Final Thoughts About My Acting Class

So I know that I literally JUST talked about school in my last post, but I really want to tell you about it again… because my acting class ended this past week! I really miss it since it was so much fun.

The final performance was on Wednesday. I didn’t get off to a good start that morning – I was so stressed about the exam that I laid awake in bed for hours the night before, so I was exhausted. I also had a really bad headache, like to the point where I was feeling dizzy and nauseous. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to perform and felt bad because that would affect not only my grade but that of my scene partner as well.

But I did it! I gave it my all and had my best performance yet. And, well, it makes sense that my final performance would be good since I’d practiced incessantly for the past four weeks, but A) I was feeling sick and B) I’ve really struggled with my scene at times.

I was assigned a scene from Proof by David Auburn – a play I’ve grown quite fond of after spending so much time reading and rereading and analyzing it – and the scene required me to fight with another person. Verbally, not physically. I had to yell and swear at them and that is so not like me.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I can be super passionate about certain things, but I’m not really one for physical confrontation… my style of fighting is to write long thinky blog posts about whatever it is that has me upset. Also, it was hard to fight with my scene partner because I didn’t want to hurt her feelings! I know that it was all just pretend, but it’s still really odd to scream at a person to get a grade.

I think that in some ways feeling sick that day actually helped me, because I was in a terrible mood. And those split-second silences when one of us momentarily forgot our lines? I think that actually worked to our advantage because sometimes people are so angry they can’t speak.

While I’m on the subject of things I struggle with: I am awkward whenever someone compliments me. Ours was the only scene that had our classmates cheering at the end, and when the teacher asked if anyone had favorite performances from that day a bunch of people said mine.

I’m not saying this to brag, but because I’m just like HOW DO I HANDLE COMPLIMENTS? To be honest, most of the time I think I suck and so I bring out those compliments on bad days and think about times when people have said something unexpectedly kind and supportive. And then I feel awkward. Because I still don’t think I deserve it.

Well, I had fun, at any rate. And that’s what really matters, right? That and getting a good grade. (Which I did.) I’ve been thinking about perhaps auditioning for very small roles this fall – there are a number of student productions every semester. I’ll have to figure out if I even have time for that, but it would be a fun hobby.

Have you ever taken an acting class or performed in a play? What did you think about the experience?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Final Thoughts About My Acting Class

  1. Heather says:

    Ugh, getting compliments is the best worst. Because it is nice to know that people love you but also it’s like, “Go away, I must away to the underside of a rock.” Congrats on doing so well in the class, and I’m glad that you had fun and people liked what you did!

  2. Cynthia says:

    the last play i was in was in like. fifth grade. i do want to be in a play though, but i get nervous about working with people i already know who are mostly popular extroverted people who know me as the weird-af quiet person in the corner who doesn’t do a lot of acting.
    *hem* i always seem to dump my life problems / rant in the comments here? for no apparent reason?

    ANYWAY YES COMPLIMENTS ARE SO AWKWARD! also because i’m a mannerless fart i can never bring myself to say thank you (in person. like out loud) and kind of smile and nod/bow weirdly like the chinese person i am

    re: yelling at people — I can’t even write this. i will start to write a yelling scene and it will come out weird-shaped and unrealistic and kind of cliche.

  3. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2016 | Shura, Acting, & Studyblr | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: 20 Things I Did In 2016 That I’d Never Done Before | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

