Five Truths & Four Lies

Hey, everyone! Heather @ Sometimes I’m A Story tagged me in a THING where you list nine statements and the goal of the game is for your followers to guess which five facts are true and which four facts are false.

Thanks, Heather! I’ve been meaning to do more tags lately because I feel like I haven’t done any in forever, and this looks like a fun sort of “get to know me” game – or maybe a “do you know me as well as you think you do?” game. If you’ve followed my blog for a while you should be able to figure out the answer to all of these, and it’ll be even easier if you follow me on other forms of social media because I post even more about my life there.

So here I go! I thought about giving this list a particular theme, but in the end I decided I wasn’t really feeling up to that, so this list is just… whatever.

  1. I have three cats
  2. I once considered triple-majoring
  3. I know ASL
  4. I am shorter than all four of my grandparents
  5. I often buy books on a whim, without knowing anything about them beforehand
  6. I don’t have a car
  7. I have met one of my favorite authors before
  8. I have a dairy allergy
  9. I enjoy making lists

Now it’s your turn to separate the TRUTH from the LIES, peoples! Remember, five of the items in the above list are true and four are false. Do you know me as well as you think you do?! I’ll reveal the answers, with explanations, in a follow-up post on the twenty-first! Who knows, there may even be a prize for the person with the most correct guesses…

P.S. I’ll tag other bloggers to participate when I published the follow-up post!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Five Truths & Four Lies

  1. Mom says:

    Do I get to play??

  2. matttblack42 says:

    Looks like it’s my time to shine.

    You have three cats? Balderdash, I say. I recall reading an article you wrote for Her Campus that mentioned your cat, but as my near-photographic memory recalls, you only had one. It was very fluffy. As for you triple-majoring, I must admit that that does sound like something you’d consider doing, you ol’ Nerdy McNerdison.

    I want to believe you know ASL, because that just seems cool, although if you asked me to recall just when or how you learned it, I’d be at a loss. I’ll go with false on this one. And according to my handy dandy notebook titled “Facts about Engie,” you are only five feet tall. Short, but is it shorter than all your grandparents? I’mma have to roll the dice here and say yes.

    “I often buy books on a whim, without knowing anything about them.” Yeah whatever you say, Ms. Pinocchio.

    “I don’t have a car.” This is a toughie, because I remember you mentioning driving a car, but it may have been your parents. Or possibly you stole it. That’s also possible. Either way I’ll go with . . . true.

    Not sure if it was your favorite author, but I know you met one author sometime in the last year or so. Or maybe just listened to her give a speech and didn’t meet her face to face. (You found her endearing because she was somewhat shy, I believe?) Either way I’m going with true.

    You have a dairy allergy, eh? I feel like I’d remember this if you did, so I’ll go with false here.

    As for number nine, I don’t think there’s a person out there in this world who doesn’t enjoy making lists. So to sum it up:

    1) False.
    2) True
    3) False
    4) True
    5) False
    6) True.
    7) True.
    8) False
    9) True.

  3. Shanti says:

    I think that the lies are:buying books on a whim, having a car, having three cats and the dairy allergy. I know you considered triple majoring so that must be true 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    *squints* These are a little tricky. By which I mean a lot tricky. My guess for the lies would be 1, 4, 6, and 8 but it is hard to be sure… So I look forward to seeing your answers! 🙂 Thanks for doing the tag!

  5. I’m gonna guess that 2,5,6,7,and 9 are true. I hope I’m right, but I’m also slightly concerned if I am, because that’s kinda stalkerish … 😛

  6. Spade says:

    Three Cats? Lie. You seem to be weird but not “I have three cats weird” plus if you had three cats you’d really like them and they’re not in your about thing so clearly that’s a lie.
    I once considered triple majoring? True. I’d say most people have on at least one occasion, especially people who run a blog called musing from neville navel.
    ASL? No idea what that is. I assume that’s computer coding and wait, my google page has loaded, and duh it’s american sign language. So true.
    I am taller than all four of my grandparents? False. See the odd part about this sentence is the fact that you specify FOUR grandparents. It seems like a weird thing to specify so, due to unnecessary detail, I say false because really only liars specify four grandparents.
    Number Five, true, everyone buys books on a whim.
    You not having a car due to the fact that I don’t have four lies already that’s a lie.
    You’ve definitely met one of your favorite authors before (why else would you mention it, it seems like a sore subject for someone who hasn’t). Once again true.
    Dairy allergy. False.
    List. Yes you enjoy making lists.
    So to sum it up.
    Lie.
    True.
    True.
    Lie.
    True.
    Lie.
    True.
    Lie.
    True.

  7. Pingback: Five Truths & Four Lies: Part Two | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2016 | Shura, Acting, & Studyblr | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

