The Autumn Book Tag

Hi, everyone! Today I’m doing the autumn book tag, which I’m stealing from Ariana @ The Quirky Book Nerd. She didn’t tag me, but I’m doing it anyway because A) I’ve been meaning to post more tags and B) I especially love seasonal tags!

Enjoy!

What is your favorite thing about autumn?

I refuse to name just one thing because I love ALL OF THE THINGS about autumn:

  • The bright colors of the leaves
  • The beginning of a new school year
  • Celebrating my birthday (I just turned twenty!)
  • Halloween
  • Going apple-picking
  • PUMPKIN PIE
  • Finally being able to wear cozy cute sweaters again

It’s my favorite season!

What book reminds you of your school days?

The School Story by Andrew Clements! I don’t remember exactly how old I was when I read it… six or seven, maybe? I was young enough that it’s hard for me to remember a time when I DIDN’T know this story. It’s about a middle school girl who writes and publishes a novel, which was #goals for me at that age.

demon roadWhat cover reminds you of autumn?

The colors on the cover of Demon Road by Derek Landy remind me of autumn leaves! Plus, I received this book for my birthday – which is on the first day of fall – last year, so its association with fall has been further cemented in my mind.

What is your favorite horror or Halloween story? 

Ooh, I have a few favorites – and they’re all classics! Modern horror novels just don’t seem to do it for me, but I love old-fashioned horror stories. My FAVORITE is Bram Stoker’s Dracula, closely followed by Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, which is also a vampire novel.

I’ve also enjoyed all the Edgar Allan Poe stories I’ve read, although I haven’t read many. (I should work on that.) “The Tell-Tale Heart” and “The Pit and the Pendulum” are amazing, but I think my new favorite is “The Fall of the House of Usher,” which I read in lit class last spring. SO CREEPY AND GOOD.

What is your favorite horror or Halloween film?

Hmmm. One of Alfred Hitchcock’s films, probably? I don’t really watch many horror movies because I can’t handle the gore, but his movies don’t have that much of it so I’m fine with them. Rear Window is my favorite, but Vertigo and The Birds were pretty terrifying too.

heartlessWhat fall book release are you looking forward to?

Oh, definitely Heartless by Marissa Meyer! It’s due to be published on November eighth and I can’t wait to read more of what she’s written because she’s an absolute GENIUS when it comes to retelling stories. This is a retelling of Alice in Wonderland from the point of view of the Queen of Hearts. Since I really like how Meyer made her villains three-dimensional people and showed why they are the way they are in the Lunar Chronicles, it stands to reason that her version of the Queen should be just as fascinating.

What autumn movie release are you anticipating?

I thought Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was pretty average, but I’m actually really excited for the movie! Why? Well, because it seems like one of those stories that just works better on the screen than on the page. All those vintage photographs? Yeah. Enough said. I’m not SO interested in seeing it play out on screen that I’m going to go watch it right away when it’s released on September thirtieth, but the little theater in the memorial union usually has popular movies a couple of months after all the other other theater around here and their tickets are really cheap, so I might go towards the end of this semester when I need a break from studying for finals.

princess princess ever afterWhat are the three books you plan to read this autumn?

  • I’ve been looking forward to reading Black Panther, Vol. 1: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi Coates ever since seeing the amazing portrayal of the character in Captain America: Civil War. Since it was published a few weeks ago, I should be able to read this comic soon!
  • I’m wildly excited to read Princess Princess Ever After, the sequel to Katie O’Neill’s graphic novel Princess Princess. It was published on the twentieth and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.
  • The Hammer of Thor is just over a week away from publication and AHHH I’M SO EXCITED. Especially because Rick Riordan is coming to my town and I preordered a signed copy…

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

How has your fall been so far? I hope it’s been full of reading excellent books! What fall releases are you looking forward to, and what books (new or old) do you plan to read this season?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Autumn Book Tag

  1. Richard says:

    I did work experience with Penguin recently, and one of my jobs was to send promotional material to all the Waterstones to coincide with the release of the Miss Peregrine film. The movie and fan art posters look really good. I can see it being a hit with audiences!

  2. Evi says:

    Ahhh thanks for the tag! This seems like a lot of fun! And omg, I am so excited for Miss Peregrine’s and Princess Princess Ever After. I NEED THEM ASAP.

  3. Thanks for tagging me! 🙂

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    Ooh, I might nick this tag, if that’s okay? I’m going to try and do some more tags on my blog in the near future (mostly just to make me actually POST) and I can think of answers for almost all of these questions, which is a rare occurrence!

  5. Pingback: Death and Fire: The Autumn Book Tag – Miriam Joy Writes

  6. Heather says:

    *awkwardly has read/seen none of these things* BUT. I have been meaning to read Demon Road for a long time—they don’t have it at my library so I should work on having them request it from another library. Because that would be big of me. Anyway, happy fall! 🙂

  7. Pingback: The Autumn Book Tag – Vicarious Bookworm

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

