An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup: Traveling, LGBTQ+ History In New York City, A Pride Month Reading List, & More

Hey, everyone! So, I know I said I would only post two link roundups, but… I lied. HERE IS ANOTHER ONE. I’ve read so many good LGBTQ+ things lately. Which isn’t at all surprising, because PRIDE MONTH.

Obama designated the Stonewall Inn as a national monument! I’m so happy about this, because there is a shameful lack of knowledge about LGBTQ+ history – to the point where even people in our community don’t know their own history because it’s simply not talked about.

On a similar note, the group NYC LGBT Historic Sites is doing their best to preserve New York City’s LGBTQ+ history. I love local history – it probably has something to do with all the hours I spent volunteering at the national park near my hometown, absorbing so many odd and obscure bits of knowledge – and honestly, if I weren’t majoring in English and journalism, I’d probably be studying history.

If you’d like to explore the LGBTQ+ genre and aren’t sure where to begin, this Pride month reading list is a good place to start! Many of the selections were Stonewall Book Award winners and nominees, which reminds me that I need to find out more about those awards because currently the only LGBTQ+ book awards I’m familiar with are the Lambda Literary Awards. I love learning about book awards!

This list of LGBTQ+-friendly places to visit was fascinating to read because each and every choice was unexpected! Like, Nashville? Santa Fe? My family is in New Mexico right now – say hi to the lesbians for me or, as the article says, the “lesbian entities.” WHAT EVEN IS A LESBIAN ENTITY? It sounds vaguely like an eldritch monster… perfect.

A Guide To Gay Summer Events Worth Traveling To? HECK YES. Not this year, unfortunately, but someday I’m going to meet up with a bunch of my online friends and we’ll embark upon the gayest road trip ever.

Brexit could change the state of LGBTQ+ rights. I’m still struggling to fully understand the effects of this decision because many of my friends from the UK are incredibly upset by it, but I’m doing my best to make sense of it.

What Happens When Gay People Are Told That Homosexuality Is A Sin? is an extremely long and difficult-to-read post, but please don’t let that dissuade you from reading it: It’s important that everyone realize the true consequences of this type of rhetoric. People who spew it have blood on their hands and we as a society need to stop pretending that saying “love the sinner, hate the sin” isn’t damaging and deadly.

Orlando exposed the backlash to the recent strides LGBTQ+ people have made towards equality. This is a GREAT article that I will likely end up referencing in tomorrow’s post about the one-year anniversary of marriage equality in the United States. This subject has been on my mind a lot… with everything from anti-LGBTQ+ legislation and the fight over trans bathroom rights to, now, Orlando, it’s easy to see the reaction to last summer’s SCOTUS ruling.

Stop Asking Me To Denounce Islam To Prove I Care About LGBT Rights is – well, it’s a brilliant article and since the title really says it all, I’m not going to say any more.

Happy reading!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An LGBTQ+ Link Roundup: Traveling, LGBTQ+ History In New York City, A Pride Month Reading List, & More

  1. Thanks for the links! A gay road trip sounds fabulous. 😀

  2. Evi says:

    This is a great list! “Lesbian entities” sounds to me like we’re mythological gods or something. 😛

  3. Pingback: 2016 Pride Recap | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Heather says:

    I read “What Happens When Gay People Are Told That Homosexuality Is A Sin?” after Eliel Cruz retweeted it and it was incredibly disheartening to read. It is so sad that being bombarded by a single idea can lead people to such terrible places and even death. Still, I think it was also an incredibly important read, because usually when I hear people say homophobic things or the traditional “being gay is a sin” they try to pass it off as being said in love. But the evidence is very clear in that article—it doesn’t lead to results where people feel loved. :/

    On a happier note, I am looking forward to poring over that reading recommendations list!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

