I’m Changing My Major!

Big news: I’m changing my major!

Beginning this week, I will no longer be an English major and will now be majoring in English & Creative Writing. (In addition to journalism, of course – nothing about that will change for me.)

This amuses me for two reasons. First of all, I never envisioned this switch occurring. In fact, I went so far as to say to myself that I was not going to change my major, no matter what happened. I start college with a very clear sense of what it was that I wanted to study. There’s nothing objectively wrong with changing your major a few times as you figure out how you’d like to spend your life, but that just isn’t for me.

The other reason this is funny to me is that, well, it doesn’t really feel as though I’ve changed majors because the material I’m going to study is what I had planned to study either way.

That last sentence probably didn’t make a lot of sense, so I’ll explain: The English & Creative Writing major is brand new – it was approved by the university within the past few weeks. Prior to its creation, I had hoped to graduate with a degree in English and a specialization in creative writing. The English department offered what is called the creative writing track, which allows English majors to take more writing courses than they otherwise would. (The major is, naturally, very heavy on lit classes.)

Well, the creative writing track is now being phased out. Students who are already on the track will be allowed to remain on it, if they choose, but no one can apply to it anymore. (This is majorly relieving to me – this would have been the year that I applied for admission to the track. No application is necessary for the new major, however!) English degree + creative writing track = English & Creative Writing degree.

So, yeah. That’s why it’s funny to me: Because nothing changed. Oh yes, the technicalities did change, but nothing that I’m studying really did. The only difference is that a new major is introduced – one that is more specific than the one I had previously declared.

Although I’ve never wanted to stop studying something related to English, there have been times throughout the past year when I struggled with the idea of learning so much literary theory, because that’s just not where my heart lies. Of course it’s important to learn about “the great writers,” but what I’m really here for is to study the craft of writing.

I’m so excited to be an English & Creative Writing major!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Changing My Major!

  1. Mahima says:

    Haha, so you’ve technically changed majors but haven’t changed anything at all? Way to give us some big news, Engie! 😛

  2. Heather says:

    Congrats on getting the new major, even if it’s like, nothing changed. XD Glad that you’re satisfied with it, though. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2016 | Shura, Acting, & Studyblr | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

