Life In A Construction Zone

I have spent the past few months living in a construction zone. That’s what it feels like, anyway. My dorm is undergoing massive renovations this summer and it’s been… frustrating, to say the least.

As a matter of fact, the entire college and town is one giant construction zone. A new dorm is being built, for instance, while an old one will be torn down any day now. Sidewalks all over both campus and town have been torn up, and a few of them have even been replaced… I’m not at all confident that the biggest stretch of missing sidewalk will have been constructed in time for the new school year, but whatever.

Downtown, a major street and intersection has been under construction for months now, which means all the buses have been rerouted. And to top it off, the English building is also being repaired, which means that I can’t get away from the construction noise in my dorm even when I’m in class.

What noise, you ask? Drills and hammers and saws. And jackhammers, because they’re replacing the sidewalks in addition to replacing the roof and fixing the walls. The top half of the building is being renovated, while summer residents stay in the lower floors.

And it wouldn’t be a problem if they started at, like, a reasonable time. Eight or nine in the morning? That would be lovely. But they don’t. They start at seven AM, and sometimes even six thirty. Each and every weekday morning, and sometimes even on Saturdays, I wake to the lovely sound of a drill droning on and on and on. “Cacophony” is a term that certainly applies here.

I am so not a morning person.

It’s not even the early hour that bothers me, though. I mean, yes, that part is irritating, but I can get used to it. It certainly has kept me to a regular schedule, since I know that if I stay up too late studying or reading, I won’t have a chance to sleep in.

More than anything, it’s the NOISE that really gets to me. I cannot wait for the fall semester to begin, because this means I’ll be living in a different dorm. I used to complain about how loud the dorms were during the school year, what with people slamming doors and yelling to their friends down the hall, and that was definitely annoying at the time.

Now, though, it doesn’t seem like much. I can handle slammed doors and yelling and maybe even people kicking soccer balls up and down the halls like they did this spring – especially if it means I don’t have to handle listening to someone drill a hole in the wall at seven in the morning. Every morning. Day in and day out. If you know me IRL and we’re in one of the same morning classes this summer, I’m really sorry if I’ve ever snapped at you or ignored you or anything, because I’m usually in a bad mood every morning. Or I have a headache.

And it’s not like I don’t know why the construction workers are starting so early. I get it: It’s super hot outside, and usually pretty humid too. When it’s 98oF and the humidity is 60%, I can totally understand why you would want to start as early as possible and get the bulk of your work done before the day becomes unbearable.

So yeah, I get it. Doesn’t mean I’m going to stop complaining about it to my friends and my roommate, though, because it sucks. It really sucks. I wouldn’t mind being greeted by the sounds of, I don’t know, cheerful chirping birds each and every morning at seven sharp. Instead I live in a place where those birds have little hard hats and hammers and saws.

I can’t wait to move out.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life In A Construction Zone

  1. Mahima says:

    I remember when there was so much construction going on around my building. Gosh, when those builders left it was bliss. Well, until then you’re going to have to tough it out Engie. Good luck!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

