The Five Senses Tag

Hi, everyone! I found this tag on Elm’s blog and decided to do it, even though they didn’t tag me or anything, because it looks like so much fun! It’s a really creative idea for a tag and a nice change from all the bookish tags I normally do.

I worked on this post off and on for about two or three days, but not in the usual way in which I write blog posts: As in, most of the time I spent working on this was time spent away from my computer. Every time I remembered something that I love hearing, seeing, tasting, et cetera I scribbled it down on a scrap piece of paper and at the end of that handful of days I had everything I needed to write this post!

Anyway, I’ve rambled on for long enough. Enjoy!

Hearing

  1. Rain falling on a roof
  2. A purring cat
  3. That late summer combination of cicadas and crickets
  4. An old typewriter
  5. Thunder

Sight

  1. Foggy mornings
  2. The color blue
  3. Sunsets at the beach near my house
  4. Falling snow on a winter night
  5. Aspen trees

Smell

  1. Newly mown grass
  2. Soil after a rainstorm
  3. Old books
  4. Coffee
  5. Freshly baked bread

Touch

  1. Flour
  2. My hair after it’s recently been cut
  3. Warm sand under my toes
  4. Water
  5. Running my fingers along the edge of pages in a book

Taste

  1. Peppermint
  2. Fresh peaches
  3. S’mores
  4. Ham
  5. Homemade chocolate chip cookies still warm from the oven

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.) I thought it was only fitting to tag five people since the tag is about the five senses, but that also means I had to leave a lot of people out. So if you’re not on here, it doesn’t mean that I don’t appreciate you!

-~-

Ahhhh, I enjoyed writing this post so much! It was very relaxing to go through my lists and look at all the sensory things that make me happy. I guess I don’t often pause to think deeply about the little things I love, such as favorite colors or soothing sounds. So that’s definitely something I should take the time to do… also, now I really want to turn these lists into an art project of some sort. A collage, maybe? Or a multimedia project? I’ll figure something out, I’m sure.

What are your favorite sensory experiences?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Five Senses Tag

  1. Mom says:

    Hearing: A baby’s laugh.

    Sight: Lush, green countryside in spring.

    Smell: Redwood forest of a National Park.

    Touch: A really, really good hug.

    Taste: Crunchy apple fresh off the tree.

  2. Mahima says:

    THIS IS COOL! I love the feeling of my hair after it’s been cut (haircuts are so exciting) especially when I’ve cut it substantially short.

  3. Evi says:

    Oh this is very nice! Thank you for the tag!

  4. Such a great tag! I’m definitely doing this later this week.

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    Ahhh, this is so much fun! I made sure to forget everything you’d written before doing mine, but we still had a lot of things in common. xD Your lists were all very calming things and reminded me of fall/winter. Thanks for the tag!

  6. Pingback: 5 Senses | Miss Alexandrina

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

