3 LGBTQ+ Movies I Want To Watch This Summer

I should clarify: This is not a list of LGBTQ+ movies that will be released sometime this summer. I’m not aware of any that are coming out (pun totally intended) this season, although it’s possible that I’m forgetting something – and, of course, feel free to recommend some to me if there are upcoming LGBTQ+ movies I should know about!

Instead, this is just a list of some movies that are available on Netflix, or that the public library has on DVD. I want to spend a lazy weekend day doing nothing but reading and watching, or to have some friends over to watch movies. So here’s what I’m looking forward to!

1. The Girl King

I posted about this movie last June back when it hadn’t yet been released! I’m super excited for this one because it’s based on a true story and I love love love VINTAGE GAYS. I’ve heard conflicting things about this movie, namely that it wasn’t as historically accurate as people wanted it to be, but… there are so few historical LGBTQ+ movies and as long as they’re happy, I’ll take what I can get.

2. The Way He Looks

My best friend here LOVES this movie. It’s about two boys in high school and YAY FOR INTERSECTIONAL DIVERSITY: It’s set in Brazil and one of the characters is blind! It looks like the absolute fluffiest movie ever and… gah, just go watch that trailer. LGBTQ+ women aren’t the only ones who have it hard when it comes to media – I’m not aware of many movies where gay guys get happy endings, either, so I’m excited to watch this one. I’ve been trying to avoid the sadder stuff…

3. Pride

I’ve been meaning to watch this for AGES. It’s billed as a historical comedy and I’m just… that’s so amazing? Also, if you know of any great LGBTQ+ movies (or shows, but I’m more interested in movies at the moment) that are set in the UK, you should let me know. I wouldn’t say that I’m tired of reading and watching LGBTQ+ stories set in the US, mainly because there still aren’t enough for one to conceivably be tired of them, but I do enjoy stories that are set in another country because the LGBTQ+ culture in each and every place is so different.

-~-

You can expect to see reviews of these three movies on Musings From Neville’s Navel sometime this summer or fall! What LGBTQ+ movies are on your to-watch list?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3 LGBTQ+ Movies I Want To Watch This Summer

  1. I wanted to watch Pride back when it came out, but I had completely forgotten about it! The other two look great as well 🙂

  2. The Girl King is on my list on Netflix, are the other ones on Netflix too?
    Will you be doing reviews of the movies?

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    Pride is so great, I’ve watched it at least four times. Steph in particular is #goals. I like it because it’s gay but I also like it because I grew up in a household where if anything goes wrong politically it’s Thatcher’s fault, so I identified with it a fair bit. Blame Thatcher for everything. Including Brexit. Probably. (Well, sometimes we blame Blair. And when it’s education we blame Gove even though he’s not Education Minister anymore. BUT mostly we blame Thatcher.)

  4. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

