Thoughts On The 2016 Summer Semester

I can’t believe the summer semester is almost over. I have one more Shakespeare class tomorrow that doesn’t require me to do anything but sit there quietly and listen to others’ project presentations, and then the Basic Acting final is on Friday afternoon. (I’m trying a new study tactic: I made notes based off the study guide in really big, colorful handwriting and tacked them up all over the room so that I see them wherever I am and have to look at them when I brush my teeth, open the door, et cetera. Let’s see how this goes!)

I have a lot left to do, though. I’m in the process of moving both myself and my stuff back home to Indiana, and then I get to do it all in reverse about a week later. While I’ve gone home since beginning freshman year last August – even the short Thanksgiving and spring breaks were in fact longer than this break will be – I haven’t moved everything back home until now. I’m moving my entire life home.

And there’s still so much to do. I need to do laundry because it’ll be easier to transport laundry baskets full of neatly folded clean clothes than it will be to lug lumpy bags of dirty laundry home. I need to return approximately ten thousand and one books back to where they belong – the public library, the school library, et cetera. I need to return textbooks that I rented, or sell them back to the bookstore.

I need to pack up my books. I brought so many of them when I moved in, and I bought so many more over the past year. I need to pack up my notebooks and art supplies and folders full of old school papers.

My roommate left a lot of things behind simply because she couldn’t fit it all in her suitcases. (She’s from Brazil, so moving back home isn’t as simple as it is for most of the other students here.) She said I could take whatever I wanted and sell/give the rest to other people, so I need to figure out what to keep and what to somehow get rid of.

There’s so much to do.

It seems like forever ago that I moved here for the very first time. By “here” I mean not only college in general, but also this specific room. I was assigned to a different from my old one for summer housing, and it seems as though I moved in ages ago.

My Gothic lit class seems so far in the past – I suppose the accelerate pace of summer courses will give a person that feeling. It feels as if it belongs to another semester, but it was part of this one.

And it seems as though I met my roommate a long time ago, too. The summer flew by so quickly. I barely knew my previous roommate even though we lived together for almost a year, but my most recent roommate and I bonded over the twelve weeks of the summer semester. She left here for home early Monday morning and the room has felt much too quiet since then, so I unplugged my earbuds from the headphone port where they reside almost 24/7 in order to fill up the room with music.

The RAs moved in today, and I saw a lot of people I know – both friends and friends of friends. Reality is slowly settling in for me and I’m accepting that the summer is almost over and that a new school year is almost upon us. I need to buy my books for the new semester, and cross off the last few items on my summer bucket list, and recycle handouts and old papers from this semester if I no longer need them.

I don’t know, I guess it just feels weird because I’ve never done this before. I mean, yes, I’ve taken summer classes before – I did that in high school – but I never took a full load, which meant that the end of my summer was generally a bit more relaxed than it is now. I’m moving from one semester to another with only a week-long break in between.

Not that I’m complaining or anything. I don’t want it to seem like I am! It’s just a really, really weird feeling. I’m going to move out and then move back in. I’ll say goodbye to my friends for a week, and then see them in no time at all. I’m finishing one semester only to start another one almost as soon as I get back.

So I’m looking forward to that week off. It’ll be nice to have a break. In the meantime, I’m going to take a much shorter break and get some sleep. I went without sleep for forty-eight hours earlier this week in order to prepare for some of my final projects for both classes, and I’m still really exhausted from that. So I think I should probably sleep before I tackle anything related to either academics or moving out.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts On The 2016 Summer Semester

  1. Mahima says:

    Whoa, it does seem incredibly busy. Although I think that you’ll be much happier away from the construction zone, no?

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    That sounds exhausting, to be honest. My break will have been seven months by the time I go back, because of taking some time out, but even people who stayed the full year still get three and a bit months. I can’t imagine only having a week for summer. Personal hell tbh. (You can tell I’ve recently realised I don’t actually like studying, can’t you? I am all about that time off. Being an adult is going to be tough.)

  3. Heather says:

    Your moving experience must be really bittersweet. And a little difficult, of course, considering all of the moving you’re having to do. Still, I hope that you enjoy the break you have and make the most of it!

  4. Pingback: 20 Things I Did In 2016 That I’d Never Done Before | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

