Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2016 – Alison Bechdel, Troye Sivan, & The Value Of Creative Work

Hello, everyone! Today is the first day of summer! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from March twentieth through June nineteenth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Spring

fun home - signed copyTaken in early April in my dorm room

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Spring

“For as long as I could remember, I had been apologizing for existing, for trying to be who I was, to live the life I was meant to lead.”

– If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

I have mixed feelings about this book – I really enjoyed it up until the last few chapters – but this is an excellent sentence and something I really need to keep in mind as a young LGBTQ+ person.

This Spring In One Word

Difficult.

Most Popular Review This Spring

I reviewed If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo as part of #ReadProud! It’s a YA contemporary romance about a trans girl living in the American south.

Top Two Books I Read This Spring

  1. I adored Desolation, the sequel to Demon Road by Derek Landy. I can’t wait for American Monsters, the final book in the series!
  2. Marbles by Ellen Forney is a graphic novel memoir about the author’s struggles with bipolar disorder. It was really well written and I loved the art style!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Summer

  1. I made a bucket list of things I want to do this summer and I’m so excited to complete everything on it!
  2. My last two summer courses, which start in a week, are about Shakespeare and acting. I only recently realized that I scheduled both for the same six-week session. That’s a perfect combination and I can’t wait to get started!

Three New Obsessions This Spring

  1. Some of my friends introduced me to Troye Sivan’s music! I’d heard about him, of course, because it’s kind of hard to be a Halsey fan (see below) and NOT know who Troye is, but I just hadn’t gotten around to listening to his songs. I love his Blue Neighbourhood trilogy!
  2. My Gothic lit professor recommended Librivox, a free audiobook app, on the first day of class… and now I’m here to recommend it to you! It’s only for books whose copyright has expired, so it has mostly classics and it really helps when you’re struggling to get through those long, complicated, often confusing old books.
  3. I finally made an account on Snapchat after MONTHS of my friends pestering me to do so. SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN FILTERS TO ME. I AM STRUGGLING.

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Spring

  1. I’m very pleased – and not at all surprised – that my most popular post this season was No More Dead Lesbians. The Bury Your Gays trope is despicable and I’m glad people are raising awareness about it.
  2. #GiveElsaAGirlfriend | Let’s Talk About Single Characters, Diversity, & Making Excuses was a monstrously long post in which I talked about how frustrated I am when straight women say that making female characters LGBTQ+ is “unfeminist.”
  3. #PulseShooting was a very sad but important post, and I’m glad I wrote it.
  4. I had a lot of fun at my school’s Alternative Prom a few months ago so I recapped it for everyone!
  5. I’m really confused as to why An Important Announcement was one of my most popular posts because… it was a short April Fools’ Day post, peoples. Oh well.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Spring

  1. Camryn Garrett @ For All The Girls Who Are Half Monster wrote a BRILLIANT post titled Exposure Isn’t Enough, Fam about why websites should pay their contributors for their writing. As someone who has been told more times than I can count by family and friends alike that I should work for free if I ever expect to get anywhere in the writing world, this post really rang true.
  2. On a related note, Topaz Winters @ Six Impossible Things wrote the beautiful post Art Has Value because creative work is REAL WORK. Kind words aren’t enough; we deserve to be paid because we need to eat and have a place to sleep just like everyone else.
  3. I loved I Don’t Care If You Wanted To Be A Writer As A Kid by Heather @ Sometimes I’m A Story because YESSS. Like, if you’ve been writing ever since you were really young then I’m happy that you found a hobby that you love, but… it doesn’t make you special? It doesn’t automatically make you a better writer than everyone else. (Wow, so many of my favorites this spring were writing-related!)
  4. Mawa Mahima @ The Controversies wrote a FANTASTIC post titled Sit On The Fence | London Has Fallen about the fact that media others certain groups of people, and how it feels when the Other is people like you.
  5. Emily @ Loony Literate wrote a wonderful post, Has J.K. Rowling Lost Her Magic?, and I have to say: Yes. I don’t want to be THAT PERSON – you know, the one who says that they were doing something before it was cool – but I started to become disenchanted with her a few years ago and since then I’ve noticed that a lot of other people I know have too.

Five Things That Happened This Spring

  1. I made the dean’s list again and I’m super happy about that!
  2. I took a three-credit-hour lit course – which would normally be spread out over an entire semester – in one month, and it was possibly one of the most exhausting things I’ve ever done. But definitely worth it.
  3. Alison Bechdel gave a guest lecture in my town and I went to my first ever book signing, where she signed my copy of Fun Home. I’m still in awe.
  4. I participated in #AuthorAThon, my first readathon! I also joined in on the fun that is the #ReadProud challenge.
  5. My Wonder Woman professor asked me to take on a BIG WRITING PROJECT with her and I can’t wait to tell you all about it soon!

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Spring

1. “Talk Me Down” – Troye Sivan

As much I want to pretend that I don’t play favorites, it would be lying if I said I didn’t have a favorite song from this trilogy. This has been on repeat for the past few months! Love the music video, love the sound, love the lyrics. GO LISTEN.

2. “The Time To Run” – Dexter Britain

This was used in one of the trailers for Carol, and I love it so much! I listen to it a lot while I write. It’s the perfect instrumental piece for when you want to feel happy and energized.

3. “Roman Holiday” – Halsey

So I just looked through my past quarterly rewinds because I thought I remembered including some of Halsey’s other songs… and yeah, I have before. I have no shame, though. This is my new favorite, but I love them all. I wonder which song I’ll be obsessed by the time the next quarterly rewind rolls around?

4. “This Is My World” (Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice) – Hans Zimmer

I have mixed feelings about the actual movie but the film score was so good! I knew it would be, because Hans Zimmer is basically a god. This is one of my favorite tracks from the movie, featuring a motif from Man of Steel that I adored.

5. “Wildest Dreams” – Taylor Swift

I’m not a huge fan of this music video because it’s just like… Taylor, you do realize there are more than just white people in Africa, right? But I love this song. I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

6. “A Tale” (Pan’s Labyrinth) – Javier Navarrete

We watched this movie during our magical realism unit in my Intro to the Short Story class, and I adored it. The film score is so dreamlike and beautiful… I think I’m in love.

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this spring? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2016 – Alison Bechdel, Troye Sivan, & The Value Of Creative Work

  1. Love the ideas you have on your bucket list! I was thinking of doing something similar but just haven’t gotten around to it yet lol.
    Ooh I used to use Librivox all the time but forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. Mahima says:

    Talk Me Down is so sad! Troye Sivan’s music is beautiful in that hipster way I think (and it’s so different to his quirky personality!).
    I can’t wait to go to an author signing for the first time – it must feel so special to attend one (and Fun Home sounds so good).
    And thank you so much Engie for the praise for Sit on the Fence! I’m glad you liked it so much, and it’s very motivating to know that you think it’s fantastic-all-caps! 😀

  3. Hi! Just wanted to let you know the “Has J.K. Rowling Lost Her Magic?” link leads to “Sit on the Fence| London Has Fallen”. It’s a great (and super necessary) post but I want to read the other one too. 😛

    Congrats on making the dean’s list! And joining the Troye Sivan bandwagon. It’s a pleasant bandwagon to be on.

  4. Heather says:

    I seriously just need to read Derek Landy’s books. Which I can’t presently due to my current reading challenge, but it’s getting to the point that I need to just know what everyone is talking about. Of your posts, I think the one responding to #GiveElsaaGirlfriend made some good points and was super interesting, although that may just be because I will always like talking about Disney first. I also loved what Topaz and Emily had to say respectively about Art and Rowling because I felt they were both so, so true. And thanks for sharing my post! 😀 I think it’s interesting that one caught your fancy—I actually lost a follower over that post. XDD Also, congrats on making the Dean’s list! *high fives*

  5. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

