Iowa City Pride 2016

2016 iowa city prideThings I did today at my first ever Pride:

  1. Watched the parade
  2. Got my face painted
  3. Ate so much free food
  4. Saw so many people I know
  5. Made a lot of jokes about the gay agenda and gal pals
  6. Got separated from my friends in the crowd more than once
  7. Lamented that I was too short to be able to spot my friends in the crowd
  8. Took very few pictures because my phone’s battery died almost immediately
  9. Bought a ginormous Pride flag, which I have wanted to do for ages
  10. Lent a friend money because she wanted a flag too and I couldn’t say no
  11. Wanted to buy ALL OF THE RAINBOWY THINGS
  12. Counted at least six people wearing Pride flags as capes
  13. Pet a lot of dogs
  14. Saw cute girls with undercuts and was too shy to go up and talk to them
  15. Became incredibly sticky from eating cotton candy
  16. Saw the drag queen version of Elsa
  17. Saw a lot of adorable couples and wished I had that for myself
  18. Got a sunburn
  19. Gave myself blisters
  20. Saw a lot of signs commemorating Orlando
  21. Marveled at how gay Iowa City is
  22. Smiled at everyone decked out in rainbows, from little kids to people four times my age
  23. Laughed for no real reason at all
  24. Cried because A) I was so happy to finally go to Pride and B) I was tired
  25. Wished that Pride could last forever
About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Iowa City Pride 2016

  1. Yay! So glad you went to Pride! I’m hoping to go this year, it will be my first time if I do. 🙂

  2. Sylveon says:

    Pride is really fun! I’m currently living off everyone else’s stories of their fun times at Pride, since I live in Atlanta and Pride here isn’t till October. (I just bought a rainbow flag off the internet, though. it’s as tall as me)

  3. I’d love to someday go to Pride! Sounds like you had a great time!

  4. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: Summer 2016 Bucket List | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: 20 Things I Did In 2016 That I’d Never Done Before | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

