The School Book Tag

Hey, everyone! I got this tag from Sara @ Freadrom Library. Actually, she didn’t even tag me in it but it looked like so much fun that I decided to steal it for myself. Look at me, a hardened criminal. OH THE THINGS I DO FOR BLOGGING.

Enjoy!

the price of saltMATH

A book that has two characters who equal perfection

Carol and Therese from The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith! Wasn’t sure if this part of the tag referred to a book with two perfect characters, or a book with a perfect romance, so I decided to go with the latter because I love talking about these two! They’re… just… ahhhh. MY COLD, BITTER LESBEAN HEART MELTED WHEN I READ THIS BOOK.

city of bonesSCIENCE

A book that I found hard to get into

I know I probably say this like every other post, AT LEAST, but I really struggled with City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. And the rest of the books in the series… I meant to read the sequel aaages ago but instead I got through, like, three chapters and then returned it to the library. A lot of my friends love her books and so I feel that I should read them for that reason, but I’m also lowkey thinking about abandoning them (the books, not my friends!) because they’re soooo long and soooo dull and I have better ways to spend my time. For instance, I could take a nap instead.

P.S. It kind of bothers me that science was described here as something that’s hard to get into, because that’s SUCH a stereotype… and it’s so subjective, too! I loved science and math was what I struggled with. My mom loves both math and science, but finds English hard to get into. So it does seem a little outdated to describe it that way. OH WELL.

the raven boysENGLISH

A book that should be a modern classic

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – on second thought, the entire series should be! Today’s theme is evidently ” books that I already fangirl about too much,” because I swear that I mention the Raven Cycle in every single book tag / bookish top ten list that I post. BUT ONLY BECAUSE MAGGIE STIEFVATER IS A GENIUS. It makes me sad that this series hasn’t won very many awards, at least as far as I know, but I hope that someday it will be recognized for the brilliance that it is and will be placed on a level with A Song of Ice and FireLord of the Rings, and other fantasy greats.

saga volume threeP.E.

A book that I raced to the finish

That would have to be any volume of the Saga series by Brian K. Vaughan! Which reminds me, I still need to review those books… they’re kind of a cross between Game of Thrones and Star Wars, which doesn’t necessarily sound like it would even work, but it does. IT SO DOES. I finally got my hands on volume six the other day and it was just as amazing as all the others!

demon roadMUSIC

A book that reminds me of a song

To me, “Demons” by Imagine Dragons goes hand in hand with Demon Road by Derek Landy (in addition to his Skulduggery Pleasant books), and… well, I know that’s such an obvious song choice that it’s probably cheating or something but I don’t even care. It reminds me of Milo and Amber, as well as Skulduggery and Valkyrie.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

What is your favorite book about school? Is there one that reminds you of a particular subject, especially one not listed here? And what’s the best book you’ve read so far this school year?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The School Book Tag

  1. Heather says:

    SAGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA Dude yes. I always race to get through those, and then I usually end up reading the volumes two or three more times before I return them to the library. xD I like those stories a whole lot. I can also get what you mean about the City of Bones being a hard book to get into. The first book really made me laugh at some key parts, but when I think about getting the next book, I don’t really feel any particular drive because… I dunno. I just wasn’t compelled. It’s okay if I don’t know what happens next for right now.

    Also, I agree about science. PLUS there was a perfect opportunity to make a chemistry pun, and it didn’t. I think when I do this I will definitely be making that change. 🙂 Thanks for the tag!

  2. Pingback: The School Book Tag | Twist in the Taile

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

