10 Things I Want To Do This Fall

DSCN0893-goodHello, everyone! Today I’m going to be talking about some of my plans for this fall.  One thing I’ve realized within the past year or so is that I need lists in order to be a somewhat-functioning human being: Without them, I forget what it was that I meant to do. Surrounded by lists, I’m much happier.

For instance, creating a bucket list of things to do this summer gave me more direction and purpose than I would otherwise have had. It reminded me that homework isn’t all there is, that I need to relax and take time off to have fun occasionally. And it helped me to avoid just
straight-up forgetting about things that I wanted to do, which happened a lot last school year – I’d commit to doing something with friends and then forget about it.

Anyway, my point is that LISTS ARE GREAT and SEASONAL LISTS ARE EVEN BETTER. Case in point: This list of awesome things I want to do this fall, listed roughly in the order in which they likely happen.

1. Go apple-picking

I’m doing this on Sunday, actually! I’m going with some other members from Her Campus, an online collegiate women’s magazine that I write for. I can’t wait for YUMMY DELICIOUS APPLES, as well as the chance to get out of Iowa City for a while. (See #3.)

2. Attend various events at the Iowa City Book Festival

I remember last year’s festival as one of the things that really cemented Iowa City’s reputation as a literary city in my mind, so I’m super excited for this year’s events. The festival will be held from October fourth to the ninth.

I look forward to attending events where some of my favorite writers – Rick Riordan and Roxane Gay – will be! I’m also going to participate in a public, hours-long reading of Crime and Punishment, hosted by my favorite professor to commemorate the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the novel’s publication,

3. Cry about midterms and then make something chocolatey to feel better

That’s it. That’s my plan for midterm hell. I mean, I may only have one midterm to take, but still: MIDTERM. HELL. My friend Jill and I have plans to make a really chocolatey cake – apparently her family has a great recipe for one – sometime before our midterm in Foundations of the English Major in a few weeks. And then we eat cake. And attempt to study. And continue to feel stressed. As one does.

4. Hike

Don’t get me wrong, I love living in town: I’m within walking distance of so many bookstores and libraries! Buuuuuut… I DO miss nature. I grew up in a rural-ish area – not even full-blown rural, like on a farm or something, but definitely surrounded by nature. I miss the smell of dirt. I miss jumping in piles of leaves. And I really miss going for walks in the woods.

Happily, my friend Merric and I made plans to visit a nearby park, Hickory Hill, every few months in order to hike and observe the seasons changing around us. We hiked there this summer and had a blast, so we’re hoping to go as soon as we both have free time in our busy schedules.

5. Bake something pumpkin-y

I MISS BAKING. The dining hall has some surprisingly good pumpkin cookies and muffins but it’s so much more satisfying to eat something you made yourself, isn’t it? I don’t even know what I’m going to make, but I still have time to figure that out.

6. Watch a spooky movie

Hopefully this will go hand-in-hand with #5! Jill lives in apartment now, while I still live in the dorms, so throughout the semester we’d like to get together to cook/bake something and hang out afterwards watching a movie or just talking. I saw Pan’s Labyrinth in a short story class last semester and adored it, so that would be my pick for movie night… but I’m also interested in watching the mockumentary What We Do In The Shadows.

7. Celebrate Halloween with lots and lots of pranks

I DID NOT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THIS OPPORTUNITY LAST YEAR AND I REGRET THAT. I live in a building with several hundred other students, so there are plenty of people to prank. The third floor of this dorm is supposedly haunted, so I’m going to get together with some friends and come up with ways to scare people because WHY NOT.

8. Read a scary story for Halloween

We’re actually beginning a unit on Poe in one of my lit classes, so this fits nicely with my schedule since it’s something I would be doing anyway! I want to do this in a bookstore, late at night, while drinking tea, to get that perfect “insufferable English major” aesthetic.

9. Vote

I briefly considered voting early since that option will be available within the next few days, but I think I’m going to wait instead because it will be more exciting in November when way more people will be involved. This is not the first time I’ve ever voted, but it will be the first time I’ve ever voted in a presidential election! Until they tally up the votes I will be a bundle of anxiety about this country’s future…

10. Get involved with local NaNoWriMo events 

Thinking about the election stresses me out, so let’s end on a happy note! Because I didn’t live in town – wow, I had no idea that this specific detail of my childhood would come up so many times in one post – I rarely went to NaNo events. Some years I didn’t go to any at all!

This will be my fifth NaNoWrimo, albeit non-consecutively – I skipped last year because I was too busy with college to write a novel, but I’m taking the plunge this year – and I wish November were here already. I can go to kick-off! And write-ins! And hang out at the library or in a coffeeshop and invite people to come write with me for a few hours! NaNoWriMo has always been a largely solitary effort for me, so I look forward to IRL writing sessions and writing friends.

-~-

What are your plans for this fall? What sort of books and movies put you in the mood for this season? OH OH OH and of course the most important question is: What is your favorite thing to bake or cook in the fall?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Things I Want To Do This Fall

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    NaNoWriMo is almost on par with Christmas for me. I love connecting with other writers online or at write-ins! That’ll be so much fun. 🙂 And chocolate is, of course, the best reward/incentive for any task.

    • nevillegirl says:

      It really is! And it’s always so weird when NaNo is over and you’re left wondering what to do with yourself (and all that free time!) now that it’s December. 😛

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

