT HAVE I EVEN DONE WITH MY LIFE.

Here is a list of LGBTQ+ movies and TV shows that are available to stream on Netflix! (Well, there goes my free time.) I don’t agree with everything on that list – I don’t think The 100 and The Kids are Alright are stellar examples of LGBTQ+ media – but it’s certainly a decent place to start, especially if you’re looking for some lesser-known works.

I’ll let this headline speak for itself: Are Pride Parade’s Corporate Ties Undermining Its Original Queer Activist Message?

Barack Obama hosted his eighth and final White House Pride reception, and lately I’ve been thinking about how very different Pride may be depending on what happens during the presidential election this November. I don’t have much faith in Hillary Clinton’s lackluster allyship, but at least I feel that her presidency wouldn’t result in so many people losing their hard-won rights. I’m super nervous about the idea of a Republican in the White House!

Happy reading!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup: #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend, “Save Sarah,” LGBTQ+ Movies On Netflix, & More

  1. Heather says:

    These are great resources! I appreciate the Washington Post article since it applies to my own behavior best, probably, but I also love the Twitter articles because they tend to be either awesome or derisive and those are my two favorite things to be. Thanks for the helpful reading material! 🙂

  2. Great links! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup: Cards For Orlando, Gay Dads, Iowa City Pride, & More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

