ICPL Adult Summer Reading Program 2016

I cannot remember a time when I did not participate in the library’s summer reading program. Logically, I know that there must have been a time when I didn’t join in because the the program isn’t for babies and toddlers but I have very few memories from that part of my life. My summer would feel incomplete without a summer reading program, and I’ve already begun to worry about what I’ll do instead if I study abroad next summer.

This was the first summer I joined a reading program in another city, because I’ll be away from my hometown until early August. (And then I move back a week later!) Some years I’ve actually participated in two programs because I live between two towns. Completing the program allows you to both win prizes and enter a drawing for more prizes, so… double the opportunities for me to win cool bookish stuff!

I’ve been making steady progress in the Iowa City Public Library’s adult summer reading program. For every three books read, we get to pick out a free book, so I chose Nimona by Noelle Stevenson because it is THE BEST. I look forward to winning more books – I’ve read more than three books this summer, but the others are listed on my second reading booklet, which I didn’t bring with me to the library.

Each booklet has space to list five books or program events, and completing one booklet enters you in a drawing to win, like, gift cards and stuff. There is a limit of two entries per person so, as the overachiever that I am, I naturally aimed to fill out two booklets. I have two blank spaces left to fill, so I’m almost done!

AND I’M PROUD OF MYSELF. I almost decided against participating because I thought it would be too difficult to balance that on top of all my coursework, but it was actually a great choice because it motivates me to take a break from my homework when I’m getting stressed. And, well, since it’s on my summer bucket list – which I’ll post about shortly – once I’ve turned in both booklets I can cross that off my list as well!

I do somewhat miss the teen reading program activities. I did last year, too, when I joined two adult summer reading programs at the libraries at home. I attended a workshop about places to hike in the Iowa City area, and that was fun, but I do kind of miss the teen workshops that were more along the lines of, “Let’s get together and eat pizza and play games and make crafts that involve excessive amounts of glitter.”

But I’ll get over that.

Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed participating in this program so far. I was kind of mad at myself earlier this year because I signed up for the adult winter reading program and then completely forgot about it because I was so busy with my classes, so I felt that I missed out on a reading challenge opportunity. (I love reading challenges.) So I’m glad that I’ve been pushing myself to read books for fun, not just books for school. And I love winning free books! Today I had to ask my parents if they would be so kind as to bring a second box so I can transport all the books I’ve acquired over the past year back home…

Have you ever participated in a summer reading program? Is it an important part of your summer, or not something you do every year? And WHAT IS YOUR LIBRARY’S PROGRAM LIKE?! I want to know if/how it’s different from mine!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ICPL Adult Summer Reading Program 2016

  1. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, I love summer reading programs! I’m glad you’re enjoying yours! I’ve always done summer reading programs but ours didn’t have book prizes to my memory – instead they had little medals, to encourage kids to read. I’ve got a summer reading sheet to fill out this summer, too, but I haven’t started it yet.
    (Also in terms of activities, I remember last summer I showed up to a teens’ night for working on summer activities the library had set out and ended up just spending an hour sitting in the corner of an empty room drawing book characters.)

  2. Mom says:

    You didn’t mention the summer you won the giant prize of chocolates!! I certainly would read for chocolate.

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    My local area only has children’s reading programmes so I haven’t done one since I was about 11. I don’t think it’s very common in England to have adult ones, but maybe it’s just my particular area? (All I know is that the only people I’ve seen mention them are American, but I probably follow a disproportionate number of Americans on Twitter and so on, meaning it’s not very representative.)

    I mean, I always read loads anyway, and at school our summers were only 6 weeks rather than the very long ones I know most people have in the US, so it probably wouldn’t make much difference. I was a volunteer helper with the children’s scheme last year, though.

  4. Heather says:

    I did one every year until this year, actually. I aged out of the teen program at my library, in which you read a certain amount of time and if you read 8 hours you get the prizes and there’s competitions within the school systems and such… I really liked programs like these when I was younger, but I’ve always loathed recording how long I read (every since I was a wee human) and the prizes aren’t good enough to make me want to do it. This year, I ended up doing a reading challenge just for me, and that worked out really well! I can imagine I’ll do something similar next year. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Summer 2016 Bucket List | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

