Five Truths & Four Lies: Part Two

Earlier this month Heather @ Sometimes I’m A Story tagged me in a blog game, and last week I published part one of the game. I listed five truths and four lies – not in that order, though – about myself and asked readers to guess which was which. Today I’m going to reveal the answers, say who had the most correct guesses, and nominate some other bloggers to participate!

Enjoy!

1. I have three cats

FALSE. I only have one, and I haven’t seen him in months because he lives with my parents and my brother. (Pets aren’t allowed in the dorms.) My favorite bookstore in Iowa City has two cats and I go there at least twice a week to pet them but they’re not actually mine, however much I wish that were true. I want to befriend all of the cats everywhere.

2. I once considered triple-majoring

TRUE. I’m double-majoring in English and journalism, but I originally wanted to get a degree in Gender, Women’s, & Sexuality Studies as well! I plan to graduate a year early – in 2018 instead of 2019 – to save money, though, and I don’t have time to earn even a minor in that subject now. It’s fine, though. I can always study it on my own, or maybe even go back to school one day.

3. I know ASL

FALSE. I’ve tried to learn it off and on for the past few years, but have really struggled to find the time or motivation to regularly practice my skills. Earlier this month, however, one of my friends mentioned that he has been trying to teach himself ASL and would love to have a partner to practice with, so I hope to start working on that with him this fall!

4. I am shorter than all four of my grandparents

TRUE. I mean, at 5’2″, it’s not exactly hard to be taller than me. I’m only, like, an inch or so shorter than my shortest grandparent, but basically I am tiny. My grandma says that maybe I’ll have another growth spurt but I think that if I ever do eventually surpass her height it will be due to the fact that she’s been slowly shrinking in height as she gets older.

5. I often buy books on a whim, without knowing anything about them beforehand

FALSE. I never do this! What if I spend money on a story I end up not enjoying?! I only buy books that I’ve read before, and even then typically only my absolute favorites. I guess one exception would be when I have to buy books for class, but I don’t really count that because I usually sell them back at the end of the semester.

6. I don’t have a car

TRUE. I borrow my parents’ cars when I’m home. Here at college I either walk, take the bus, or ask one of my friends for a ride. I don’t really see the point in buying a car – and paying for insurance, gas, and a parking space – at this point in my life since I hardly ever go anywhere.

7. I have met one of my favorite authors before

TRUE. I met Alison Bechdel this spring and she autographed my copy of Fun Home! I was super awkward and shy when I talked to her because I’ve never met an author before, but oh well. It happens.

8. I have a dairy allergy

FALSE. And I’m so glad I don’t! If I did I wouldn’t be able to eat cheese… and yogurt… and forget about drinking milk! And what is pasta, one of my favorite foods, without cheese?!

9. I enjoy making lists

TRUE. Who doesn’t? I make lists almost constantly because not only because I love them, but because I forget things really really really easily. I make lists in blog posts and in real life. I list the books I want to read, the things I need to buy at the store, the homework assignments I need to complete over the weekend, and more. I just really love lists.

-~-

Of the five people who participated, Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t won the game with nine correct answers! Well done! Everyone else who played got either two or three answers mixed up, but overall I was really impressed by how well you guys know me! (Or should I be scared?)

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

Have a lovely night, followers!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Truths & Four Lies: Part Two

  1. Evi says:

    Ahhh thanks for the tag! It seems so fun to do.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    *puts on victory socks*

    And yes, you should be very, very afraid. Don’t turn around. And whatever you do, don’t look directly at that thing in the corner of your eye.

  3. orphu44 says:

    Shoot, I meant to respond to the Truths & Lies post, but I couldn’t get my answers to line up into the right number of truths and lies because I was counting your knowledge of ASL as knowing ASL (in my defense, I’m pretty sure you know more than I do). So I told myself that the 21st was ages away and I’d respond later. And then, apparently, I blinked and it was the 21st. OH, WELL.
    And thanks for tagging me!

  4. Heather says:

    If it makes you feel better you’re taller than me. 😄 I did hope that maybe you were taller than one, though. :/ Also, you are right! WHO DOESN’T LIKE MAKING LISTS?
    1. people who don’t like lists
    2. people who apparently don’t like being organized
    3. not me

    Thanks so much for participating in the tag! I enjoyed seeing your answers. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

