Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2016 | Shura, Acting, & Studyblr

Hello, everyone! Today is the last day of summer! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from June twentieth through September twenty-first. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

johnson county fair 2016Image From This Summer

Taken in July at the county fair with my roommate Luísa

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Summer

“Let X equal the cold. It is cold in December. The months of cold equal November through February. There are four months of cold, and four of heat, leaving four months of indeterminate temperature. In February it snows. In March the lake is a lake of ice.

In September the students come back and the bookstores are full. Let X equal the month of full bookstores. The number of books approaches infinity as the number of months of cold approaches four. I will never be as cold now as I will in the future. The future of cold is infinite. The future of heat is the future of cold. The bookstores are infinite and so are never full except in September…”

– Proof by David Auburn

I performed a scene from this play as part of the final exam in my Basic Acting course this summer! While I didn’t get to perform this particular monologue, it’s one of my favorite parts of the play.

The first time I read this play I thought it was kind of average, but after endlessly analyzing and rereading it for homework I changed my mind. I love it!

I played the protagonist, Catherine, and I related to her, like, a LOT: We both grew up around Chicago, have mathematical geniuses in our family, are depressed, et cetera. I think understanding all that helped me in my final performance, which you can read about here if you’re interested.

This Summer In One Word

Exhausting.

Most Popular Review This Summer

I did not review any books, movies, or TV shows this summer… I was so depressed this summer that when I wasn’t in class, I spent almost all of my free time sleeping. I didn’t read or watch much, and I certainly didn’t feel up to writing about it, so that is why there were no reviews of, well, anything this summer. Sorry!

Top Two Books I Read This Summer

  1. Atlas of Remote Islands by Judith Schalansky is a guide to fifty islands from around the world. I loved the gorgeous writing, as well as the wonderfully simple design. Four stars!
  2. The Gutsy Girl: Escapades for Your Life of Epic Adventure by Caroline Paul also received four stars from me! As a shy and very anxious person, I really appreciated the gentle push to be just a little bit more daring.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Fall

  1. Iowa City is one of the stops on Rick Riordan’s The Hammer of Thor book tour this October (!!!) and I managed to snag a front-row ticket before they sold out (!!!!!!). Even better, Roxane Gay will also be here on the same weekend for the Iowa City Book Festival! I LOVE THIS TOWN. SO MUCH.
  2. Last year I skipped NaNoWriMo because I was ridiculously busy with schoolwork, but this year I’m definitely doing it! I started planning in August because I want this NaNo to be my best one yet – this year is still quite busy but I’m determined to participate in my fifth NaNo anyway and hope that it will go as smoothly as possible.

Three New Obsessions This Summer

  1. Spotify! For the longest time I had no idea there was a free version, but once I found out that there was, I fell head over heels in love. I made myself a bunch of playlists for everything from studying and writing to exercising and walking to class.
  2. On a similar note, I also didn’t realize that Skype was free until this summer? WHY AM I EVEN LIKE THIS UGH. Anyway, it’s been a great way to talk to my online friends. I talked to a bunch of people I’ve known for more than four years and we were all like, “Why didn’t we ever do this before?!”
  3. I got into studyblr this summer, and it’s been the most helpful and motivating thing EVER. So many great resources to be found there! So much inspiration! Ahhhh!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Summer

  1. Surprisingly, my top post this summer was 10 LGBTQ+ Places That I Want To Visit In The United States! While I’m certainly happy that people seemed to enjoy my Pride posts, this wasn’t one that I had originally envisioned becoming so popular but at close to two hundred views – and more than one hundred views higher than the next most popular post – it’s by far the most popular thing I wrote this summer.
  2. I haven’t had time to respond to all the comments on Let’s Talk About Mental Health (or pretty much any blog post, honestly) but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate what you had to say to me after I told you about my mental illnesses! Now that I don’t have to hide them it feels as though a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.
  3. I’m so happy that 10 #BlackLGBTDeserveToBe Tweets You Should Read was one of my most popular posts because I’ve seen so many people just completely disregarding the importance of positive media representation for black LGBTQ+ people. It makes me sad to see them defending the Bury Your Gays trope there, but I’m glad that people seemed to notice my post, which argued against that.
  4. I enjoyed playing Five Truths & Four Lies with all of you, and I was impressed by how much you knew about me!
  5. I talked about cutting all my hair off in Short Hair, Don’t Care and shared a picture with you guys!

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Summer

  1. The Seven Signs That Your TBR Is Overwhelming You (And How To Fix It) by Emily @ Loony Literate is super cute and and there are lots of colorful pictures!
  2. Topaz Winters @ Six Impossible Things wrote Shattering Stigmas: On Sadness about writers, sadness, and antidepressants. What a beautiful post!
  3. Heather @ Sometimes I’m A Story wrote How Much Should We Emphasize Our Opinions?, a discussion of subjectivity, insensitivity, and professionalism in book reviews.
  4. Yash @ The Book Wars wrote a GREAT Top Ten Tuesday post titled Books You’d Want To Experience As Radio Plays!
  5. Shalom @ Okay, Shalom wrote, as usual, a bunch of wonderful posts – and my favorite is A Note To Student (Employees). So encouraging!

Five Things That Happened This Summer

  1. I took an acting class, which is something I’ve wanted to do since practically forever!
  2. I did almost everything on my summer 2016 bucket list! (And then I talked about how I was able to do so…)
  3. I cut off all my hair and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!
  4. I changed my major from English to English & Creative Writing because the latter is brand-new to my school and more accurately reflects what I want to study. (Don’t worry, I’m still majoring in journalism too. Nothing about that major has changed!)
  5. I took steps towards becoming more open and honest about my mental health.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Summer

1. “What’s It Gonna Be?” – Shura

I’m in love with this song. The music video is so adorable! I wish it were a movie.

2. “Make It Up” – Shura

So after I heard “What’s It Gonna Be?” I knew I had to listen to the rest of Shura’s music, and this is one of my favorites.

3. “Gravel to Tempo” – Hayley Kiyoko

So this is the first single from Hayley Kiyoko’s new EP, Citrine, and IT’S SO GAY I’M SO PROUD OF HER.

4. “Lost Boy” – Troye Sivan

Sometimes it doesn’t feel as though I actually did anything this summer other than listening to super gay music by super gay people. TBH.

5. “Let Them Up” (Mad Max: Fury Road) – Junkie XL

I made myself a ginormously long study playlist consisting entirely of scores from movies and TV, and I’m probably going to blog about it soon because I LOVE IT. I would say that this is one of my favorite tracks from that playlist, but truthfully everything that’s on there is something I adore.

6. “Cap’s Promise” (Captain America: Civil War) – Henry Jackman

So I actually saw this movie in the spring, but it’s only recently that I’ve begun to listen to the score a lot. This track is also on my study playlist! I was a bit disappointed that Jackman’s music for this film featured so few of the amazing character motifs from The Winter Soldier… but not too disappointed, because Cap’s theme comes through in this track from the end credits!

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this summer? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Summer 2016 | Shura, Acting, & Studyblr

  1. Yash says:

    Thank you for the mention! ^_^

  2. Heather says:

    You seem sooooooo busy. And it’s very likely that I am too but I don’t write it down like this so I just have to stare in awe at you and feel that way for a little while. I’ve enjoyed getting to hear about your summer adventures and see those popular posts—I seem to recall that the majority of those ones (if not all, maybe) had very important elements relevant to today’s atmosphere and gave me a meaningful perspective. I hope you have an awesome fall! (Also, thanks for mentioning me! That’s very sweet of you. 🙂 )

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

