Call For LGBTQ+ Music Recommendations!

Hey, everyone! I’m working on a few different projects at the moment, and I would love your input. This is your chance to contribute to not just one but several of my posts! The projects are related to LGBTQ+ musicians so I thought I should, as Donald Trump would say, #AskTheGays.

The first project involves making a list of LGBTQ+ musicians – likely not an exhaustive list, because that’s beyond the scope of this blog at the moment. But a decently long list. The reason I need your help is that there are so many genres out there that I’m just not always sure where to start looking?

If there is someone you think I should include – particularly a lesser-known artist, because I’ll have probably thought of the big names just as you did – let me know in the comments! With your permission, I’ll be using the sentences / paragraphs / however much you choose to write about whomever it is that you recommend in my future post!

The second thing I need help with is… I’m making a playlist! Or two or three! This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, and I’ve finally decided to dive right in this summer and make some to post on this blog. But once again, I need your suggestions regarding themes!

I think I’d like to make a summery LGBTQ+ playlist, and would like to know how much interest there is in that. Furthermore, if you have suggestions for other playlists, no matter how narrowly focused the theme, let me know! I’d also like to know whether you want the songs to be explicitly about being LGBTQ+, or just by LGBTQ+ artists… because choosing the latter means that I have more options in terms of what to include.

I’ve found myself revisiting some of my favorite happy LGBTQ+ songs these past few days to raise my spirits, for instance, and it’s made me think about how important music is and always has been to our community.

Thanks in advance!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Call For LGBTQ+ Music Recommendations!

  1. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

