Update On #ReadProud

This is just a quick post to let you know that my plans regarding #ReadProud have changed. Due to a variety of things – my lit class wrapping up, doing homework for my journalism class, dealing with my feelings about the shooting this weekend, et cetera – I fell behind.

I told myself that I would aim for the Silver challenge, reading one LGBTQ+ book per week instead of two. But… week three has already begun, and I’m half a book behind. I still haven’t finished Gay & Lesbian History for Kids by Jerome Pohlen, which was my choice for week two.

And I thought about dropping out of the challenge entirely, because falling behind and failing to post reviews of the books I chose in a timely manner disqualifies me from entering the gift card drawing. But you know what? I’m not going to. I like the feeling of setting goals and having expectations for myself in terms of things I want to get done, and god knows how much I need that in the summer when my schedule is looser and I don’t have as many commitments to ensure that I’m productive.

Plus, my TBR is huge. I can never stop tackling it because I can never seem to stop adding to it. And I think it would be helpful for me to escape into books right now, because I need escapism. I need to immerse myself in a fictional world and read some happy LGBTQ+ stories, because recent events have left me feeling anxious and scared. In retrospect, I read Gay & Lesbian History for Kids at exactly the time when I most needed it, because I’ve been reading so much about all our past struggles – and how we never stopped fighting.

I’m kind of annoyed at myself for falling behind, but I’m going to try to make the most of it. I’ve enjoyed talking to other people about what they’re reading for #ReadProud, and I like the motivation to keep reading and reviewing. (I’m always behind on my reviews, but I wanna do something about that this month because I’d like to write some Reading The Rainbow reviews.) Not everything has gone to plan, and that’s OK. I’m not going to stress myself out even further by rushing to keep up with the challenge, but I will curl up in bed with all my super gay books and enjoy reading at my own pace… and hopefully get around to writing at least some of those reviews!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update On #ReadProud

  1. ugh falling behind is the worst. But the book sounds interesting, hope you’re able to catch up! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Pingback: Summer 2016 Bucket List | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

