Don We Now Our Gay Apparel

Me: I have a lot of free time today so I’m going to be productive!

Me: But what if you weren’t?

Me: What if you spent the evening distracted by cute gay shirts, instead of writing the Long Thinky Post that you planned?

Me: Sounds like a PlanTM.

Me: Also, you should blog about it.

mean lesbian shirt1. “Mean Lesbian” shirt ($22.95 from Zazzle)

I’M JUST? THIS IS THE MOST ME THING I’VE EVER SEEN? I’m always grumpy about ridiculous straight people something and so clearly I need this shirt. In a cheery yellow, to contrast my grumpy soul. My friends are always like, “No no no, you’re the sweetest, smallest, cutest lesbian and you have never been intimidating in the slightest,” which always makes me grumble. Like, yes, I’m super shy so I tend to be quiet, but I’m always cantankerous. It’s a very fulfilling pastime. GET YOUR HETERNORMATIVITY OFF MY LAWN.

too gay for indiana shirt2. “Too Gay For Indiana” shirt ($24.00 from Look Human)

One of my friends has this shirt and I love it so much! We actually became friends because I overheard him talking about what a shitty place Indiana is for LGBTQ+ people, soooo… yay for queer Hoosier solidarity! I’d much rather be here in Iowa where we’re actually somewhat treated like human beings.

nobody knows i'm a lesbian shirt3. “Nobody Knows I’m A Lesbian” hoodie ($28.80 from OpenSky)

This is such a cliched shirt, but honestly that just makes me want it even more. I follow a couple of LGBTQ+ Facebook pages that promote stuff like this pretty heavily so I’m always like HEART EYES. (I didn’t follow them for the shirts… I followed them for the memes. As one does.) There are a thousand and one variations on this design, but I really really want a hoodie because god knows I live in them each and every winter.

-~-

This is kind of a problem. If I spend all my money on cute gay shirts, how will I have enough money left to buy CUTE GAY BOOKS? #thestruggleisreal

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don We Now Our Gay Apparel

  1. Ooh that is a problem. Rob a bank and you’ll have plenty of money to buy both cute books AND shirts, but if you get caught you won’t be able to get either… This is tough. The shirts are adorable though you should get them all (sorry so not helping with your problem lol)

  2. Evi says:

    These are all such fantastic shirts! I wonder if they make one like that Indiana one for Georgia…because both are pretty not great places, tbh.

  3. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Heather says:

    XD These are great! I think my favorite is the first one, although your commentary below it may be skewing my perceptions just a little. (My best friend is a similarly small person and so she would sympathize if she were here. And maybe I should sympathize, too.) When you get the dough, you shall look fabulous in these!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

