2016 Pride Recap

Happy July! My 2016 Pride post series officially concluded yesterday and today I wanted to do a recap post! I’ve listed all the posts according to subject in case you feel like revisiting any or wanted to read one for the very first time.

Reading The Rainbow

General bookish stuff

Movies/TV

Current events

Personal

Miscellaneous 

That day I did not post about LGBTQ+ stuff

-~-

Sooooo… from looking at this post and comparing it to the one I wrote last July recapping my 2015 Pride blog posts, it’s easy to see that my interests have somewhat shifted. I seem to be more interested in books and current events now! Granted, the Orlando shooting has been on my mind a lot lately, and posts about reading are always easy for me to write, so that’s not really surprising, is it?

I meant to write longer posts, and I didn’t really get around to that, but on the other hand… last June I had a very relaxed summer. Yes, I had a job then, and I was working on my 4-H projects, and I’m not doing either of those things this summer. However, I am taking summer classes and so I’ve been kept quite busy what with all the books I have to read and papers I have to write.

There were many days when I had neither the time nor the energy to write a long, thinky blog post – not after writing a ten-page essay! If I’d forced myself to write a bunch of long posts I would have burnt out quite quickly and grown to resent this series of blog posts, and that would be counterproductive. So I’m glad that I wrote what I did, because it helped me to meet my goal.

I’m interested in hearing what you have to say about my blog posts this past month. Which ones were your favorites? Do you have any suggestions for improvements? Is there a particular type of post that you would love to see more (or less) of? Is there a certain topic that you would like me to write a post about? Please tell me in the comments below so that I can be sure to make this blog as appealing as possible!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2016 Pride Recap

  1. Elm says:

    I loved your Pride posts so so much!

  2. Your posts were great! I love all of your current events posts, but also enjoyed hearing about LGBTQ+ books and movies. I hope you do this next year!

  3. Heather says:

    Thanks for providing these great resources and personal reflections this month! I really liked getting to see something new (almost?) every day to think about. As a bookish person I think I had a special affinity for the book-related posts; however, your personal reflections and thoughts on current events were also engaging.

  4. I haven’t been commenting on all your posts, but I’ve been reading them and THEY’RE FANTASTIC. *nods* I really hope to see your Pride month posts again in the future because I enjoy them loads. I thought it was a pretty good balance of topics — I mean, I suppose I like them all. (Sorry. This is very unhelpful. But yeah, generally I’m just enthusiastic.)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

